We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I didn't want to leave!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Spruce Lane Lodge & Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Vandergrift, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I didn't want to leave!”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

My husband and I stayed at Spruce Lane this past weekend. We had Cottage #23 and were VERY pleased with everything. From the initial phone call to make the reservation, to the check in, and especially the quality and condition of the cottage. It was very clean and neat as well as very spacious. The exterior is very quaint and it was a pleasure to sit on the porch bench and enjoy the peaceful area on a beautiful spring day. It is located just far enough off the main road, you don't even hear the traffic and can just relax. Exactly what we were looking for! I would highly recommend Spruce Lane to anyone and will definitely be back again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krystal K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl T, Manager at Spruce Lane Lodge & Cottages, responded to this review, 10 January 2017
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    26
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
37
34
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We have stayed here numerous times in the last 5 or so years and they have yet to let us down. Very friendly, clean, reasonably priced place to stay. Didn't sleep to good the 1st night but wifey did. I switched to the other bed and slept fine for the rest of the trip. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Have never stayed in the lodge, we always get a cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl T, Manager at Spruce Lane Lodge & Cottages, responded to this review, 10 January 2017
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed her in July in the Lodge. Room #6 was newly remodeled and we found it to be quite comfortable with everything we needed. Loved the atmosphere and the quiteness which is back off the main highway. The staff was so very friendly and helpful and accommodating to our visit. We plan to return to this area from now on and to stay OFF OF ROUTE 30 whenever we can !!! Enjoyed the little restaurant down the road on the same side for a very good breakfast - home cooking !! THANK YOU SPRUCE LANE LODGE AND COTTAGES !!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LADM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl T, Manager at Spruce Lane Lodge & Cottages, responded to this review, 10 January 2017
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

This is our second stay at the cottages and we will certainly return! I am quite surprised by a couple of the negative reviews and wonder if all the cottages are not in the same condition. Our room looked brand new and was perfectly clean. I peeked into the rooms next to ours and they looked to be in the same condition. The room and the bathroom are spacious. We loved the wood beams across the ceiling. We were able to comfortably sleep 5 in the room (we carry our own extra sleeping mat for the 5th person). We found the beds to be comfortable. I love the location with the airport in the back. Last time we did see some planes land. The only reason I did not give this hotel 5 stars was because of the landscaping. Last time we were there it was new and crisp. Now it's a bit overgrown. Some fresh mulch, weeding, trimming and fresh flowers in the boxes would make the place a gem. But we loved the interior of these cottages. They were very warm and homey and we look forward to returning. I suggest asking if some of the rooms have been more recently updated when you book your room.

Room Tip: I suggest asking if some of the rooms have been more recently updated when you book your room. Cott...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greengirl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl T, Manager at Spruce Lane Lodge & Cottages, responded to this review, 10 January 2017
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensburg
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We stayed at the cottages on Aug. 23 and 24. Do you expect people to sleep on the hard disgusting mattresses? I am sure your family doesn't sleep on such inferior mattresses. We left with back aches. There are cob webs in a drawer where the blankets. are kept. In fact, there were many cob webs. Maybe the owners should look at their properties they have for rent. Guess the maids aren't doing there jobs. We stayed at the lodge many years ago. It was adiquate.The beds there were soft, but nothing like we had in the cottage. The cottages are cute on the outside, but needs LOTS of repairs. It is very noisy also.

Room Tip: Just pass up the motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DianaGreensburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl T, Manager at Spruce Lane Lodge & Cottages, responded to this review, 10 January 2017
We are now under new ownership and are making many improvements. We hope you will give us another try
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greensburg, pa
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We stayed here many years ago when they first opened the cottages and they were very nice. Since then the owners added more cottages. The check-in process was super easy and the owners are very friendly.

When we arrived at our assigned cottage, we noticed that the landscaping (grass cutting, flower boxes, etc) really need done and that the overall outside of the cottages needed some attention. We got inside and got ourselves unpacked and while putting away our clothes in the dresser I opened the bottom drawer and there were blankets in there and the sun was coming in the window and I saw cobwebs on the side of the blankets...ugh!! I also saw cobwebs on the corner of the dresser and on the legs of the table.

The toilet had rust stains on the rim of the bowl, so they must have hard water (isn't there something they could use to take it off the rim of the toilet bowl). They have an exhaust fan/light fixture in the bathroom that has no separate control for the fan, so if you are a light sleeper you will be woke up when someone goes to the bathroom at night by the whirl of the bathroom fan.

Their beds were absolutely horrible! One bed was so hard that it was impossible for me to get comfortable all night. My hips and lower back are still aching from my two nights on this bed. The other bed was the complete opposite from my experience this bed was way too soft and it literally sagged in the middle when my travelling companions lay down on it...they too didn't get a good nights sleep as they had a sore back from a too soft mattress. I understand that this isn't my home mattress, but if the property owners would check the condition of the bedding, they would see that the bedding should be replaced.

The property is centrally located and they do have a fridge and microwave and a table and two chairs which is very nice. There are plenty of windows and they have WI-FI.

We only stayed here because our regular motel we always stay at when we visit Lancaster County was booked and this was the only motel that had an availability and we most likely won't ever stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gbgnative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl T, Manager at Spruce Lane Lodge & Cottages, responded to this review, 10 January 2017
Now under new ownership as of May 2016 - many improvements made and wonderful plans for more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Return visit to Spruce Lane. Clean and comfortable. Some wear starting to show - cracked sink, etc. For the price and location you can't beat it, though. Very friendly when calling for a reservation and checking in.

Room Tip: No fitness center or swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terrypotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl T, Manager at Spruce Lane Lodge & Cottages, responded to this review, 10 January 2017
Thank you for sharing your experience with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
5.4 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
1.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
1.9 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Lancaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Fulton Steamboat Inn
#2 of 39 in Lancaster
1,917 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Lancaster - Rockvale Outlets
1.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Amish Country
Comfort Suites Amish Country
#14 of 39 in Lancaster
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spruce Lane Lodge & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spruce Lane Lodge & Cottages

Property: Spruce Lane Lodge & Cottages
Address: 2439 Old Philadelphia Pike, Lancaster, PA 17602-3401
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Spruce Lane Lodge & Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Priceline so you can book your Spruce Lane Lodge & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spruce Lane Lodge & Cottages Hotel Lancaster
Spruce Lane Lodge And Cottages

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing