We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
King's Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 22 Lancaster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 January 2014

My Husband and I enjoyed our stay this weekend. The Inn keepers are Friendly, Pleasant and cannot do enough for you. When visiting Lancaster County again we will definitely be returning for our stay. Inn is Beautiful and well maintained. :)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FinishingTouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingsCottage, Owner at King's Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to King's Cottage. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 241 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2013

We stayed here for the last 5 days of our 4 week USA holiday in October 2013 and could not have chosen a better place to end our holiday. Hosts Ann and Janis were very friendly and helpful especially with tips on what to do and see, where to go and how to get there (directions to every place they mentioned were printed out so we could not go wrong) and places to eat. They even emailed us before we left the UK to welcome us and offer advice for our stay. Janice unfortunately was away for most of our stay so we only got to meet her for one day, but Ann more than made up for that by making us welcome, chatting when we wanted to and being there when we needed her for advice or directions. They booked us to have a dinner with a friendly Amish family one evening (well worth doing) and offered to book tickets for shows etc (there are some excellent ones locally) whilst we were there. Nothing was too much trouble, and they made sure that I could get onto a computer to book my tickets and seats on the flight out of the USA when we prepared to reluctantly leave. Breakfast was always superb and we got to sit with and chat to other guests - one of the real benefits of staying at a B&B/Inn. Coffee, tea, cold drinks etc available all day and evening, and lovely snacks (cookies, pumpkin pie, and apple cider) were provided each afternoon. We would stay here again if we return to Pennsilvania.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MWiltoncox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingsCottage, Owner at King's Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2013

Thank you for sharing all of your comments with others. It was fun helping you enjoy and explore Lancaster County. We do hope you will find your way across the Big Pond and back to Lancaster County for another visit some time. Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We chose the King's Cottage as our weekend accommodations for a friend's wedding nearby. With our own wedding only two weeks away, we thought it would be the perfect getaway and time to refresh. We were absolutely correct! Every small detail of the King's Cottage contributes to the romantic and relaxing atmosphere. The food was delicious, the gardens were beautiful, and Janis and Ann were so friendly and welcoming. We stayed in the Carriage House and even enjoyed breakfast brought right to our front door. Just the right amount of privacy while still enjoying the friendly feel of a bed and breakfast. Everything was perfect!

Room Tip: The Carriage House is unattached, adding to your privacy and romance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MSU31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingsCottage, Owner at King's Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2013

We hope your wedding was most enjoyable and memorable. We appreciate that you took the time from your busy schedule to share your comments. It was a pleasure having you here and we hope you will return for another visit in the new year. Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I've stayed in B&Bs before and always had nice experiences. My recent two-night stay at King's Cottage in Lancaster has set a bar that will be hard to match. The property itself is lovely. There are choices of downstairs accommodations, rare at most B&Bs. But as beautiful and amenity-rich as the property is, it is exceeded by the graciousness, helpfulness, and knowledge of the locale of the innkeepers. Ann, Janice, and Samson (the real 'king' of the place) give true meaning to hospitality. They were friendly--but not intrusive, knowledgable--but not overbearing, and helpful--but not pushy. In short, run to this place. The area is very target rich for things to do, see, explore, learn, etc. and would offer something for any traveler. Have dinner with an Amish family or tour the nearby Harley-Davidson plant. Get your chocolate fix at nearby Hershey or participate in one of many theatre offerings, including a Murder Mystery evening at King's Cottage. The area is delightful and the property and it's innkeepers are exceptional. Highly, highly recommended.

Room Tip: It just doesn't matter! We chose the downstairs King room in the main house but the other guests...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DRMc2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingsCottage, Owner at King's Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2013

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with others. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again in 2014. Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We had a wonderful stay. Ann and Janice went above and beyond to make our stay a joy to remember. They made many suggestions of places to visit, and gave excellent directions. Food was excellent and room was beautiful, planning to return again next year.
S & D

Room Tip: All rooms excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingsCottage, Owner at King's Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2013

We are glad you enjoyed your stayhere at King's Cottage. Thank you so much for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back to Lancaster on your next getaway. It would be great to have you here for one of our murder mystery weekends when we get to have a lot of fun with our guests!
Janis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

This is a gorgeous historic house with private parking, landscaped gardens, rocking chair porch and a charming, quiet location just 10-15 minutes from downtown. We spent the weekend there for our wedding anniversary and couldn't have been more pleased. Ann and Janis gave us loads of tips on local sights and dining. Sampson the sweet Bichon kept us company in the common rooms. Our room was spacious but cozy, clean and beautiful. The whole house smells pleasant, and lovely music plays at just the right volume to be unobtrusive and relaxing. Breakfast was delicious with locally sourced ingredients that fueled us for hours. They're a part of Select Registry properties and it shows. We were thinking about how and when we could make it back almost as soon as we got there!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tish K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingsCottage, Owner at King's Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Thank you for all of your wonderful comments. We are glad you enjoyed celebrating your Anniversary with us. We look forward to seeing you again. Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We had a wonderful time! It was nice to be so pampered. I highly recommend the massage, especially the couples massage. The decor and landscaping are beautiful. Plan to spend some time next to the pond. Do expect to drive to downtown attractions.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mellowmamajae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingsCottage, Manager at King's Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your couples massage. The pond is very inviting in the warmer weather. We have a great close up of the pond on our facebook page and it is getting lots of likes -- we think because Sampson has a big smile while he sits on that Red Chair!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
2.3 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
1.7 mi away
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Lancaster Arts Hotel
#4 of 40 in Lancaster
984 reviews
4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lancaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Lancaster
Hampton Inn Lancaster
#5 of 40 in Lancaster
829 reviews
3.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
4.4 mi away
EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King's Cottage Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Cottage Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1049 E King St, Lancaster, PA 17602-3231
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Lancaster
Price Range: £140 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a home away from home near world-class dining and entertainment at our romantic bed and breakfast in Lancaster, PA. Our Lancaster County inn features luxurious rooms with cozy fireplaces and whirlpool tubs! Indulge in our signature gourmet breakfast and afternoon goodies at our romantic Lancaster, PA B&B. Enjoy a pampering massage or immerse yourself in a rose petal bath while you nibble on chocolate-covered strawberries at our Amish country bed and breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your King's Cottage Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King`s Cottage Bed And Breakfast
King`s Cottage Hotel Lancaster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing