We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Happy Happy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hotel Lancaster
Ranked #19 of 39 Hotels in Lancaster
Manahawkin, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Happy Happy Happy”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I have been staying in Downtown Lancaster at the big chain hotel for years, but earlier this week I found The Hotel Lancaster and was totally impressed.

Clean, friendly, great location, plus FREE WIFI & FREE Breakfast. And parking right next door!

I was totally happy here and I WILL be back.

Room Tip: Ask for the corner suite, very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gourmetjason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Guest Services at The Hotel Lancaster, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Thank you for such kind words EastonGroumet. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    90
    58
    16
    26
See reviews for
84
98
22
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Absecon, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We were told about this place from friends in the area. We showed up the 2nd night they were opened and what a wonderful surprise. The Lobby was beautifully decorated with flowers. Everything was clean and comfortable.

The housekeepers we met in the hallway were some of the friendliest we have ever encountered in our travels. The two front desk people Tom and Jazmine were extremely friendly and professional. They are absolute assets to the hotel. All the staff we encountered are assets. Even the owners were seen mingling with the guests, although we did not have the opportunity to speak with them. Its a rare thing today to see that much apparent commitment from an owner and their employees alike.

The room was clean and comfortable with a good view of the downtown area.

The only negatives we can say is it took the hot water quite a bit of time to get hot and the breakfast area could use some more items.

Since the property has just opened and from what we are being told still renovating we will definitely be back to see the improvements.

Over all a great hotel in the heart of downtown Lancaster without downtown prices. We will absolutely be back over and over again

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing downtown Lancaster
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Guest Services at The Hotel Lancaster, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Thank you Jim F.

We are happy you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to meet so many of our wonderful Team while you were here. We take great pride in the service ALL of our Team Members deliver. Yes the owners are very involved with us and can always be found milling about talking to people.

We apologize for the hot water challenge you had. Be assured this has been investigated and the problem fixed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We happened to find and stay at The Hotel Lancaster on Saturday, 11/2, it was absolutely fantastic!

This hotel just opened the day before and everything looked and smelled brand new. Our room was beautiful, crisp linens and super clean. And breakfast the next morning featured local breads, chilled yogurts and was very well presented.

We met 2 of The Hotel Lancaster's owners, both residents of Lancaster and in love with their city. We explored the city on foot and enjoyed the location of this hotel, plus parking was right next door!

This is a great hotel, well located, clean, friendly and the staff was awesome. We loved our stay, 4 thumbs UP!

Thanks

Room Tip: New owners, new name, new hotel-- Awesome Stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Brooke G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Guest Services at The Hotel Lancaster, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Thank you Brooke G for taking the time to tell others about your stay.

Yes our owners are constantly here milling about the property talking to our guests because they care. They live in Lancaster City and they as well as the rest of us are absolutely excited to be able to show guests what our wonderful city has to offer.

We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Lancaster.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
2.0 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
0.5 mi away
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Lancaster Arts Hotel
#6 of 39 in Lancaster
925 reviews
4.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square
3.5 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Lancaster
3.5 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Lancaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Lancaster

Property: The Hotel Lancaster
Address: 26 E Chestnut St, North Queen & Chestnut Streets, Lancaster, PA 17602-2702
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 39 Hotels in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Hotel Lancaster 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Downtown Lancaster and stay with us, The Hotel Lancaster! We're the perfect location for your business, leisure and romantic trip to Lancaster. Enjoy free WIFI, a free "Lancaster" continental breakfast and our crisp newly designed and spacious rooms. Relax in our bright new lobby and enjoy the very best of our historic Lancaster neighborhood, featuring dozens of restaurants, museums and cultural sites! Plus, The Hotel Lancaster is the closest independent hotel to the Lancaster Convention Center, and footsteps to the Fulton Theater, Central Market and many nearby corporate Headquarters. Spooky Nook, Sight & Sound, Amish attractions and outlet shopping are minutes away from The Hotel Lancaster! Come be our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Hotel Lancaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing