We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
York, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“disappointment”
Reviewed 5 August 2012

I am as we speak in the presidential suite, oh my. We were at first in the arts suite, but the air conditioner apparently leaked all over the floor. The BEST desk person in the hotel, Cindy upgraded us. If you are used to luxury hotels with great staff, this is not the hotel. Room service is next to none. Most staff at the desk are clueless. We normally stay at the edge at fagers in o.c. Md, We work hard for our money and expect better service for this high dollar KRAFT HOTEL. Nice art but we want SERVICE!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    610
    214
    70
    28
    17
See reviews for
214
427
42
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Unique hotel with wonderful rooms and great service. Close to downtown Lancaster and surrounding areas. Very nice deluxe continental breakfast provided. Modern bathroom with marvelous toiletries from Tarocco that are made with orange extract so they have a refreshing fragrance. Double sinks and walk in shower and very plush towels. Bottle of water and red rose at turndown each night!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

I stayed at the Lancaster Arts hotel based on several TA reviews. It is an old tobacco factory. I will say, they did a fantastic job converting the old factory into a hip, modern hotel. Kudos to whoever designed the place. Our room had a brick wall and exposed old beams. Great contrast to the modern furniture and design. The bathroom was great - double sinks! The soaps, lotions, etc. had this wonderful light orange scent, which I loved. Also, I always appreciate a fridge in the room to keep my water cool. When I asked Erin at the front desk for a close drive to see the countryside, she was quick to direct me to the nearby Amish town which was a very scenic drive (hotel is about 35 minutes from Intercourse). I also appreciate when a hotel has a good in-house restaurant with a bar that stays open late. They even let me take a glass of champagne back up to my room. There is a great shopping area with many restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LTKING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

The Lancaster Arts Hotel is awesome on so many levels, where do I begin? They have thought of everything and more. The hotel is an old warehouse, and a lot of the original materials are incorporated into the design. Everywhere you look, there is art. So unique, not your typical hotel.

The rooms: again, more art. Free water, a wine refrigerator, wine glasses & corkscrew, extra pillow & blanket in the armoire, iPod player (forgot your iPod? No worries, they have pre-loaded ones at the "Inspiration Desk" a.k.a. the front desk, that you can use for free!), comfy beds, lots of pillows.

The bathroom: beautiful, spacious, lots of towels, great personal hygeine products, glass walk in shower.

All the extras: free deluxe continental breakfast that was great, free shuttle around Lancaster, free use of a GPS is you need one, the list goes on and on.

If you are going to be in Lancaster, you'd be a fool not to stay here!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ChrisBSU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lexington1, Director of Sales at Lancaster Arts Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your fine review of the Arts Hotel. We are truly proud to be able to provide you with an experience that creates such enthusiasm! You and several others have been so kind to us here on TA, and we want you to know how important your feedback is. Come back and stay with us as we go into our 6th year this Fall!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lambertville, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
318 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

On a spur of the moment whim, we decided to go to Lancaster PA for the July 4th holiday and wound up booking the Arts Hotel over the Marriott. We (mostly) loved the hotel, it's located in an old tobacco warehouse and has great atmosphere and ambience. Also, the service was lovely, very thoughtful and attentive (red rose at turndown was a nice touch). Our room, on the top floor (can't remember if it was 4th floor or 5th) was large with a fantastic whirlpool tub tucked away in one corner). The toiletries -- can't remember what they were called -- were unfamiliar and fantastic, sort of an orange smelling shampoo. I would have bought the shampoo if they sold it in regular sized bottles. There was a seating area, and, interestingly, a wine fridge (you could store other stuff in it) and the bed was incredibly comfortable.

There's a restaurant attached to the hotel, the John J. Jeffries, that from reviews we read is well thought of locally. The ambience is terrific indoors or out (we sat outside on the terrace), and the bar is dynamic and was packed. But…here comes the but…either we were there on an off night (they seemed really short on staff) or service is just mediocre. The bartender was in the wrong job – he was barely civil to any of his customers. Everyone else, from the hostess to the waitress, was harried. Once we did order, the food was terrific (it’s a farm-to-table restaurant and love the small plate/big plate style of the menu) but the service was a real downer.

The other thing about the hotel that surprised me was the location. It’s on the edge of the city (right across from the Lancaster Barnstormers’ minor league ballpark, which by the way was great fun and the hotel had free tickets), closer to Franklin Marshall College than downtown. We’d heard about the arts scene in Lancaster and wanted to check it all out but our timing was off – everything was shut up tight the night before July 4, which was understandable. But the walk to the heart of the city from the hotel is not the most pleasant….

We’d stay again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potomac, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We stayed here on a family trip to Lancaster. This is a wonderful hotel, great location, attractive, spacious, clean rooms, with artwork throughout the hotel. The paintings on the walls, by local artists, are all for sale. The hotel, which was a tobacco warebouse in Lancaster's heyday as a major tobacco distribution center, is filled with brick walls and wood beams across the ceilings. The location cannot be beat, near many good restaurants,Queen Street shopping area, art galleries, and the local minor league baseball ballpark, Clipper Stadium. The ballpark is just across the street, which made our son very happy.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BruValM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

This is a really unique hotel. I really appreciated the decor and the whirlpool in the room. The restaurant within the hotel was great. While the hotel did not have a gym, it was affiliated with the YMCA across the street which had a gym, pool, I think a track and basketball courts. The staff was also helpful and were able to answer all of my questions particularly about activities in the area.

Room Tip: The suites with the whirlpools were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greengables41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
1.7 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
0.8 mi away
Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square
5.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cork Factory Hotel
Cork Factory Hotel
#17 of 39 in Lancaster
561 reviews
4.0 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster
6.6 mi away
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Fulton Steamboat Inn
#2 of 39 in Lancaster
1,917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster Arts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Arts Hotel

Property: Lancaster Arts Hotel
Address: 300 Harrisburg Ave, Lancaster, PA 17603-2938
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lancaster Arts Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Lancaster Arts Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing