We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ehh”
Review of Country Living Inn

Country Living Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Country Living Inn
Ranked #12 of 22 Lancaster B&B and Inns
New Jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“ehh”
Reviewed 18 September 2010

Clean, nice quilts, but this place is disappointing. Breakfast was bad coffee and an invitation to next door to a diner. Feels like a clean motel...no inn here...nicest feature is a neat view in the back of some farmland. I'd stay elsewhere next time.

Soft, uncomfortable mattress in the Stars & Stripes room.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
7 Thank BaruchAdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    19
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
20
36
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2009

and was exceedingly clean. The only drawback was there was a lot of traffic going by until late at night. Other than that, everything was great. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lakeshawnee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2009

Good hotel. I would stay again. We were there for business, but I would go again to visit the area and stay at the Country Living Inn. The hotel had clean rooms, great rates and the receptionists were super friendly.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canada987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2008

The Inn's decor was very charming. Charming decorations everywhere. Much quieter than the places on Route 30. VERY close to American Music Theatre, which had a terrific Christmas show. It knocked my socks off and I am a harsh critic when it comes to shows.

Our room was very comfortable and cozy. We were on the side away from the road (and therefore no view) but that was fine by us. I couldn't hear any road noise at all, and I don't spend time sitting in the room looking out the window, so that was a good tradeoff.

The beds are REALLY stiff. So use that info according to your tastes.

There's coffee in the morning and a few nondescript muffins. We went a little way down the road to Lapp's Family Restaurant for breakfast. Panera is close by also.

For the price, I'd say it's a nice little place. Just wish the mattresses were a little softer and a decent continental breakfast would be offered. Otherewise, we really enjoyed our stay and would stay there again.

Check out Old Order Amish Tours while you're in the area. Kathy gives a personal tour. She drove us in our car to all the Old Order Amish farms and schools. She knows the people personally and knows a lot about their traditions. We met a gentleman in his woodworking shop and talked to him about his work. We visited another lady in her home and saw the beautiful quilts she makes. Very interesting and informative.

  • Liked — charming decor, peace and quiet
  • Disliked — hard beds
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank desertwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saugerties, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2007

There was nothing glaringly wrong with the Country Living Inn, but it just doesn't live up to the "Inn" name. It feels like a motel, and it is located directly on the busy country highway. The invitation on the web site to "rock your cares away" on the rocking chairs on the front porch is only applicable if you would find it relaxing to sit on a porch looking out on the parking lot, with the highway just beyond. It also felt very impersonal (you pay at check-in, and it felt kind of like "okay, now you've paid and you're on your own" -- the proprietors are cordial, but I would not say anyone there was exactly warm). I would not return.

  • Stayed October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank hollymnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2007

We read the great reviews on the Country Living Inn and they convinced us to try it on our next visit to the area for a weekend getaway. We can honestly say the reviews were true - the inn was cozy, comfortable, immaculate and very well kept. There were a couple of things we would have liked to be a little different, but it was only for personal preference. The coffee is free and served in the main hallway with muffins at 7:15am as advertised, but turns out we were craving it quite a bit earlier. Also, they offer a free wireless connection that is a nice perk, however, we had to ask for the router to be restarted 2x so that we could connect. It wasn't a problem except in the later evening hours when the office was closed. On the positive side, the shower was heavenly - great showerhead and the water seemed softer than most hotels. The location is perfect - close to shops and Sight/Sound Theater. The staff was friendly and accommodating. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank taster63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2007

We stayed in this property for two nights(20/21 August) as last stop of our trip through north-east, just before leaving US. We were looking only for a quiet and comfortable place to relax and...we got it! And we got it at very good rates (only 180 for two nights).
Everything is spotless.
This place is wonderful: large room so cute, with real WONDERFUL QUILTS in our beds (I'm in love with them!), spotless bathroom.
We had our muffins breakfast on the patio on those chairs...
The helpdesk suggested us the restaurant "The family cupboard" (3 miles away): it is great. The best meal we enjoyed in US (and you know, we are italians...love to eat!). It is an informal place with a tremendous buffet.

  • Liked — Everything soptless
  • Disliked — WiFi did not work!
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank edna1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
1.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
1.2 mi away
Country Inn of Lancaster
Country Inn of Lancaster
#16 of 39 in Lancaster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
5.2 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Fulton Steamboat Inn
#2 of 39 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,862 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Lancaster
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Amish Country
Comfort Suites Amish Country
#14 of 39 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Living Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Living Inn

Property: Country Living Inn
Address: 2406 Old Philadelphia Pike, Lancaster, PA 17602-3421
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Living Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family invites you to experience the impeccable cleanliness, country decor and relaxed atmosphere that makes us truly feel like your home away from home. With their quilt covered beds and unique furnishings, each of our rooms offers the charm and personality of an old fashioned country inn along with the security and hi-tech amenities that you desire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Country Living Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Living Hotel Lancaster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing