We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bed bugs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #37 of 39 Hotels in Lancaster
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“bed bugs”
Reviewed 4 September 2012

This hotel was the last one left in town. My friends and I decided to visit Lancaster for the first time but we waited for the last minute and we got what we paid for. The bed was horrible and had bed bugs. never again. Horrible horrible and did I say horrible.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jj m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiral p, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
We take bed bugs and any other pests VERY seriously and are proactive in preventing this exact issue. When you checked in and took your shower, you came to the front desk to say there were bugs. We immediately acted and wanted to come to see what it was you saw, so we knew what we were dealing with. You dropped the key on the counter and left. We were taken aback, because we have never had a pest problem and have taken great strides to keeping our property in good standing with both the public and our brand. We have put alot of time and money into updating and upgrading our property to make it a pleasurable experience for our guests while enjoying Lancaster and the surrounding area. We went to the room immediately and went through it thoroughly and no sign of bugs...anywhere. It's too bad you just left without us being able to go to the room and check it with you or, at the very least, offer you another room. Hotels are bring regulated more now than ever on the bed bug issue and strict controls are put into place to prevent any situations like this....ours included. We stand by our quality and standards and sorry that you were not satisfied.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    9
    8
    11
    28
See reviews for
20
15
4
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Setauket, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Stayed for two nights and it truly is the last resort in the area. Don't like posting bad reviews but this one deserved it. Desk manager was pleasant but otherwise take a pass. Better off calling hotels in the area directly to find a room.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Emantk7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiral p, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
We are sorry that you thought we were the "last resort", but actually we have lots of compliments paid to our property since all of the improvements we have made. Comfortable beds with nice bedding, freshly painted rooms, granite topped furniture and granite vanities. Our housekeeping is impeccable and accomodations flawless.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breesport
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We could not understand the motel worker when he spoke to us. There was an alive cockroach running around the fridge. Burn marks everywhere and black mold in the bathroom. Only one bulb was working in the bathroom. The "make-up" that they speak of is a dollar store mirror hanging in the dim-lighted sleeping area. Mattress was horrifying and the lack of pillows were a joke. When I sat at the desk in the morning by the fridge, I let out a huge scream because of the many cockroaches I saw crawling up the side of the fridge. I honestly do NOT set my standards that high but I would rather sleep on dirt in a field than stay in this place again!

Room Tip: Do not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RalphyBreesport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiral p, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
We are not supposed to address complaints with a negative attitude, but I am greatly offended. Our hotel has NEVER seen a cockroach much less, many of them running around. If you claim you saw one in the fridge when you checked in, why didn't you call the desk? If there was mold, why didn't you call the desk? If there were burn marks everywhere, why didn't you call the desk? Instead, you stayed the night. Funny, we have never had anyone be so unkind in their remarks regarding our property. We have done an incredible job here and forgive me for wanting to defend our property. It is top quality, attractive and comfortable and our guests have been very happy here...we are sorry you were not.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Ok place to stay. In expensive. Very clean. Area is not great but ok. Decent room! The direct tv is a plus! Would stay again if I were in town.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StacyG0317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aliquippa, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

I had to find a room at the last minute, these folks had a room. I would have gladly have stayed here my entire stay. Comfortable accommodations. Friendly staff. But most of all a clean and well decorated room. I will always stay at America's Best Value Inns when they are available.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miles N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Clean, quiet (get a room in the back, which faces acres of green grass fields). I had no complaints with staff, noise or parking issues mentioned by others.

Worth the low price.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NYTOMNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grass Lake, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

The hotel is not too appealing at first sight BUT the rear of the hotel has a great view, the rooms are spacious and clean with a refrigerator and microwave. The area is quiet and convenient and the prices were very reasonable.

Room Tip: We do not use the daily room cleaning service so we did not interact with the staff other than check...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank asti439797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
5.7 mi away
Knights Inn Lancaster PA
Knights Inn Lancaster PA
#28 of 39 in Lancaster
178 reviews
6.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Lancaster
Red Roof Inn Lancaster
#25 of 39 in Lancaster
652 reviews
6.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn Amish Country
Rodeway Inn Amish Country
#27 of 39 in Lancaster
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Hotel Lancaster
The Hotel Lancaster
#19 of 39 in Lancaster
325 reviews
5.5 mi away
Budget Host Inn & Suites
Budget Host Inn & Suites
#23 of 39 in Lancaster
357 reviews
1.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lancaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Property: Americas Best Value Inn
Address: 1320 Harrisburg Ave, Lancaster, PA 17603-2518
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 39 Hotels in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Americas Best Value Inn of Lancaster Pennsylvania, the oldest inland city in the United States. Located only one mile from the historic downtown area and one quarter mile from Franklin and Marshall College, we are conveniently near Lancaster's museums, restaurants and the Fulton Opera House. Our Inn is surrounded by Dutch Country and charming Amish Farms. After a day of business or leisure, relax in our well appointed guestrooms. We proudly feature high speed Internet and refrigerators in all of our rooms. Make your next stay your " Best" at the Americas Best Value Inn of Lancaster. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel Lancaster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing