We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Breath of Fresh Air.... for once!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Ranked #4 of 40 Hotels in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2013

I recently had the pleasure of staying at the Lancaster Arts Hotel for a business trip. I was attracted by the 100% smoke free feature and the close proximity to my business meeting. The hotel exceeded my expectations in every single way and I have stayed at a lot of hotels for business in Pennsylvania. The parking is convenient, the room was immaculate, service was friendly, there was even a rose on my bed with 2 chocolates! My only regret was that I didn't have time to enjoy the restaurant but the menu looked amazing. As a photographer I found the art work throughout the entire hotel to be truly inspiring and I love how the hotel has maintained a lot of its character from its previous life as a tobacco warehouse. I absolutely plan to stay at the Lancaster Arts Hotel again and will not hesitate to refer others.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vikkie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lexington1, Front Office Manager at Lancaster Arts Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Thank you for your kind words and appreciation for our historic boutique hotel. We are proud to be 100% smoke free and want to promote a healthy and clean environment in our workplace. Most of our artwork is from local artists and the diversity of artwork throughout the hotel and in the rooms is quite impressive. Next time you visit us make sure you eat at our restaurant because it is phenomenal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (975)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

568 - 574 of 975 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Lancaster Arts Hotel as a get-away weekend on the recommendation of a friend. Upon pulling up to the hotel, which is in a bit of a sketchy area of town, I was immediately struck by the historic architecture of the building: what a cool old tobacco warehouse!

We parked the car in the parking garage a bit hesitantly, since there wasn't any signage about parking permits, etc (obviously we're from an urban area!). The staff at the front desk were quick and efficient with check-in, but I wouldn't say that anyone was overly friendly throughout the stay.

The elevator was broken when we checked in, but we had no problem walking up one flight of stairs with our suitcases to our second floor room. Our room, the Arts Suite, was fantastic. The door opened into a generous seating area, with a sofa and two comfortable chairs. Underneath a large flat screen hanging on the wall was a small desk, perfect for plopping down the laptop (and promptly ignoring it for the rest of our stay). A small kitchenette area was off to the side, with a microwave, small sink and mini-fridge. My only complaint? The kitchen area was very dated - didn't match the rest of the artsy, boutique-y feel.

A long wall of exposed brick (with the room's only window, which made it constantly dark), lead into the bedroom area. A huge king sized bed took up much of the room and accompanied a large jacuzzi tub. We tried the tub out once, but it took so long to fill (over 15 minutes) that it didn't seem worth it. Oddly enough, the room didn't have a closet, but a large wardrobe, which served a purpose (the door of ours kept popping open, which was mildly annoying). The bathroom was one of the nicest parts of the room: double sinks are great when traveling with someone. The shower was huge, but was missing a towel bar/soap holder/place to put toiletries.

The breakfast included in the room rate was interesting. A large coffee and hot chocolate bar made me very happy; however, the food itself was strange. The main entree was an egg wrap, which was fine, except they were put out on a tray frozen (right out of the box, I suppose) and then each guest has to microwave their own in a very old microwave. This leads to each guest having to stand around for 3-4 minutes while their eggs cooked, holding up the line. If you took your plate out and realize that your eggs were still cold, often you had to wait for someone else to finish using the microwave. Not very efficient - I'd almost prefer they just had a continental breakfast if they can't serve hot food. The rest of the breakfast was okay: veggies and dip (would have loved fruit instead) and a variety of breads and jams. A culinary highlight, though, is the on-site restaurant JJ Jeffries. Make sure and book reservations for this excellent dining experience - it gets very crowded at night. If you're looking for a lively bar experience in Lancaster, this is it!

My biggest beef with the hotel (other than the breakfast)? The staff. As I mentioned, they weren't overly friendly, which isn't exactly expected when you're staying in a small town. We asked for a dinner recommendation when we arrived around 8pm on Friday evening, and the woman at the front desk said she "couldn't really think of anywhere." Really? What about the brewery down the street (literally .25 of a mile away)? Disappointing. Also disappointing was housekeeping. More than once during our stay, we found them literally standing in the hall, reading a magazine, waiting for us to leave our room so they could clean.

Overall, not a bad stay at all. I wish the hotel was closer to the center of town, but you can borrow one of their bicycles and head into town (where lots of nice people are happy to proactively give you dining recommendations.

Room Tip: Try a suite - but be prepared to pay for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tuffy0317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

I followed up on an email notice a I am truly glad I did. This boutique hotel began life as a tobacco warehouse and passed through several other phases before its' present reincarnation. It is more than a hotel it is a living art gallery and if you see something you like you can buy it. The rooms are lovely, beautifully furnished and accessorized. It is easy to find right on Rte 30, with plenty of parking in an attached garage. We had spent the afternoon at Gettysburg and this was a perfect spot to stop for the evening before heading to Doylestown the next day. If you are going to be in Lancaster this is the place to be. You might want to even stretch a little and make sure to go there, you will not be disappointed . I recommend that you speak with Darcy Novello, the general manager. She is justifiably proud of her property and a fount of information.
The restaurant JJ Jeffries is fantastic .

Room Tip: We looked a several different rooms the next morning, all lovely. It depends on your specific needs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Warren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lexington1, Front Office Manager at Lancaster Arts Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review of our historic boutique hotel. We take great pride as a staff in the appearance and upkeep of our rooms, so we are well pleased that you were so impressed.
The history and layout of the building serve as a reminder to us and to our guests the restoration that was involved from a tobacco warehouse to a 63 room hotel. We look forward to your next stay with us so we can exceed your expectations again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We have stayed here twice and have enjoyed both accommodations. On one occasion we stayed in a jr. suite with a living area with sofa bed, desk and kitchenette just past the entrance to the room and a bedroom behind the living area (no door closure) with a king size bed and soaking tub just outside of the bathroom. This past weekend we stayed in a standard queen room. The beds are very comfortable and the rooms are unique. I really enjoy the breakfast area with nice indoor and outdoor areas along with a thoughtful selection of breakfast items from which to choose. Aside from the art which is placed throughout the hotel, I have enjoyed two nice meals at the farm to table restaurant located in the hotel as well as the bicycles that the hotel provides to guests to ride around town. In fact, on one occasion we left our daughters at a swim meet and they were able to ride the bikes back to the hotel as it is very close to the natatorium at F&M. Our third floor accommodation was quiet in spite of being near the elevator and our suite was was a bit noisy being a floor closer to the restaurant; earplugs solved the problem.

Room Tip: There is no pool or spa at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank viabellisima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lexington1, Front Office Manager at Lancaster Arts Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words about our historic boutique hotel. As you touched upon, we have many different room types to accomodate our guests and each room has it's own personality. By having the bikes for our guests it gives our guests a unique perspective of our city. Hopefully when you stay with us in the future you can take advantage of the YMCA that is directly across the street from us and use their pool and whirlpools free of charge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

This hotel is so gorgeous and unique, I just fell in love. We even were upgraded to a jacuzzi suite. The hotel is within walking distance to all sorts of things. We went to the Lancaster Brewery & The Fridge, both amazing places.

The beds were so comfortable and the art throughout the hotel and in the rooms was such a nice touch.

Loved the free breakfast.

Go, you won't be dissapointed!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tmb216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lexington1, Front Office Manager at Lancaster Arts Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review of our historic boutique hotel. We love it too and take great pride in showing it off to each and every guest. We are very fortunate to have such a wide array of restaurants within walking distance as well as shopping and art galleries. Our breakfast items are delicious and fresh and we try to implement our guests' comments to always ensure a wonderful meal. We look forward to your next stay with us so we can exceed your expectations again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

We visited this hotel during our trip through Canada and the U.S.A.. Since we arrived by car it was good that the hotel had a great priavate parking.

The rooms were great, and very big. The bed was great and the airconditioning was very good. The bathroom was amazing with a great big shower. With the bigscreen TV, streetview, quiete rooms and very spacious rooms made it a great rooms. The artwork in the room gave the room even more special.

The location was good, but on the day we arrived at Lancaster there wasn't much to do in town.The Staff was very helpfull, and even offered us discount on the breakfast because we didn't take that much as the usual visitors.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ErikvanTurnhout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Loved this hotel in an old tobacco warehouse. Convenient location. Great restaurant that foodies would like. Would definitely stay here again. Friendly, helpful staff. Free wi-fi & parking. Rooms were large, high ceilings, exposed brick, great flat screen TV.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeslieEllen51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
1.7 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
0.8 mi away
Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square
0.9 mi away
Cork Factory Hotel
Cork Factory Hotel
#18 of 40 in Lancaster
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lancaster
5.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Lancaster
Hampton Inn Lancaster
#5 of 40 in Lancaster
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster Arts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Arts Hotel

Address: 300 Harrisburg Ave, Lancaster, PA 17603-2938
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 40 Hotels in Lancaster
Price Range: £132 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lancaster Arts Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Lancaster Arts Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing