We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome food and staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lucky Dog Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Lucky Dog Cafe
Ranked #250 of 567 Restaurants in Lancaster
Cuisines: Bar, Pub
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome food and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Always great food specials and beer specials. George, Trish, Marianne, and the rest of the gang are great!! Can't beat the NFL ticket there on Sundays....trying to convert it to a Steelers bar!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank daironman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    8
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
364 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Don't Judge This Book By Its Cover - Great Food Here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

A restaurant has been at this location for decades under several different names. For most of those years I did not patronize it because smoking was allowed and at times it had a less than stellar rep as a biker bar. When Pennsylvania amended their restaurant smoking laws years ago, new clientele transformed the Lucky Dog into a more family friendly place where one was no longer annoyed by the haze of cigarettes.

As other posters have mentioned, the interior is dark, noisy and not the most appealing when you first walk in. The large bar is right in front of you but if you want to eat away from the bar, proceed through the bar to the back and up the steps to the limited seating area. The bar is typically quite full but they do have a nice selection of drinks. Most times we eat in the back.

We have always found the food here to be very good and well prepared. They have excellent, daily specials (we go for steamed shrimp on Thursdays) while some of their standard menu items, like their hot roast beef sandwich, are legendary. If they are very busy, the kitchen can get backed up at times but we've always found the servers to be attentive and friendly. Abbey and Michele are two of the best.

So be like a local and go there not for the atmosphere but for the good food & drink.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TFopinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strasburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Neighborhood bar with good food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Food is really good, specials are great, primerib is awesome homemade dressings, etc. Bar needs to be updated badly. It looks like a biker bar, but once inside there is a bar, with a back dining room. It is very dark with big screen TV's. It has it's regulars and loyal followers. Servers could be a bit more friendly, but all said, food is why you would go here, not much else. We go regularly, but not for the atmosphere.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank BAM62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Food is awesome, service...not so much”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

The food you get for the prices charged is incredible. BUT the service is super slow. Don't go here if you are in a hurry, you'll just end up frustrated. We have been here 3 times so far and definitely plan on going back again, despite the long wait. Every dish we have ordered is delicious and very reasonably priced. Portion sizes are large.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hazimm5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
61 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“SLOW service, Good prices”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Make sure you have a lot of time if you are going to eat here. Service was very slow. I ate lunch and late dinner here. Yes, I was there 2 times in one day. Lunch took a while just to get served. Once we places our order it took over an hour to get our food. We only saw our waitress to take our order and for the check. There was a runner that brought the food. When we needed more beer we went to the bar to order it.

Back for late dinner. We arrived just after 11. We ordered 2 dozen wings. Those took over 45 minutes to get. There was only 1 other table in the place that ordered food. They wings did come out hot so I am not sure what they were waiting for to cook them?

I would go back as the prices you cannot beat very reasonable, just make sure you are not in a rush.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lucky Dog Cafe also viewed

Lancaster, Lancaster County
 
Lancaster, Lancaster County
Lancaster, Lancaster County
 
Lancaster, Lancaster County
 

Been to Lucky Dog Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing