We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Blend of Local and Modern” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lancaster Arts Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Blend of Local and Modern”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

We stayed here for one night in August and wished we had stayed longer. For starters, everything in the hotel has been made or locally bought from small-town Lancaster... even down to the printer paper in the reception! Our bedboard was also made by a local craftsman and for sale at $8k.

It's only a short walk from town (maybe 10-15 mins?) and the rooms themselves were like staying in a log cabin - so cozy. Our room had a jacuzzi in the middle with exposed brick walls and low hanging wood boards to give it a rustic feel. My boyfriend and I are relatively seasoned travelers and rarely do we get this excited by accommodation. Five stars and two thumbs up.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    573
    205
    67
    24
    16
See reviews for
195
405
42
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

My husband and I stayed overnight at the Lancaster Arts Hotel after our wedding. The hotel itself is very beautiful, adorned with paintings and sculptures everywhere. The room felt luxurious, with a lot of character as you can see with the exposed brick walls. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Lancaster.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

I stayed here with my son and loved everything about it. Beautiful room with a wet room bathroom, a turndown service with red rose, chocolates, bath robes and a wine cooler for the same price as a holiday inn. It was gorgeous luxury. There is a great wine bar/restaurant down the road in a local brewery. Lancaster is a great town. It's just a shame we were passing through and didn't have longer

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phtravellerplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton,NJ
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

We love this arty, funky hotel! The inner walls of the halls are brick and covered with fabulous art., The entire place is beautifully appointed and exceptionally clean. Contemporary styling in the bathrooms and common areas, very comfortable beds, The staff was very helpful and pleasant. They serve a wonderful (complimentary ) breakfast, which we were able to eat out on the lovely patio. Short walk into town and gym passes for a facility across the street, if you are so inclined. We have reservations to return soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in a studio room on the 2nd floor that was sunny and quiet and suited our needs perfectly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sunlvr302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncansville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

The hotel offered unique/interesting decor, but feel short on service.
The rooms were nice, but not very clean. The walls had touch-ups all of them that did not match the original paint. Dust on the wooden beams & under furniture pieces that haven't been moved forever. Even some rose petals left from previous guests. The bathrooms were clean, but lacked a bar of soap for the shower. Instead, (1) small bottle of shower gel was provided for (4) people.
We were given a room with a King bed & (1) pull out that slept 1 person (which was the worst excuse for a mattress. I would love to invite the manager to sleep on it for (1) night). Called the front desk to request a roll away & she wanted to charge an additional $20 for it. I reminded her we booked a room for 4 guests & perhaps they gave us the wrong room? She then waived the fee. The breakfast was very nice for complimentary. Wide selection & beautiful patio

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berwyn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

I stayed for three nights for business. You couldn't ask for a nicer room with helpful staff and easy access to restaurants--many within walking distance. The hotel restaurant was also excellent. The bathroom was very clean (high on my list of priorities), the bed was comfortable and the chocolates were a nice touch.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Union, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

Not your average luxury hotel, the Lancaster Arts delights with its rich character and well-planned appointments. The room itself is not huge, but the beds are comfortable, the linens are heavenly, and the bathroom, while on the small side, is modern and perfectly laid out. The included breakfast went beyond "continental" with lots of choices, including breakfast burritos. I appreciate the care that was taken to restore this venerable old building, and enjoyed seeing the exposed brick and beams.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
1.7 mi away
Eden Resort & Suites, BW Premier Collection
0.8 mi away
Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square
5.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cork Factory Hotel
Cork Factory Hotel
#17 of 38 in Lancaster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
4.0 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster
0.5 mi away
The Hotel Lancaster
The Hotel Lancaster
#18 of 38 in Lancaster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster Arts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Arts Hotel

Property: Lancaster Arts Hotel
Address: 300 Harrisburg Ave, Lancaster, PA 17603-2938
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lancaster Arts Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Lancaster Arts Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing