We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had a wonderful experience.”

Amish Farm and House
Ranked #5 of 71 things to do in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: In 1954, the play, “Plain and Fancy” was a smash hit on Broadway. The Broadway hit drew a spotlight as the play was featured around the Amish lifestyle and their home: Lancaster County. This was the tipping point of a tourist boom the progressively grew from 25,000 annual visitors to 2,000,000 by 1960. Due to the increase of tourists and invasion of privacy of the Amish, Lancaster-local Adolph Neuber believe that there should be a place to accurately learn about the Amish, while respecting their privacy. An Amish family opened their home and property to visitors for tours. Since 1955, The Amish Farm and House has been connecting the Amish community and the public. Tour Lancaster County’s Amish Farm and House. Opened nearly 60 years ago, The Amish Farm and House has hosted travelers from around the world visiting Lancaster County. Experience Lancaster County’s Premier Amish Attraction with our farm and house tours.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Had a wonderful experience.”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Our driver/guide (whose name I regrettably can't remember) was excellent. He gave us a very informative tour of the Amish countryside. We made 3 roadside stops to sample some of the Amish delicacies and speak with the Amish vendors. We were also given a tour of the house and farm by a different guide who also explained to us the history of the Amish. Definitely worth taking this tour.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank carolmarlene20000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amish Farm a, Manager at Amish Farm and House, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you so much for visiting us at the Amish Farm and House. We are so glad that you enjoyed your experience with us and chose to let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    370
    300
    90
    35
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Windber, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Loved walking through this house and seeing how an Amish family would live. It is a real house, and he tour guide pointed out a lot of interesting facts. The farm, school house, and there's a wood shop where u can buy cute souvenirs can keep you entertained for a while.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Amber V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amish Farm a, Manager at Amish Farm and House, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you so much for sharing the review of your visit. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit to the Amish Farm and House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“not what we expected”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The house at self was hard to find. Our guide was not really friendly and he told us many wired things. He did't know that Amish celebrate Christmas, that Amish buy their beds at IKEA...
Additionally, the furniture you can see inside the house are also a kind of question raising; in the kitchen were cabinets they looked like the todays once from IKEA and in the babys room there was a swing from Fisher Price with batteries and Winnie the Pooh blankets. Since the house was left from the Amish family in the 50's it looked like that somebody would make a joke with the visitors!
I felt the hole time that this is just a money making machine!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Julia370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amish Farm a, Manager at Amish Farm and House, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
I appreciate the time you spent to give us your review of our visit. Our Amish home represents the décor, furnishing, and adaptation to modern conveniences that are found in the majority of Amish homes today. Part of our house tour explains how the Amish actually use forms of electricity (whether supplied by generators or wind power or even batteries) in their homes today. Our hope is that you learned a little more about the Amish way of life in this day and age.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lecanto, Florida
Level Contributor
272 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Interesting Half Day”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We decided to go with the Deluxe Package which included the 45 minute bus tour, guided tour of the farmhouse and the on your own farm tour. . The driver was quite informative, giving us a good background of the Amish and their lifestyle. We stopped at 2 stores along the way and these are run out of family homes, by the women while the men may be out doing other jobs. When we returned to the farm, we were given a guided tour of the house and the guide explained how they dress and explained the reason for no electricity. After this tour was over, we explored the various out buildings. All in all, it was worth the time and money spent.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lecano_FlStan43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amish Farm a, Manager at Amish Farm and House, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you so much for spending part of your day with us at the Amish Farm and House!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa Park, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not at all what it seems...”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We visited the Amish Farm and House a little over two weeks ago, and this tour was one of the most disappointing stops we made during our entire tour of Pennsylvania and New England. I don't know what annoyed me the most: the fact that they rang up our tour fee on their computer, that their store was filled with "Made in China" tchotchkes, that we saw the employees doing chores around the farm in their designer jeans and running shoes, or the fact that Target and Game Stop are only about 10-20 yards away. Their website states that they provide a "…fun, respectful and accurate glimpse into Amish life" and specify the "Old Order Amish lifestyle". I felt it was a modern enterprise trying to exploit the Amish lifestyle, and a waste of our time and money. My kids had more fun when we ran into Target to get a few items we had forgotten.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank JonesVP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amish Farm a, Manager at Amish Farm and House, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you so much for your honest review. We appreciate that you took the time to share your observations.

The Amish Farm and House has a long history in that the farm dates back to 1715, when it was deeded from William Penn. Our current farmhouse was built in 1805 and was last occupied by an Amish family who opened their home up in 1955 to allow tourists to Lancaster County a glimpse into their lifestyle. We have maintained the farm and the house and continued to allow visitors the opportunity to walk through the home and experience the farm. Modern conveniences (like a computerized cash register) allow our business to be able to keep accurate records and accounting and are not an unfamiliar site within other Amish owned businesses.

Our goal at the Amish Farm and House is to be an educational resource for visitors to Lancaster County. The information we share and the insights into the Amish community we provide give our visitors the opportunity to learn about the culture and lifestyle of our Amish friends and neighbors better, so that when they interact with them in the community there is familiarity and understanding.

While we do carry a few souvenir type gifts in our gift shop (keyrings, magnets, etc.), the majority of our goods are brought in by a variety of Amish women who handcraft them in their home and sell them within our shop.

We hope that your children may have enjoyed our corn maze, a visit with Katie our Amish Schoolteacher, riding through the scooter run, as well as interacting with the animals on the farm. In addition to Katie, our Amish schoolteacher, oftentimes you will see our Amish friends out in our farm selling their handmade items and baked goods. It’s a great opportunity to get to know our Amish friends on a more personal level.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Amish Farm and House also viewed

Lancaster, Lancaster County
Lancaster, Lancaster County
 
Lancaster, Lancaster County
Lancaster, Lancaster County
 

Been to Amish Farm and House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing