We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The alltime rudest housekeeping staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rodeway Inn Amish Country
Ranked #28 of 39 Hotels in Lancaster
Thorofare, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The alltime rudest housekeeping staff”
Reviewed 11 June 2009

Check-out time is 11:00AM at this motel. At 8:30AM on a Saturday morning there was a knocking at the door, it was the housekeeper who then asked what time we were leaving and needless to say she was not given an answer. At 9:15AM she simply walked into our room and simply said "Oh." I promptly told her to leave and immediately went to the front desk to complain to a completely unconcerned young man. I would sleep in my car before I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ernf52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    48
    45
    25
    52
See reviews for
61
81
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Thorofare New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2009

We were awaken by the housekeeping at 8:30 a.m. and then they were back and just walked into our room at 9:15 am. They were so rude and asked what time are you leaving never will we stay there again

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cat321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MFS0416
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2009

We went to Lancaster for an extra long Memorial Day weekend.

I should have known upon check-in that this would be a nightmare. Because there was only one staff member there, and he was on the phone with a client, my simple check-in took close to 25 minutes. Fortunately for me, I had got there just in time - when I turned to leave there were three other people behind me!

The room was not the greatest - the toilet didn't flush and the A/C didn't work properly. Even on high cool, we roasted! The side outside door into the hotel was broken and didn't lock which would allow for anyone to come in.

The "continental breakfast" was a joke!!! A few mini-muffins and a couple of bagels - nothing that looked like anything I would want to eat! Did not look fresh at all! No cereal, no fruit, no milk. Coffee with only the dry powdery "cream" and something that they called orange juice - it didn't taste like any orange juice I ever tasted. The OJ was the only thing we tried - ate breakfast out for four days.

The attached restaurant was closed and the pool didn't even have any water in it although they advertise a pool!

MFS - Massachusetts

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MFS0416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2009

Besides the fact that no one told us when we made reservations that the pool was in repair, the hotel is truly in bad shape. They had no cold milk or creamers for the coffee. And the so called maid came into our room without knocking. Ripped towels in the room, the paint on the ceiling was peeling off, the bathroom door did not lock and the window lock was broken and on the bottom floor anyone could have broken in and stole our stuff. This place should be SHUT DOWN.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rusmarNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilkes-Barre
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2009

This is what happens when you let your father book the hotel.

We went to Lancaster to visit a friend of his. He booked this place online.

When we pulled into the parking lot there was only one car in the parking lot. Everything looked OK because well it was getting dark. After going to bed, the bed was extremely uncomfortable. The pillows were extremely thin. And when we awoke, there were dozens of ants on the wall and on the windowsill.

Also the continental breakfast was so skimpy, we went to Friendly's for breakfast after eating the continental breakfast. All they had were bagels, mini-muffins, coffee, tea, and orange juice. Not even cereal or milk.

Also it looks like they used to have a restaurant and a comedy club. Both are closed. If they were anything like the rooms I know why. However, as we drove down Route 30 (Lincoln Highway) on the east side of Lancaster, there weren't any hotel chains that I would rate as decent.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winnipeg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2009

Great Stay at a great value. Check in was easy and made pleasant by front desk staff. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The room were I stayed in appears to have been renovated recently. Will definitely come back!!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winnipeg0753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 January 2009

We were at a volleyball tournament for the weekend and we stayed at the Rodeway for it's prices - and yes the prices were excellent - but the hotel was awful! It was very empty - we saw 2 other people during the whole weekend! Our bathtub didn't drain, our toilet didn't flush, breakfast was very basic (one loaf of bread was still there after our 3 breakfasts we had and the muffins were the same ones reused each day). The heat was either all on or all off and was very hot (we turned it off each night so we didn't boil). And they were having a problem and didn't get local stations (and yes we did miss the Pittsburgh NFL football game). About the only station that came in clearly was CNN. Overall I'll pay a bit more next time and stay at a decent hotel.

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — everything!
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jasinskida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Lancaster
Red Roof Inn Lancaster
#25 of 39 in Lancaster
653 reviews
1.1 mi away
Knights Inn Lancaster PA
Knights Inn Lancaster PA
#27 of 39 in Lancaster
179 reviews
1.0 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#30 of 39 in Lancaster
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tru by Hilton Lancaster East
Tru by Hilton Lancaster East
#18 of 39 in Lancaster
38 reviews
1.3 mi away
Budget Host Inn & Suites
Budget Host Inn & Suites
#24 of 39 in Lancaster
357 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Lancaster - Rockvale Outlets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn Amish Country? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Amish Country

Property: Rodeway Inn Amish Country
Address: 2331 Lincoln Hwy E, Lancaster, PA 17602-1113
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 39 Hotels in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Rodeway Inn Amish Country 1.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rodeway Inn® Amish Country is a touch of Italy in the heart of Dutch Country. This Lancaster, PA hotel is ideally located in Pennsylvania Dutch Country, less than one mile from Dutch Wonderland children's amusement park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rodeway Inn Amish Country reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Amish Country Hotel Lancaster
Rodeway Inn Italian Hotel
Rodeway Inn Lancaster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing