We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall a Great Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
King's Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 22 Lancaster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 May 2010

We stayed this past weekend at Kings Cottage looking for a relaxing weekend away and it was exactly what we wanted. I found the places thanks to the great reviews and my husband called to book a room. Right away we were sent dining suggestions and felt welcomed before we got there! We had a small mix up with our room, but the management sorted it out quickly. We stayed in the King Room and we were impressed with the great bedding, decorations, and the beautiful stain glass windows. Breakfast the next morning was also wonderful along with the afternoon refreshments when we arrived. I did leave behind some items and the innkeepers were persistant in getting ahold of us to return the items.

Just a few things that were not as great as they could have been. The innkeeper offered to get dinner reservations for another couple, but when she gave us driving directions she did not offer us a reservation. Another thing of note, the next morning after breakfast we went back to our room to relax before getting on the road. By 10am, we felt like we were in the way and needed to leave since staff was already there cleaning all of the other rooms. It would have been nice if they could have waited a little bit later.

Overall it was an excellent B&Band we will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ladybug514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingsCottage, Owner at King's Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2010

Thank you for your comments and observations.

We wish you had asked us if reservations were required for the restaurant you chose when we gave you the driving directions. We offer to make reservations to restuaurants where we know it is necessary and/or where they accept reservations.

We are sorry our housekeepers disturbed you while they were cleaning the vacated rooms. We will require that our housekeepers only do the quiet cleaning of rooms until check-out is over. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 239 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2010

My husband and I stayed at King's Cottage for a long weekend getaway and were thoroughly impressed! The house is spacious and charming. We stayed in the Queen Room and weren't disappointed. The room was spacious, the bed was so comfortable, and the bathroom had character, but was functional. The innkeepers were on their own vacation while we were there, but the guest innkeeper, Kim, operated the inn seamlessly. She was knowledgeable about the region, restaurants and was all around helpful. We never walked out of the door without a bottle of water and directions for where we were going. My husband has food allergies and as soon as Kim found out she went out of her way to accommodate him.
Although the location of the Inn isn't special (it's in the middle of a neighborhood) it is centrally located to the downtown area, restaurants and the beautiful countryside. We will definitely recommend King's Cottage to our friends.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bnbsnobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingsCottage, Owner at King's Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2010

We are glad you enjoyed your visit to Lancaster County and the King's Cottage B&B. Thank you for your time and comments. We hope we get to meet you on your next visit with us. Janis & Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2010

My daughter and I were delighted with our stay at King's Cottage. The photos online captures the essence of what you actually receive once you step into this beautiful elegant home. We stayed in the lovely Majestic room and enjoyed a scrumptious breakfast in our room! Can't say enough about their delicious breakfasts...over the top! We so appreciated Janis and Ann's knowledge of the area and recommendations. Everything they suggested was on point including the highlight our trip eating dinner with an Amish family! I highly recommend staying at the King's Cottage in Lancaster. Such a great location to all the major attractions!

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank premierlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingsCottage, Owner at King's Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2010

Thank you for your comments. It was a pleasure meeting you and helping you discover Lancaster County. We look forward to seeing you again. Janis & Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2010

We stayed at the King's Cottage for a long weekend and loved every minute of our time. Janice and Ann are incredibly accomadating and make you feel right at home. The rooms are beautiful. We stayed in the carriage house and were pampered with breakfast delivered to the door. I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone visiing the Lancaster area.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NJ08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingsCottage, owners at King's Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2010

Thank you for your time and comments. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to seeing your again. Janis & Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2010

If you took this wonderful B&B out of the slightly ghetto area of Lancaster and placed it in the most luxurious, scenic and beautiful area you can imagine, King's Cottage would STILL be the most beautiful feature on the horizon. We loved the food, the room, the service - and especially the incredible Inn Keepers Janis and Ann!! These ladies really, sincerely cared about our experience and did their level best to make it special for us.

The only knock against this place - and truly it isn't even against the B&B itself - is that the particular area of Lancaster this B&B is in is rather suburban and ever so slightly ghetto. Not dangerous or dirty, just...not what you'd expect a B&B of this quality to be surrounded by. It's difficult to articulate without sounding snobbish or condescending, so our advice is visit the B&B and see for yourself. Janis and Ann will make you feel very welcome.

We plan on returning for a second helping!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miyamota75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingsCottage, owner at King's Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2010

Thank you for your time and comments. Lancaster is celebrating it's 300th birthday this year and it's historical houses were built in the 1700s, 1800s and early 1900s. The homes in our neighborhood were built in that same time frame and most are still single family homes. Lancaster started out as a multi-cultural area and remains that way today. We are glad you enjoyed your time in the county and at the King's Cottage. We appreciate you letting us be a part of your proposal weekend. Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2009

This was my first time to a Bed and Breakfast. It was fantastic! The inn keeprs were very friendly and welcoming. The place is immaculate. I stayed in teh Duke's Room, and it had the most comfotable king bed, and large gas fireplace. My boyfriend and I felt at home here, and enjoyed sitting in the sunroom drinking wine, playing the piano, and talking to Ann. It was very quiet, and other guests were very friendly. Did I mention the food? Homeade desserts and tea in the afternoon, and orange pecan french toast with bacon in the morning. I recommended this B and B to my parents and friends, and I myself will be returning soon!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lanafish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingsCottage, owners at King's Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2009

Thank you so much for your comments. We look forward to meeting your folks and friends and welcoming you back. We are glad you enjoyed your 1st visit to a B&B. Janis & Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2009

We go to Lancaster every year for my husbands Christmas party and make it our little get away weekend. Since we prefer bed & breakfast I searched the internet and came accross Kings Cottage and it looked amazing online. I have to say once we arrived @ Kings cottage, it exceeded our expectations. The entire place was beautiful, the inn keepers were very friendly, the food was amazing, there is nothing to improve because you cannot improve perfection. King;s Cottage will become a yearly tradition for us. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jewls1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingsCottage, owners at King's Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2009

Thank you for your time and comments. We look forward to seeing you again next year. Janis & Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
2.3 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
1.7 mi away
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Lancaster Arts Hotel
#4 of 40 in Lancaster
965 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Fulton Steamboat Inn
#1 of 40 in Lancaster
1,947 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cork Factory Hotel
Cork Factory Hotel
#18 of 40 in Lancaster
579 reviews
4.4 mi away
EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King's Cottage Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Cottage Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1049 E King St, Lancaster, PA 17602-3231
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Lancaster
Price Range: £142 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a home away from home near world-class dining and entertainment at our romantic bed and breakfast in Lancaster, PA. Our Lancaster County inn features luxurious rooms with cozy fireplaces and whirlpool tubs! Indulge in our signature gourmet breakfast and afternoon goodies at our romantic Lancaster, PA B&B. Enjoy a pampering massage or immerse yourself in a rose petal bath while you nibble on chocolate-covered strawberries at our Amish country bed and breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your King's Cottage Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King`s Cottage Bed And Breakfast
King`s Cottage Hotel Lancaster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing