We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Valentine's Day getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of King's Cottage Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
King's Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 22 Lancaster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    17
    2
    3
    3
See reviews for
14
176
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Kings Cottage at the end of June. We were very pleased with the food, service and assistance we received from the Inn owners. We have stayed at other B&B's however, this one truly stands out from the rest. We booked the room where we were able to have our breakfast delivered to the room in a picnic basket. Besides the fact that the breakfast was out-of-this-world, we liked the fact that they knocked on the door and left the basket outside the door. My husband is not very talkative before his morning coffee, this option was really nice. We also enjoyed the rose petal bath, cheese platter and chocolate candies...I had ordered these little extra's for my husband. The room was extremely clean, the bed was "at home"comfortable and the Inn owners were very helpful with suggestions for dinner and other activates. We enjoy going to the Millennium Theater and like Dutch County, we will most diffidently return to the Kings cottage. Look no further, this is the place to stay!

  • Liked — Very Clean
  • Disliked — Not close enough to the theater
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Mimi0601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingsCottage, owners at King's Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 5 March 2009
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again in 2009. We can offer show ticket discounts to most of the theaters in Lancaster in 2009, so dont' forget to ask when booking your next visit. J&A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falls Church, VA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2007

My husband and I spent Easter weekend at the Kings cottage last year and had a great time.

Great gourmet food all around, pretty and comfy B&B, great service. the proprietress provided us with so much helpful information about the surrounding area which was great! They even hooked us up with a lunch at an Amish household at a small price to the Amish family -that was a great experience. She also cooks a super delicious gourmet breakfast. The proprietress was even willing to share her gourmet recipes with us.

We stayed at the princess room which has a whirlpool tub - it was fun and a cute romantic room.

If you're in the Lancaster area, this is certainly a great choice of B&B to stay at. Granted that it is not in a secluded location and it's actually surrounded by some other regular houses and buildings. However, the great service, food, hospitality makes up for that.

We plan to return when we get a chance.
We highly recommend it!

  • Liked — they thought of everything.
  • Stayed May 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jdcreative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancaster
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2007

My husband and I spent our wedding night in the Carriage House at King's Cottage. As you can imagine, our expectations were very high and this place surpassed our expectations. Every detail was attended to. The innkeepers pour a lot of love into running this place. They also have a great knowledge of the area and were very helpful in picking a wonderful place to have dinner. Immediately upon leaving King's Cottage my husband and I went to another Bed and Breakfast in the same price range. And although it was nice, it paled in comparision to King's Cottage. I hightly recommend it. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mea0112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2007

Just returned from the King's Cottage, vacationing over the 4th of July. Approaching the B&B one can only appreciate the care and pride put into this fabulous B&B. As we entered the establishment we were met be the first hostess who greeted us warmly and provided an overview of the B&B. We were shown are rooms...an believe me they are even more beautiful than those found on the web site.

We were provided with a brief orientation and possible ideas for enjoying the Lancaster area. Our hostess, Janice twisted our arms and forced us to have afternoon snacks and light drinks. It was great after a drive.

If you want to go anyplace you will be directed by word of mouth and of course a map for every possible location you might want to visit. Want a reservation for a restaurant in town...ask Ann. We walked out the door at 7:45 and she had set up a reservation for us at 8:00 in a restaurant that had no seats left....what service!

OK...the food.....to die for...breakfast is a great experience, everyone belongs to the clean plate club at the cottage. Breakfast is a time for oooooos and ahssssss....so good. Breakfast is worth the price of admission. Guests were great!

The B&B is exceptionally clean and the two women that operate the King's Cottage must have PHD's in running B&B's. They are so professional yet so down to earth..you feel as if they are family.

  • Liked — The room
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank carefree2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doylestown, PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2007

This was our honeymoon; we stayed in the princess room which could not have been nicer. I would HIGHLY recommend the rose petal bath, and we also did the wine and cheese, roses, candy, etc. All were wonderful. Ann's massage was the best I have ever had; she doesn't do the cookie cutter thing, but tailored each of our massages to our respective needs.

I cannot say enough about this place or the innkeepers, Janis and
Ann. We felt like we were staying with friends by the time we left. They go out of their way to make things special and the breakfasts and afternoon snacks were creative and delicious. They obviously like
what they do!

Simply said, our honeymoon was perfect and there is nothing we would have changed; staying here was a lot of the reason we can say that.

  • Liked — Can't choose one thing; we loved everything about it
  • Disliked — The we had to leave!
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LK2407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2007

My girlfriend and I went for a weekend getaway. We stayed in the Carraige House which is seperate from the main house. At first we were put off by the fact that it looked like we were staying in the garage. But inside the room was big and lovely. The only issue was the heat - the room had a fire place and it got very warm even with the heat turned off. The innkeepers, Ann and Janis were very kind and their home was beautiful. They pay great attention to detail including strategically placed towel racks so when you come out of the jacuzzi tub you get nice warm towels. The highlight was the food - they are excellent cooks as other reviewers mentioned and they generously share their recipes (apple cake and sweet potato pancakes to die for). I am glad we stayed in the Carraige House as we prefer the privacy and we had breakfast delivered to our room every morning. We had a really nice time at Molly's Pub for our other meals (based on Ann's recommendation). We definitely plan on visiting again.

  • Liked — Food
  • Disliked — The smell of Lancaster (Horse Drawn Buggies = Horse Poop everywhere)
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeeRose731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
1.7 mi away
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Lancaster Arts Hotel
#4 of 38 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
2.3 mi away
Eden Resort & Suites, BW Premier Collection
1.3 mi away
Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
0.9 mi away
Cork Factory Hotel
Cork Factory Hotel
#17 of 38 in Lancaster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
4.4 mi away
EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King's Cottage Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Cottage Bed & Breakfast

Property: King's Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1049 E King St, Lancaster, PA 17602-3231
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a home away from home near world-class dining and entertainment at our romantic bed and breakfast in Lancaster, PA. Our Lancaster County inn features luxurious rooms with cozy fireplaces and whirlpool tubs! Indulge in our signature gourmet breakfast and afternoon goodies at our romantic Lancaster, PA B&B. Enjoy a pampering massage or immerse yourself in a rose petal bath while you nibble on chocolate-covered strawberries at our Amish country bed and breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
King`s Cottage Bed And Breakfast
King`s Cottage Hotel Lancaster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing