We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded all expectations”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lancaster
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Lancaster Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 22 Lancaster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Rahway, New Jersey
2 reviews
“Exceeded all expectations”
Reviewed 1 June 2011

From the moment I made the reservation, to the moment we parted ways, Dave & Gerry were an absolute delight. They welcomed us like old friends, and treated us to hospitality like we were in the presidential suite of the Waldorf-Astoria. Their love of people is reflected in the attention they give to every nook and cranny of the premises, and the rooms are quaint, charming and comfortable. This bed and breakfast is what a bed & breakfast should be, and more! The bed and room was so delightful I almost wanted to stay in for the day and just relax and enjoy. And the breakfast! Oh the breakfast -- what an amazing way to start the day, with delicious, unique and compelling cuisine, with delicious coffee and a limitless selection of teas I wish I had the pleasure of exploring and sampling all of them.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank attguy98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    393
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
59
245
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somerdale, New Jersey
Level Contributor
79 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2011

Thank you Dave & Gerry. You were wonderful "Inn Keepers" and awesome hosts. Very attentive to our needs and comfort. The small touches were much appreciated. Excellent breakfasts!!! It was truly a pleasure staying at your B&B.

Room Tip: We stayed in the back cottage and loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdavis357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2011

We had a great room, comfortable bed, and lots of space, both private and public. We came "home" at night to freshly-baked cookies and plenty of water, soda, coffe or tea. The location was very convenient. The innkeepers were friendly, helpful, and very knowledgeable about the area and things to see and do. Breakfast was served at 8:30 each morning and was delicious. We will definitely be back to this wonderful bed and breakfast.

Room Tip: master suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elaineppetersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2011

My wife and I had a great stay in Lancaster and would return to this B&B if we visit again. The B&B is very close to downtown Lancaster which was worth spending time in - did the walking tour from the visitor's center, visited the market. The B&B is also close to Amish country - 1o minutes away. While in Lancaster, we attended a "Dinner with the Amish" at the Hershey Restaurant and this was the best thing we did. Learned alot and enjoyed a great dinner. As for the B&B, our room was small but very comfortable. The breakfast was great and the owners were very helpful. I would recommned visiting during off season since the B&B can accomodate around 16 people and if filled, it would be alittle crowded. May was a good time to visit.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terryweaver2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2011

Dave and Gerry really make you feel at home, their place is beautiful and the outside garden is just the best! The breakfasts are yummy and they really are helpful with the surrounding areas. Looking forward to return in the fall!

Room Tip: Master suite is romantic and tastefully done
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank napagirl48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 30 March 2011

This was our second annual visit with Dave and Gerry for the Lancaster Quilt show. Our rooms were beautiful and welcoming at the same time. We stayed for 4 nights and enjoyed our entire visit. When we left, it was like saying goodbye to old friends. We have already made our reservations for next year. I also want to mention that I am on a gluten free diet and Gerry went out of her way to make delicious breakfasts for me and the rest of the group. I would highly recommend the Dingeldein House to anyone.

Room Tip: We had the Master Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ritahynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 12 March 2011

My husband and i recently celebrated our tenth anniversary here. Wish we could have stayed twice as long. Wonderfully appointed Master Suite, gracious hosts, and delicious breakfast! This B&B is ideally located; close enough to central Lancaster to take advantage of all the great things to do, yet far enough away to feel peaceful.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank savagemedianyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
2.3 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
1.7 mi away
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Lancaster Arts Hotel
#5 of 39 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
4.9 mi away
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Fulton Steamboat Inn
#2 of 39 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square
3.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
4.4 mi away
EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lancaster Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lancaster Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Lancaster Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1105 E King St, Lancaster, PA 17602-3233 (Formerly O'Flaherty's Dingeldein House)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lancaster Bed and Breakfast is a Dutch Colonial style inn, built in 1912, conveniently located 1.5 miles from the center of the vibrant creative downtown and a short 5 minute drive to the inspiring Amish countryside. An evolving vintage boutique decor brings warmth and sophistication.  Your comfort is our first priority with in-step local information, personal dining (and marvelous breakfasts!). Wi-Fi keeps the business traveler at ease. Peaceful gardens and the nearby Conestoga River Greenway trail enhance your stay at The Lancaster, a marvelous get-away for work and play. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing