We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Find in Lancaster for dinner”
Review of John J. Jeffries

John J. Jeffries
Reserve with OpenTable
John J. Jeffries is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 656 Restaurants in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Mullberry St.
Description: During renovations, workers found in the floor beams a signed inspection stamp--November 5, 1890--with the name of tobacco inspector John J. Jeffries. We named the restaurant after him. We’ve designed our menu based on local, seasonal, sustainable and organic agriculture and delicious recipes. Please join us and taste the difference of local farm-to-table sustainable cuisine in one of Lancaster's best fine dining restaurants. As the Chefs and Owners of John J Jeffries, we believe you will find our passion for supporting local businesses and preserving the land we live on, to be contagiously obvious in how we run our restaurant. All of our meats are raised locally, confinement-free on fresh green grass pastures. No hormones, antibiotics, steroids or forced-fertilization occurs. Our produce is local organic or chemical free. We use local grass fed cream, butter and eggs. We also provide sustainable seafood and support sustainable fisheries.
Reviewed 7 September 2016

The food was fabulous and the atmosphere lovely. We've been to Lancaster many times and so far this has been the most wonderful dining experience. The food was fresh and the service impeccable. One in our party is a vegetarian and there were many options on the menu. This evening e enjoyed the following from the menu:
Summer Soup Duo of Roasted Sweet Corn Bisque and Tomato-Sweet Onion Bisque.
Roasted Stuffed Pepper made with a Farm Grass Fed Ground Beef, Heirloom Tomatoes, Basmati Rice, Colby Cheese, Tomato Cream and Sweet Corn Sauce and Grilled Icelandic Arctic Char with Fried Potatoes, Salad of Local Greens, Roasted Tomato, Cucumber, Sweet Corn, Roasted Onion and Fresh Herb Vinaigrette. It was delicious. We're excited to go back and try more things!

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank sailrobins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (707)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

195 - 199 of 707 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2016

This was the best food we had during our four day trip. We ate out in the garden space, and it was really pleasant. Perfect weather, and the staff was friendly and attentive. The food was fresh and excellently prepared. We very much enjoyed it, and look forward to eating there again if we return to the area..

Date of visit: September 2016
1  Thank ivsail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2016

John J. Jefferies is a must do if you are in Lancaster, PA. Food and Service is top notch. Their smoker (BBQ) is the bomb!

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank samperry007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2016

I was visiting a friend who lives near Lancaster and she recommended this place. It was wonderful! The atmosphere is rustic with beamed ceilings and has a warm, cozy vibe. Of course, it's the food that counts and John J. Jeffries exceeded all expectations.

It's farm-to-table and everything tasted very fresh. We split a salad; each half-portion was so large, the entire salad would have made a meal in itself. The salad consisted of poached beets, raspberries, cucumbers and local greens with super-creamy local chevre cheese and Balsamic-Raspberry Vinaigrette.

My entree was arctic char grilled to perfection with "Fried Livengood's Potatoes, Salad of Local Greens, Roasted Tomato, Cucumber, Sweet Corn, Roasted Onion and Fresh Herb Vinaigrette." My friend had meatballs of beef and pork--there were four!-- over saffron-zucchini risotto. Both dishes were superb. The service was professional and very pleasant. This was a very memorable dining experience and I will definitely return when I'm in Lancaster!

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Meander808892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2016

so pleased with my visit, It is now my favorite pick for a restaurant, my daughter took me here for my birthday, every thing was wonderful, awesome food, staff, atmosphere etc....Was so pleased to find Fresh Local Organic,,,,the food was wonderful and the service also....can not wait to visit this restaurant again.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pamquinn728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed John J. Jeffries also viewed

Lancaster, Lancaster County
Lancaster, Lancaster County
 
Lancaster, Lancaster County
 
Lancaster, Lancaster County
Lancaster, Lancaster County
 

Been to John J. Jeffries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing