We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food in a hidden gem”

Gypsy Kitchen at the Refectory
Ranked #106 of 567 Restaurants in Lancaster
Price range: US$18 - US$37
Cuisines: French, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Casual fine dining. Delicious, affordable and colorful cuisine. Many locally sourced items. BYOB . Available for catered events.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great food in a hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Gypsy Kitchen at the Refectory is a hidden gem in Lancaster. The a Refectory was once the dining hall for Lancaster Seminary, built in early 1900, gothic and stunning. It features two massive fireplaces covered in Mercer tile, woodwork and stained glass windows. The effect is very Hogworts, and at night, with the Edison bulb chandeliers and candles, there is no place more romantic and restful.
The menu here is somewhat limited and there is no liquor license, but you are free to BYOB. I have dined here many times, and the food is always fresh, locally sourced, and beautifully presented. Did I mention delicious?
I highly recommend Gypsy Kitchen. It's well worth the effort it takes to find it.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cheryld524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    8
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pa.
Level Contributor
542 reviews
330 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
“Gypsy Kitchen - unique, beautiful setting, yummy food too!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

We ate at this new restaurant in the Lancaster Theological Seminary (right across from F&M) Rectory bldg. which is architecturaly so different and beautiful.

The menu is not lengthy but the food is very good and they touch all of the bases so you will not be disappointed in the choices. I had a pork loin entre that was wonderful. My wife had a shrimp and scallops dish that she loved too.

Service is spot on and some more for good news for all of you wine affecianados - it is BYOB! Hello?!

I can highly recommend this nice, new and charming restaurant to you. Give it a try and you too will surely enjoy it!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LancasterTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster PA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Heavenly food!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

We have had lunch here several times and a wonderful dinner one evening. The food is well prepared and interesting and the room with its cozy fireplace is inviting. Ed and Ellen are great hosts

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vic P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Lunch with Harry Potter”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

Not literally, but the Dietz Refectory at Lancaster Theological Seminary, where Gypsy Kitchen is located, is in the Gothic style and a delight. Gypsy Kitchen's food is fresh, local and delicious! Sandwiches, soups, salads and desserts, and, usually, a hot entree. Never boring, always carefully prepared.
Service is cafeteria style, you order from a chalk board menu with your tray and utensils in hand, but the food is delivered to your table, fresh from the kitchen.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Argon3212013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster PA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem in Lancaster, PA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

This new restaurant is tucked away on the grounds of the Lancaster Theological Seminary, on College Ave., near W. James St. The building is absolutely beautiful inside and out - there is a small outdoor patio - and the food is excellent. I've visited for lunch twice in the past three weeks and have sampled the vegetarian chili, a curried carrot soup, their BLT and two excellent salads. I was impressed with the menu that, while limited, is carefully chosen and changes daily (except for a few items that fans of this restaurant insist the owners keep on the menu!). Everything is homemade and the owners use fresh, local ingredients.from the surrounding area. They serve vegetarian and vegan items, as well as various meat and seafood dishes. The restaurant is open for lunch during the week and they have recently started serving dinner on Friday and Saturday nights. A word of warning....there are no carbonated beverages or alcoholic beverages served here, but it is BYOB. I will definitely be returning.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PattyPenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gypsy Kitchen at the Refectory also viewed

Lancaster, Lancaster County
Lancaster, Lancaster County
 
Lancaster, Lancaster County
Lancaster, Lancaster County
 
Lancaster, Lancaster County
Lancaster, Lancaster County
 

Been to Gypsy Kitchen at the Refectory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing