We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Chic Hotel - - can't wait to stay there again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
New York, NY
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A Chic Hotel - - can't wait to stay there again!”
Reviewed 23 October 2009

Let me preface this review by saying that our familiy visits PA Dutch Country on numerous occasions, however this was our first visit to this hotel. We stayed here in June so this is a late report.

We loved this hotel for so many reasons. It is amazing to know that this was once a Tobacco Warehouse! The hotel is situated in the heart of Lancaster town. You are roughly about 20-30 mts from the Amish attractions, but it is a relatively easy drive. The area itself around the hotel is walkable and there are several shops and restaraunts nearby.

The hotel can be compared to something you see in SoHo in Manhattan. The room is very contemporary. The beds and towels are super luxurious. In fact, we purchased some towels from the front desk to bring back home. We didn't have the chance to eat Breakfast downstairs (opted to dine in Amish country instead).

The hotel is very clean and well maintained. If you want a taste of something more sleek and metro when you visit Amish country, consider staying here!!!

We will be definitely be returning to this hotel when we visit Amish country again.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank funtravel6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    586
    208
    69
    27
    16
See reviews for
207
409
42
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
1 review
Reviewed 20 October 2009

I frequently go to F&M College because I have family there and went there myself. It's incredible to see this excentric designer hotel pop up in the middle of Lancaster. Of course I've stayed there a few times by now, and I can say that it lives up to its concept. Service is great, rooms are nice... I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbbmihai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nieuwerkerk aan den Ijssel, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
138 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2009

This hotel looks great, both from the inside and out. The room was spacious and nicely decorated with great paintings and an iPod radio. I just love this hotel!

Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jethroborsje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2009

We stayed at the Lancaster Arts Hotel for 3 nights in mid-September. We had an Arts Suite which was perfect for us since we have 2 small boys. The bed was superb - I would love to have such a comfortable mattress at home - the bathroom was great, the chocolates on our pillow each evening were delicious, and the breakfast in the morning was a treat too. Our only disappointment was leaving the hotel for Philadelphia!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WeddingGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nc
Level Contributor
108 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2009

This was my second stay at The Arts Hotel in Lancaster. It is a converted warehouse with original art throughout the hotel. I love the location! We have stayed in several hotels in Lancaster and like the location of this one the best. Our main reason for visiting the area is to visit our daughter who is at Franklin and Marshall. She can walk to the hotel between classes and we can all walk downtown to the shops, galleries and farmers' market. It is a nice stroll downtown through a park which is by the hotel. I also like being in a boutique hotel rather than just another chain. The rooms are varied but the last time we were there we got a great king suite with exposed brick, spacious bathroom and high ceilings.
On the downside, it is much more expensive than some of the other hotels in the area (there are a lot to choose from). The elevators are VERY slow so if you are always in a hurry and don't like to use the stairs, you may want to stay elsewhere. Also, I saw a member of the front desk staff walk outside the front door to smoke. They need to find a different smoking area for the staff. It takes away from the generally cool, first class ambience. Despite the negatives, it is still my first choice for Lancaster!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buttercup16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2009

The hotel is in a recycled 1800's tobacco warehouse. It is thoroughly modern with all of the amenities of a first class hotel. The ambiance the historic building combined with contemporary design of the rooms, bar, restaurant and lobby was a striking presentation. The service was outstanding and even included a fresh, long - stem rose and chocolate for the linen turn-down. If you are near this hotel, you must stay there!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miner62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 September 2009

The Lancaster Arts Hotel was a unique, contemporary establish meant with history around every corner. Incredible artwork ranging from painting, photography, printmaking, sculpture and many other mediums were hanging on almost every wall. The renovation of this old factory building was beautifully done!

My husband and I were there for a convention in town and found the location to be far enough away to take a break from the commotion, yet close enough to walk to our events every day. When it was raining hard, the hotel provided a cab shuttle to the event and informed us that they pay for the first five miles. Five miles gets you anywhere in the city easily!

The rooms were very clean with a wonderful fresh, orange scent. Our only suggestion would be to add a few more hooks to the walls either in the bathroom or in the room itself as clothing storage was a little bit limited. Bathroom had a large, open shower and his and her sinks. The beds were very comfortable and turn down service provided us with the usual chocolates and also one long-stemmed rose each night. Nice touch! Two bottles of Saratoga water were also in the room (and replenished) free of charge.

The bar was unique and had great happy hour deals on favorite drinks for all. Breakfasts had a nice selection from egg burritos to waffles to yogurt to fresh fruit and an oatmeal bar with cereals.

All in all, I would definitely visit this hotel again and recommend it to all my friends and colleagues. This is one of the best hotels I've stayed in...thank you Lancaster Arts!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slrphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
1.7 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
6.6 mi away
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Fulton Steamboat Inn
#2 of 39 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,858 reviews
5.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square
0.9 mi away
Cork Factory Hotel
Cork Factory Hotel
#17 of 39 in Lancaster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
4.0 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster Arts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Arts Hotel

Property: Lancaster Arts Hotel
Address: 300 Harrisburg Ave, Lancaster, PA 17603-2938
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lancaster Arts Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotel.de, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lancaster Arts Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing