We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit high-brow for me, but very nice”

The Greenfield Restaurant & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
The Greenfield Restaurant & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 575 Restaurants in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: William Penn Way
Transit: Public transit stops in front of the property
Leicester, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A bit high-brow for me, but very nice”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

I liked the facility, but I felt a little out of my element here. It feels like a real upper class establishment, and while I am no slouch, I wasn't in my element.

The food was excellent, but as with the image, it was expensive but probably worth it given the atmosphere, food and service quality. But again, not exactly my taste.

You might love it!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Quentin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    73
    32
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Germantown, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderfully accommodating!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We were in town for an event at The Nook. 2 families - 4 adults and 3 (come to find out) picky eaters over the age of 12. We made open table reservations at the last minute (late games that day) and they seated us on the patio. The staff was so helpful and wonderful letting the kids order off both the bar menu and the kids menu and not charging us extra (we were willing to order double portions, etc, to make it worth their while). The food was wonderful as well as the wine, beer, service, and restaurant itself. It really made for a nice family evening and we will recommend it to others who will be at The Nook in the months and years to come.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FHockeyMom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Better than average food at higher than average prices”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Found this restaurant in the booklet our hotel provided us with various restaurants.
We saw that this place was near by so we tried it. Oh boy were we surprised. The starting price for an entrée is $27 there was no signs from the outside this would be a more than average priced restaurant as it's not that flashy from the outside. There's nothing impressive about the building. I was expecting green fields instead got a tiny garden with a foul manure smell. There was a good selection of appetizers at a reasonable price but that's where the reasonability ended. There were $400 bottles of wine on the menu and although the entrées were premium dishes (Lobster, Salmon, Filet Mignon, Lamb Chops, Crab Cakes) it did not justify the prices. However we did like how they had local beef and cheeses. The service was slow and we missed a funeral burial because of it. Our server had taken our order for 6 then went and took orders of two other tables before entering our order. I will be sure to not dine at this establishment the next time I am in Lancaster, PA and instead try some place else as I am sure there are many better places that serve local cuisine at better prices.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank N0BODY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, Pennsylvania, Usa
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Greenfield Restaurant”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Attached to the olde greenfield inn. Outstanding food, great presentation, and wait staff top notch. On a wedding planning recon mission to check out the food because they do catering. Exceptionally impressed by the four meals we had tonight: a variety of appetizers - the lump crab is not to be missed; same for the Ceaser salad waitress Tyler highly recommended; filet, crab cakes, large diver sea scallops, and sea bass were all excellent. Creme brûlée (ummnnnn), cappuccino, decaf coffee, and tea to finalize the meal, followed by a tour of the wine cellar (not to be missed). Best meal out and best service we have had for decades. Will most assuredly be back again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shepherdstown, West Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Fine Catch”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We had a wonderful dinner here when we visited Lancaster, PA recently. Our server, Ross, was attentive without being intrusive. Although the meals were rather expensive, the quality was above average. If you decide to have dinner, ask the be seated in the balcony, where it is less crowded and you can enjoy the piano music from downstairs.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ray027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Greenfield Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Lancaster, Lancaster County
Lancaster, Lancaster County
 
Lancaster, Lancaster County
 
Lancaster, Lancaster County
Lancaster, Lancaster County
 

Been to The Greenfield Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing