We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We have loved this property for years”
Review of Country Living Inn

Country Living Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Country Living Inn
Ranked #11 of 22 Lancaster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We have stayed at this small inn for many, many years. In fact, we stayed there before the current owners took possession. It is locally owned and the owners are very, very nice. This is one of the cleanest inns/hotels that I have ever stayed in, and I have stayed in many. Even though the furniture remains the same from the first stay and is somewhat dated, when you enter the room it is though you are entering your own bedroom. One can simply feel the cleanliness. I have wondered how they can keep the carpet looking as though it has just been installed. The inn staff is very accommodating and could not be nicer. We love the fact that we can watch the buggies travel the street from rocking chairs on the front porch. One certainly does not get the feel of chain hotels when visiting this property. You can experience the tranquility upon entering your room.

There are two floors to the inn with no elevator but the first floor rooms are room accessible but the bathrooms only have tubs and showers.

The only negative thing I can say is the bed pillows need to be replaced. Hopefully, this will be accomplished in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: Room overlooking the working Amish farm, even though this is the louder side of the inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jfoxs58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2011

My husband and I felt lost without a port in the storm after a very negative experience with another room we had booked. It was a welcomed relief to find this place. We were just driving around desperate and my husband saw the people sitting on the porch in the rocking chairs looking very comfortable and happy. We were very happy to find that there was a vacancy and even more delighted when we saw the room. It was so clean and comfortable. We loved the decor and the hallway was charming with all the country accents. An added bonus was the fact that we got a voucher for the 50's styled restaurant next door that made our breakfast tab extremely low.The food was wonderful and we just loved the themed decor. We decided that we will plan a trip in the future to the area and make sure to stay at the Country Living Inn.

Room Tip: We had no problems with the room at all. Contrary to some of the other reviews we had not issues wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Virginia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

Pluses:
Great location for Amish village attractions.
The facility is clean as others have noted.
They serve muffins, coffee and hot chocolate.
They do have quilts on the beds, and good decor.
Minuses:
There is no one from the management on the property after 8 in the night. The owners stay on five minutes drive (we were told)
In the morning we got up and toilet flush was not working. Upon inquiry, the water pressure was down. They said it is a rare thing (may be the infrastructure could not handle long weekend rush). Another toilet outside which we were directed to also had the same issue, was dirty so no use really. So, long weekend hypes prices but no return for that. I have to say that the water was back within a quarter hour or so after we came to know that it was down.
While leaving, the front desk asked us "How was the experience except for the water issue?" We said, "In such cases, there is some compensation at least that needs to be given to the customer".. that was a no. I then further said, "In such cases, there is a possibility of a bad review" and the lady said, "OK, I will let the owners know that".

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank gaurinw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

Stayed here for the weekend with my Mom and Aunt and we loved it. The place is super clean and the view of the farm across the street was really nice. I left my pregnancy pillow behind and they were kind enough to ship it out to me immediately and followed up with a call to see if I received it. Great, Friendly staff, we will definately be back!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank diamonds1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2010

Clean, nice quilts, but this place is disappointing. Breakfast was bad coffee and an invitation to next door to a diner. Feels like a clean motel...no inn here...nicest feature is a neat view in the back of some farmland. I'd stay elsewhere next time.

Soft, uncomfortable mattress in the Stars & Stripes room.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
7  Thank BaruchAdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2009

and was exceedingly clean. The only drawback was there was a lot of traffic going by until late at night. Other than that, everything was great. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lakeshawnee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2009

Good hotel. I would stay again. We were there for business, but I would go again to visit the area and stay at the Country Living Inn. The hotel had clean rooms, great rates and the receptionists were super friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank canada987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
1.2 mi away
Country Inn of Lancaster
Country Inn of Lancaster
#17 of 40 in Lancaster
426 reviews
1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Lancaster (Amish Country), PA
5.2 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Amish Country
Comfort Suites Amish Country
#14 of 40 in Lancaster
525 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lancaster
8.1 mi away
Lovelace Manor Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Living Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Living Inn

Address: 2406 Old Philadelphia Pike, Lancaster, PA 17602-3421
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Lancaster
Price Range: £48 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Living Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family invites you to experience the impeccable cleanliness, country decor and relaxed atmosphere that makes us truly feel like your home away from home. With their quilt covered beds and unique furnishings, each of our rooms offers the charm and personality of an old fashioned country inn along with the security and hi-tech amenities that you desire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Country Living Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Living Hotel Lancaster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing