We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
King's Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
US$170
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$199
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$118
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$209
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$201
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Red Roof
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites Amish Country(Lancaster)(Great Value!)
US$97
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
ComfortSuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fulton Steamboat Inn(Lancaster)(Great Value!)
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (243)
Filter reviews
243 results
Traveller rating
218
17
2
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
218
17
2
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscarriage houseprincess roompicnic basketselect registrycontessa roomsun roomanniversary cardthe main housecovered bridge touroff street parkingprivate bathanniversary weekendgourmet breakfastwonderful weekendbreakfast each morningdietary restrictionsbeautiful room
Filter
Updating list...
179 - 184 of 243 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2010

We're all looking for that perfect get-away whether it's for 2 days or a week. Someplace special, different from home but still has a homey feel. A place you'll be cosseted but not smothered. And it would it be delightful if it's restful yet stimulating and ideally situated near places of interest offering new sights and experiences, A hard bill to fill, right? I thought so too until I chanced upon King's Cottage B & B in Lancaster, PA. It's got all the key elements; an inviting home of character, beautifully appointed rooms, inspired dining, good location, easy comfort, not too over the top and still affordable. All the heady top notes complemented by a collection of little pleasures. So what makes King's Cottage stand apart? That's easy. The inspired bass notes here are Janis, Ann and Sampson. This trio suffuses the happy potion with warmth, sparkle and ingenuity. They are the lifeblood of this little gem and their dream is the gift they hope to share with everyone. Treat yourself to the King's little pleasures and tell them Deborah told you to stop in.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edgerock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingsCottage, Owner at King's Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2010

Thank you for your time and wonderful comments. We look forward to welcoming you back as you explore even more of what Lancaster County has to offer. Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2010

King's Cottage B&B was wonderful! From the gourmet breakfast and super comfy beds, to the warm and friendly hosts. We could not have asked for a more beautiful place or more relaxing and pampering experience. Can't wait to stay again!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilybugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingsCottage, Owner at King's Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2010

Thanks for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back for another visit. Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2010

Janis and Ann are wonderful hosts who truly care about the experience their guests have. The room was very cozy and beautifully decorated. They've thought of everything including directions for everything from how to get to local sites and restaurants to a delicious breakfast. The lovely grounds are well maintained as is everything inside. We'll definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingsCottage, Owner at King's Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2010

Thank you for your time and comments. We hope to see you again soon. Janis & Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2010

My husband and I stayed for two nights in February. I was very impressed by the attention to detail here - we got restaurant recommendations in our confirmation email and the house's distinctive touches were charming...rose petal bath soup (which I bought), tea packets with pictures of the inn and Sampson (their dog), etc. We stayed in the Majestic Chambre, which was originally the house's dining room if I remember correctly. It's a beautiful room which separates the jacuzzi bathroom from the bedroom with a swinging door. I imagine this was purposely not removed when converting the home to a proper b&b in an effort to drown out the noise. The downside to this room - which surprised me seeing as it is the most expensive one in the actual house - is its location. It is directly across from the kitchen and even with the extra swinging door, we could hear everything effortlessly....pans clanking and especially the dog barking. It felt like we were waking up in someone's home. Now I know a b&b IS a home but this extent was just a little too much. The breakfast was good - I don't think I've ever had a two course breakfast - and the afternoon snacks were tasty. Janis and Anne are helpful and just lovely women overall. The house is located right on a somewhat busy street...you won't see buggies here (or at least I didn't) but you don't have to go far to experience that. Would I go back? Probably not. But that's not because I didn't have a wonderful time - because I did - it was very nice. It just strikes me as the type of place where one time there is enough.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spartanchick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingsCottage, Owner at King's Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2010

Thank you for highlighting, for other travelers, that a Bed & Breakfast is someone’s home. Since your posting we have tried to be aware of excess noise in the kitchen during final breakfast preparation, which usually begins around 7:30AM. We try to be as quiet as possible in the kitchen between 8:00PM to 8:30AM. We also try to keep Sampson, our Bichon, upstairs until after breakfast but sometimes our guests ask to see him before they leave. Should you decide to experience more of Lancaster County (theaters, art galleries, vineyards, auctions, museums) may we suggest a stay in our separate Carriage House. We are glad you had a wonderful time on a snowy weekend in February in Lancaster County.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2010

When we booked our 2 nights, we did not know about the 15 day cancellation policy. Anne, takes the full payment when you make the reservation. We tried to cancel 72 hours in advance. could not!

Stayed in Duke room, private bath outside the room. Nice place, historic Inn. floors squick, so if you are a light sleeper, forget it. Also there is a cute dog, so do not be allergic! Afternoon snacks were nice.
We were not happy about the fact we could not cancel our reservation, so be aware before you book here. Life happens! I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Teach1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingsCottage, Owner at King's Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2010

It is apparent that you were not the person who made the reservation here. Thank you for pointing out that a Bed & Breakfast cancellation policy may not be the same as a hotel cancellation policy. It is important for all travelers to be aware of this fact. Due to your experience we would like to suggest that when friends from different areas plan a vacation together, all parties need to be familiar with the places and the policies of the various establishments where reservations are made. It is apparent this was not the case in your situation. Our policies for deposits and cancellation are clearly listed on our website. During any phone reservations, our cancellation policy is stated and we do not ask for credit card information until the policy is agreed to. Another copy of the cancellation policy is included with the confirmation letter we send to that person. For online reservations the person must check the box “I have read and agree to the above listed policy” which lists our policies, including deposits and cancellations. Regarding our deposit policy, as stated on our website, “A first night or 50% deposit (whichever is more) is required to hold your room. Full payment is due on reservations made within 3 days of arrival.” The person making this reservation requested to have the entire balance processed with the deposit. We followed their instruction, even though it was different from our policy. As for last minute cancellations, our policy clearly states “Within 72 hours of arrival (7 days notice for holidays and special event weekends), guests are responsible for full payment of the reservation.” When any cancellation occurs we immediately make the room available on the internet and contact anyone we have on our waitlist with the hope of getting the room re-booked and minimize the cancellation fee. This is exactly what took place from Tuesday afternoon, when the cancellation call was received, until Thursday afternoon. The reservation was cancelled on Tuesday as requested. You chose to check-in on Thursday rather than pay the cancellation fee.
Sampson, our Bichon Mascot, is displayed on our home page and our “Meet the Innkeepers” page. As noted on several websites, “the Bichon is just one of many hypoallergenic dog breeds.”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews