We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and Welcoming”
Review of Walnut Lawn B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Walnut Lawn B&B
Ranked #7 of 22 Lancaster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Warm and Welcoming”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This was our second time staying at Walnut Lawn.
Tom and Sarah are the most gracious host. They make sure you feel welcome and relaxed. Our room was comfortable, well appointed, and relaxing.
The breakfast that was served was amazing. Everything Sarah made was homemade and delicious. There was something for everyone at the table.
Both Tom and Sarah sat with all the guest at the end of breakfast to have a cup of coffee. This to me showed that they were truly the best hosts as they were interested in our plans for the day and helped with any guidance we may have needed as tourist.
I would recommend this B and B to anyone staying in the area

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BandB1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
68
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
bristol
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We had a beautiful and relaxing 2 nights at this lovely B&B. In short -they completely nailed the 3 most important elements to a B&B - great hosts, delicious breakfast & wonderful bed.

Now for more detail...The BEST breakfast I've ever had at a B&B - 3 courses, with all the guests at 8:30am. Really great way to start the day (the first day we enjoyed it so much we didn't even need lunch (poached pears, pancakes, bacon, eggs, scones, pound cake... mmmm). The second day Sarah (who runs the B&B with her husband Tom), said she had gone for less carb-heavy breakfast as we would be travelling home and she didn't want us feeling too heavy as we sat in the car for hours. I was amazed at how thoughtful she was ( we had a pastry-less spinach quiche, sausages, herbed sweet potatoes, tomatoes, fruit, granola, muffins and shoo-fly-cake, so an absolute feast!). If you are here to sleep in, till 10am kind of person, this might not be your cup of tea, but Lancaster & amish country is an early to bed, early to rise kind of place, so this suited us very well!
I'd read about the sheets being amazing and thought - 'I've stayed in a Western Heavenly Bed, how good could they be?' ...well they were better, fabulous nights sleep.
Location wise, it's right near the little town of Strasberg which in my opinion is the loveliest in the area.
There is a school next door so week day visitors who are light sleepers may be woken when the kids arrive, but it didn't affect me.
The building is over 100 years old and gorgeous with chestnut wood throughout. Parking on site of course, a great shower and an abundance of cookies at the door. Thank you Sarah and Tom, we had a ball!

NB to visitors, I'd check out the steam engine at the Strasberg railway, we watched it begin it's journey and disappear into a cloud of steam. It was amazing.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heapsoftravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This beautiful B&B is situated in the quaint area of Lampeter, a short and easy drive from the popular attractions of Lancaster and Amish County.
Sarah and Tom were very welcoming and we felt instantly at home, they are happy to help you with any requests and we enjoyed talking to them at length at the breakfast table. The house is beautifully designed and decorated in walnut (hence the name) outside and in. I could continue.... in essence, really nice place with really nice people at a very reasonable price. We are looking forward to coming back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexRT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whiting, NJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed at Tom and Sarah's B&B this weekend, May 2 to May 4th. When we drove up into their driveway they were outside and warmly greeted us. The property is as beautiful as the pictures.
(Unfortunately the weather wasn't the best and we didn't get to be outside very much). Sarah showed us to our room and we got ready to go to the Sight and Sound theater to see Moses (a short and scenic drive away from their home). After 8:30 a.m. the next day we had one of Sarah's wonderful breakfasts with Tom being so accommodating with the service. There were 5 other people there and we enjoyed talking to everyone. In the evening after the show we sat downstairs in their living room to watch tv before retiring to bed. Our room was the garden room and very comfortable. We left Sunday late morning after enjoying another wonderful breakfast and sitting outside on their huge porch watching the Amish trot by in their horse and buggy. It was very hard to leave but as my husband to be said "It's like visiting friends and you look forward to seeing them again".

Room Tip: The room we stayed in was the smallest but we were fine with it. The bathroom is very small but we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princess Anne, Maryland
Level Contributor
134 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

We visited Walnut Lawn for a weekend getaway after my wife's graduation from college. Our first getaway in awhile with out the kids.

This was our first B&B experience and we could not have picked a better place. The innkeepers are so wonderful.

The breakfasts are to die for and the company and conversation of the innkeepers is delightful. So very warm and friendly. We loved to spend time with them. They treated us like family.

The room was cozy and inviting and the sheets were heavenly. We can't wait to stay here again!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kellam21853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

The B&B is located outside of town about 5 miles, a charming little house and large field are right across the street, a large school is behind the house - since we stayed on a weekend this was of no concern, not sure how noisy it would be on a weekday during the school year. The B&B is right off the "main" road, which wasn't really an issue in regards to noise. We stayed in the Garden Room which faces the front of the house and the main road. While you certainly can hear the traffic it wasn't too much of a distraction, I didn't really mind being woken up by the sound of horse hooves clipping down the street. The bathroom in the Garden Room is small, I could touch both walls when I put my arms out, but, certainly was nothing to complain about. It is decorated in purple and has everything you need, the space was utilized very well. The bed was soft and extremely comfortable and the sheets were of noticeably high quality. The remaining rooms were in the back of the house, which is why we liked the Garden Room, it is off on its own, giving you more of a sense of privacy.

The breakfast could quite possibly be one of the best breakfasts I've ever had at a B&B. It is served at 8:30 SHARP - they have the cooking times all on a timeline, so don't be late! You start with an "appetizer" and then move on to the main course followed by a dessert! The best part, in my opinion, the majority of the dishes contained home-grown ingredients. The cherries in the cherry-cake were straight off the cherry tree in the garden - and were amazingly delicious. You will not go hungry here, the pancakes were amazing too and there is plenty to go around.

The hosts are eager to sit and chat with you and tell stories of their travels. They are welcoming and accommodating.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoadLessTraveledd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queen Creek, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Our stay at Walnut Lawn was enchanting. Our room was immaculate and breakfast was mouth watering good. Our hosts and the other guests all had breakfast together at 0830. The conversation was engaging. All-in-all exactly what we look for in a B&B. Thanks Sarah and Tom.

Room Tip: We had the small Garden Room in the front of the house. It is located out over a parlor and furthest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
3.0 mi away
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Fulton Steamboat Inn
#2 of 39 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,859 reviews
6.7 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
5.9 mi away
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Lancaster Arts Hotel
#5 of 39 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
8.6 mi away
EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast
8.3 mi away
Lovelace Manor Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walnut Lawn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walnut Lawn B&B

Property: Walnut Lawn B&B
Address: 1027 Village Rd, Lancaster, PA 17602-1720
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Walnut Lawn Bed and Breakfast in picturesque Lancaster, Pennsylvania in the heart of Amish country. We have four guest room on the second floor, each with its own bathroom, TV, and A/C. Enjoy the wrap-around front porch or gazebo as you watch the horse and buggies go by. We serve a family style country breakfast each morning to our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Walnut Lawn B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing