We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great beer, good food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Iron Hill Brewery & Restaurant

Iron Hill Brewery & Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Iron Hill Brewery & Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 567 Restaurants in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: College Avenue
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Great beer, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This restaurant is right across the street from Franklin & Marshall College, but it isn't a sloppy college bar. The food is above average for "pub fare," with many daily specials. You can get a burger or salad, or bump up to a nice dinner of steak or salmon. There are good vegetarian options, too. My favorite item is the Thai lettuce wraps (which are chicken). Iron Hill brews its own beers, and always has a great selection on tap.
The bar area is often crowded to the point of having no seating - both good and bad. If there is an event at F&M you surely need reservations.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Imabizzybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    384
    332
    76
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“plain not fancy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Good tasty comfort food and beer brewed on site for the most part. Not for those with a hearing loss. William,Lancaster

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A consistently excellent experience especially for business lunches”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This restaurant is a favorite of mine for business lunches. The dishes are tasty, original and fresh. Given it's proximity to a high-end private college the prices are understandably high but that isn't enough to keep me away.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ff344ymfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lititz, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fun for all the generations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We went on Memorial Day with our 3 year old and his Great-grandma. We were greeted right away, and the hostess showed us the waiting area which was full of picture books for our son. They set up a high chair, seated us, and let us know who our waiter would be. We had Luke as our waiter and he was fantastic - the perfect mix of laid back but attentive and friendly. We had Cesar salads, nachos, mussels, and tacos - just to let you know, the small sizes are huge! I ordered root beer, Great Grandma and hubby enjoyed beers, and my son liked picking from the kids menu (Mac and cheese, veggies, and Apple juice). He ate everything, which is a good sign! We had trouble picking desserts, everything looked interesting, but we finally selected creme brulee, the chocolate iron hill brownie with ice cream, and the apple crisp. Nice decor, plenty of room for large family parties, and our bill was very reasonable. We were filled up for the rest of the day. Spent almost two hours there, very relaxing. Gave our waiter a nice tip, he deserved it! Nice not to feel rushed but also have refills and everything brought out to us in a timely manner. Will visit again sometime this summer!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank R T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
155 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Great meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

My wife and I eat out very regularly. Came across this place by accident. Great meal....fair price....great service. Up beat casual crowd. Will go back for sure

Helpful?
Thank Arthur P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Iron Hill Brewery & Restaurant also viewed

Lancaster, Lancaster County
Lancaster, Lancaster County
 
Lancaster, Lancaster County
Lancaster, Lancaster County
 
Lancaster, Lancaster County
Lancaster, Lancaster County
 

Been to Iron Hill Brewery & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing