We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Price not so good after paying for parking.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Hotel Lancaster
Ranked #18 of 39 Hotels in Lancaster
Summit Point, West Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Price not so good after paying for parking.”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Ok, to start, the staff was quite nice to us, and understanding of our disappointments. No issue there or with the appearance of the room or lobby. Very nice.
Please be aware of some things. To start, we usually stay in the national chain motels, but have stayed in these fancy downtown places enough to know you just don't get the perks you get with a cheap motel. Not without paying anyway. So I suppose it was my own fault when I read "convenient parking" that I didn't delve further. It is convenient for sure, but hardly included in the price of the room. Go in and out a few times and it will add up to about the same as the $15 overnight charge.
The TV was laughable, really, even the cheapest places have new flat screens with remotes that work well. Refrigerator, yes--hey, where's the microwave!! No microwave to heat our leftovers for breakfast because oh my, when they said 'continental breakfast' they meant it. Except for toast and coffee, it was all cold fare. Nothing like the cheap motels now offer. So, of course, there was no microwave even there so we could heat our food.
Of course the fact that we were not left coffee, etc, and that the pot was dirty and had old coffee, truly could have been a one-time oversite. But what a pain to go down from the 9th floor for coffee.
We would not return to this hotel, but rather, stay at the Hampton, Travelodge, or just some other roadside place.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BJNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    89
    55
    16
    26
See reviews for
84
95
22
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Was really disappointed with the hospitality of the staff. Were kind of unconcerned n not really apathetic to the inconvenience of my stay. It was like I was getting on their nerves when I brought things to their attention that where the hotels issues.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank evangelistt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maybrook, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

The area is great, very city like. A different side of Lancaster for sure. Friday night was very noisy outside, we must've been facing a club or bar with loud music. The hotel does not have parking, so you must park in a lot or find parking in streets. Also the breakfast was quite disappointing , it was continental and not appetizing at all :( our room also had a very old tv and some channels didn't have good reception. Not fun. The good parts was location, it was very clean and staff seemed nice enough.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VJSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I recently had family members come into town and needed to help them find somewhere to stay. I knew that the Hotel Lancaster had recently been renovated so I was a little leery about sending them there. Due to the very fair price my family decided to stay there and were very glad they did. The staff was very pleasant, the rooms were clean, and the location is great to get to all the fun downtown spots. I am very glad I now how a nice, affordable option that I can gladly recommend my family staying at.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skcotter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

What a great hotel. Clean, pretty furnishings, really quiet (we were across from the elevator and ice machine and heard nothing), very friendly and helpful staff. Thanks Tom!

Being downtown is much more interesting than being out in Amish Country.

We will most certainly be back.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TeamCooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

I loved, loved, loved this hotel, it was clean, comfortable, and completely accommodating. The staff was great and totally helpful as well. The best part is the location, it's surrounded by great restaurants, bars and the Central Market. Stay here

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank LauraGPeas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I arrived on the friday b4 memorial day & stayed until Monday morning. The room was extremely comfortable, clean, and well maintained. The staff were very professional and accomodating. I'd definitely go again if I had to stay in Lancaster. The location was ideal beacuse of the buzzing night life in the area a lot of great restaurants and bars that are a lot of fun.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 9th floor so I didn't hear any noise from the street level. The hotel doesn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
2.0 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
0.5 mi away
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Lancaster Arts Hotel
#6 of 39 in Lancaster
915 reviews
4.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square
3.5 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Lancaster
3.5 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Lancaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Lancaster

Property: The Hotel Lancaster
Address: 26 E Chestnut St, North Queen & Chestnut Streets, Lancaster, PA 17602-2702
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 39 Hotels in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Hotel Lancaster 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Downtown Lancaster and stay with us, The Hotel Lancaster! We're the perfect location for your business, leisure and romantic trip to Lancaster. Enjoy free WIFI, a free "Lancaster" continental breakfast and our crisp newly designed and spacious rooms. Relax in our bright new lobby and enjoy the very best of our historic Lancaster neighborhood, featuring dozens of restaurants, museums and cultural sites! Plus, The Hotel Lancaster is the closest independent hotel to the Lancaster Convention Center, and footsteps to the Fulton Theater, Central Market and many nearby corporate Headquarters. Spooky Nook, Sight & Sound, Amish attractions and outlet shopping are minutes away from The Hotel Lancaster! Come be our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Hotel Lancaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing