We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Ranked #4 of 40 Hotels in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2014

A modern redo of a tobacco warehouse. Great aesthetics, except oddly the art was merely decorative. The staff was always upbeat and gracious. Special thanks to the housekeeping staff for turning my battery charger into the lost and found! I would stay here again any time.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bkyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inspiration_Manager, Front Office Manager at Lancaster Arts Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Bkyne,

Thank you so much for your review of the Lancaster Arts Hotel! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are the "Arts" because of all the local art we feature throughout our 63 guestrooms, hallways, and other common areas of the building. Did you know that most of our collection is for sale? This is what sets us apart from other hotels, while also adding to the asthetics of the old building mixed with the modern art. Thank you also for pointing out how our staff went above and beyond for your needs, which is something we strive for each of our guests. Hope to see you again!

Sincerely,

Erin Aguirre
EAguirre@LancasterArtsHotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (957)
There are newer reviews for Lancaster Arts Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

431 - 437 of 957 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014

Huge room... loved the brick walls, walk-in glass shower with subway tile and dark gray slate like floors, in keeping with the time period... original wide-plank floors. walk in through a foyer into the room... high ceilings, adding to the feeling of openness and size.. would definitely stay here again. Great coffee shop directly behind the hotel. While did not get a chance to try the restaurant, sounded great.. and there were other options directly behind the hotel. Also, large and new YMCA directly across from the hotel that was included as well.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MEB516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inspiration_Manager, Front Office Manager at Lancaster Arts Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear MEB516,

Thank you so much for taking time to review the Lancaster Arts Hotel! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. We try to keep the feel of being a renovated tobacco warehouse from 1881 along with more modern amentities such as you mentioned. We are conveniently located very close to many restaurants, art galleries, bars, and shopping, along with the YMCA right across the street which our guests have complimentary access to. We look forward to seeing you again!

Sincerely,

Erin Aguirre
EAguirre@LancasterArtsHotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I don't usually give "Excellent" ratings, but this hotel deserves it. Was my wife's birthday and they upgraded us to a suite (was Tuesday so maybe they weren't too busy). WOW! And I'm sure even without the upgrade that I would still rate it as Excellent. Parking (free!) in their garage is easy, check-in was quick, the suite (w/jetted tub) was wonderful. NOT your standard hotel - many steps above standard. Ate at the J.J.J. restaurant that is within the same building, and would say it was very good.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MoseleyPaddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inspiration_Manager, Front Office Manager at Lancaster Arts Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear MoseleyPaddler,

Thank you so much for your review of the Lancaster Arts Hotel! I am delighted that you had what seemed to be a very nice stay for your wife's birthday. Thank you for mentioning some of the amentities that we have to offer, and we do hope to see you again in the future!

Sincerely,
Erin Aguirre
EAguirre@LancasterArtsHotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

I felt very at home at this comfortable hotel set in an old tobacco warehouse. My room was quiet and had a nice, spacious & clean bathroom, a wonderfully gigantic window and lovely exposed brick walls. The bed had one of those abominable down pillow tops which at times caused me to sweat profusely in my sleep, but, hey, a different, possibly cold-blooded guest will rave about exactly this. I forgive them (the hotel . And those guests).
Everyday, a rose and two chocolates were left on my pillow, and I was invited to leave my own artwork on the pad of paper provided. The hotel has a very good restaurant attached to it (John J Jeffries), and it's located within a 10 minute walk to campus in one direction and to downtown in the other. The staff was professional and accommodating, and there is plenty of parking. The attached restaurant has a bar that is great for socializing or grabbing a drink and/or appetizer.
The complimentary breakfast, however, really didn't do it for me. Sliced bread for toast, pre-made waffles, Quaker instant oatmeal (granted, with fixings), average coffee & tea, cubed generic cheeses... It just didn't live up to the rest of the "Arts" brand.
Still, the uninspiring breakfast is far from a deal breaker, and the rest of the experience is a great model of what a local, unique hotel should offer. I look forward to coming back!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank momo-colorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inspiration_Manager, Front Office Manager at Lancaster Arts Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear momo-colorado,

Thank you so much for taking time to review the Lancaster Arts Hotel! We are so happy that you enjoyed a pleasant stay with us. Thank you for praising some of our special touches, such as nightly turndown service (including rose & chocolates), and guest artwork. I do apologize if our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast was not adequate for your needs, but am happy to hear that we will hopefully see you again in the future!

Sincerely,
Erin Aguirre
EAguirre@LancasterArtsHotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

What a fabulous stay we had at this lovely hotel. The lobby, room, restaurant, and bar were all wonderful and unique! I would recommend this hotel highly--I only wish we could have stayed longer than just the weekend!

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the suites. The bedroom, living room, and the bathroom were fantastic--unique m...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inspiration_Manager, Front Office Manager at Lancaster Arts Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear Christi S,

Thank you so much for your review of the Lancaster Arts Hotel! We are so happy that you experienced a bit of a getaway in one of our suite options! We have three different types of spacious suites, each equipped with a king sized bed and 2-person whirlpool jacuzzi for your relaxation needs! I am delighted to hear you also enjoyed our chef-owned onsite restaurant, John J Jeffries as well. Thank you again, and hopefully you will think of us if you decided to visiting Lancaster at another time!


Sincerely,
Erin Aguirre
EAguirre@LancasterArtsHotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

This place has character. From the moment one enters, one feels it. It has charm that extends beyond the brick walls of this old tobacco warehouse that line the lobby and the rooms. The service is excellent, and the rooms are comfortable. I will go out of my way to visit this place again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inspiration_Manager, Front Office Manager at Lancaster Arts Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear Tim M,

Thank you for taking time to review the Lancaster Arts Hotel -- I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! We are part of the Historic Hotels of America, as we are a renovated tobacco warehouse built in 1881. We try to keep that charm in a lot of the details of the building. So glad you agree! Thank you for pointing out our customer service and the quality of our rooms, and we look forward to seeing you in the future!

Sincerely,
Erin Aguirre
EAguirre@LancasterArtsHotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Nicely decorated hotel, rooms have lots of character. Breakfast has many choices and the on-site restaurant is high quality. The complimentary passes to the YMCA across the street was a nice bonus, as was the covered parking in this snowy weather.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BalageTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inspiration_Manager, Front Office Manager at Lancaster Arts Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review of the Lancaster Arts Hotel! I am happy to hear that you were pleased with your stay & some of the amentities we have to offer, such as our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, complimentary parking, and complimentary passes to the YMCA directly across the street. We do hope to see you in the future!

Sincerely,
Erin Aguirre
EAguirre@LancasterArtsHotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
1.7 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
0.8 mi away
Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square
5.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cork Factory Hotel
Cork Factory Hotel
#18 of 40 in Lancaster
572 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lancaster
4.0 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster Arts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Arts Hotel

Address: 300 Harrisburg Ave, Lancaster, PA 17603-2938
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 40 Hotels in Lancaster
Price Range: £128 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lancaster Arts Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Lancaster Arts Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing