We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Experience”
Review of Citronnelle

Citronnelle
Reserve with OpenTable
Citronnelle is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #54 of 572 Restaurants in Lancaster
Price range: US$15 - US$40
Cuisines: French, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Citronnelle is a tiny jewel box of a BYOB restaurant serving modern French cuisine (with a global twist) in a chic and cozy mid century modern setting. We use only the freshest local, seasonal (organic where possible) produce, locally raised (hormone/anti-biotic-free and grass-fed where possible) proteins, wild/sustainable seafood and the finest natural ingredients available. Citronnelle has 32 seats and is a BYOB ($5 corkage fee/bottle applies). Because of our petite size, reservations are highly recommended. Thank you and hope to see you soon.
Lititz, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

By experience, I really mean it! By far, I felt like I was eating at a 5-star resort, that is how good the food was AND the customer service. The servers were extremely friendly and knowledgable about the menu, even how the owners purchase their ingredients for each menu.

The restaurant is small, but once you sit down and start dining, you quickly forget that you're so close to your neighboring table.

The food was so good; I was just raving about it the whole time! And the owner herself brews each cup of tea as it's ordered. The tea was really refreshing - I asked for it iced.

The owner greeted us at the door and made sure to check on us at the end. She is so humble and nervous, but in a good way. Not arrogant at all. I love that she and her husband take the time to make sure each dish is made well with fresh, seasonal and local ingredients.

We had a great time!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hersheyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    9
    5
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“1st visit”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Had dinner there last night and have to say it took us a couple of months to go in. More later.. Anyway the inside is tight BUT if you have ever eaten in a true Parisian restaurant you will know that's exactly how they are in fact in France they may even have had more tables squeezed in. It had a lovely ambiance and the waiter and owner could not of been nicer. The chairs and plates are a wonderful touch and not typical Lancaster Co which is a nice change. The food! Well it was really good. It was full of flavor and fresh. The menu is changed seasonally so you will never get board. There is nothing wrong with this restaurant. If you are wanting a huge plate of stodgy food this is not the place. So what it's a BYOB... Bring your own wine and you know what your drinking not such a big problem. The reason we didn't go in sooner is the outside. Looking in the curtain has the appearance of a shower curtain (needs either more of the same so there is some bulk or took down) and the decor outside could do with some help. DO NOT LET THE OUTSIDE put you off going in.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Belinda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Find”
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

Incredible food. Very friendly staff and owners. Intimate setting. BYOB. Make sure you call ahead for a reservation. Definitely worth going back again.

Helpful?
Thank aplavenski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancaster, pa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Needs some fixes”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Always want restaurants to be successful so here goes. Server distracted, listened on ear piece while we were talking with him. said bisteeya was kinda like pot pie!, tables way too close together. If table next to us had diners would have had to move their or our table aside to get out from back seat and probably spill wine/water (need to remove at least a table or two); salad $11, dinner $25 (bisteeya!), plating just ok; veggies $7, soufflé with no discernible lemongrass flavor, overpriced for what you get; no reg. or decaf American coffee! just Italian coffees. Who ever heard of that in a restaurant. Best of luck in the future.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank joyofliving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
111 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Tried Citronnelle for the first time today. Brunch was truly outstanding. Great service, amazing food and reasonable prices considering everything is made in house from scratch. This is probably the best brunch I have ever eaten in Lancaster and the owner and staff were very friendly making sure we were happy with our visit. I agree with other reviewers that it is a little snug in the restaurant, but not to the extent it is cramped or uncomfortable. l'll be back another day for dinner! Remember this is BYOB, but on our visit the staff provided us with nice champagne glasses and served our drinks throughout the meal.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JeremyPF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Citronnelle also viewed

Lancaster, Lancaster County
Lancaster, Lancaster County
 
Lancaster, Lancaster County
Lancaster, Lancaster County
 
Lancaster, Lancaster County
Lancaster, Lancaster County
 

Been to Citronnelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing