We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed, needs major renovations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lancaster Host Resort and Conference Center
Ranked #35 of 40 Hotels in Lancaster
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed a week during an event at the hotel and expo center. We were very disappointed in the lack of quality and poor accommodations. Our room had old and dirty carpet, the sink and tub were cracked in many places, the a/c vent was full of dust, tv is a tube not flat screen with very limited channels. The toilet overflowed(it was fixed promptly) then there was no hot water then our toilet started leaking at the base and we had to use towels to keep the floor dry for 2 days. There also was a major water leak on 2 floors that required relocation of guests to another hotel.
There is a major lack of handicap accessibility to rooms,etc. there is a dumb waiter for wheelchairs but it was too small for our average sized scooter. The elevator barely accommodated the scooter as well. The front lobby handicap ramp is diffuse to navigate with a scooter.
The adjacent expo center is within walking distance but not completely covered should there be inclement weather.
The front desk staff and gentleman that fixed the toilet were very courteous and friendly.
Will not stay here again when in the area.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank gabygoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harry S, General Manager at Lancaster Host Resort and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to submit your personal observations regarding your stay here at the Lancaster Host. Please accept my sincere apology that the hotel did not meet your expectations.
As for the overall condition of the hotel; I can assure you that our hotel management team as well as our corporate team is dedicated to an ongoing program to update the facility as funding is available, unfortunately this may not happen as quickly as we would like for our guests.
The hotel did experience a water main break on the 500’s level hallway; we relocated affected guests to other rooms within the hotel and compensated them for any inconvenience. The water leak was repaired on same day and hotel removed/replaced any affected drywall or carpet.
Results from our guest survey, conducted by an independent third party indicate that over 82% of our guests enjoyed their stay at the Lancaster Host. In conjunction with our positive reviews on this website indicates the Lancaster Host is a wonderful place to stay while you are in the Lancaster area.
Thank you for your patronage and your feedback.
Respectfully yours,
Harry Stevens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (857)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

379 - 385 of 857 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed overnight for a quick trip to Lancaster and decided to give the Host a try despite the poor reviews.

On the good side: the room was low priced, the location was close to shopping, there is a game room in the hotel, our room had a balcony to get fresh air and the room was clean.

On the bad side: Our hotel room fixtures have passed their time and need lots of TLC. Our bathroom sink had white paint applied around its rim and it looked ridiculous with the chipping and shabby look. The room had an over-all look of wear-and-tear and I really was sorry I stayed despite the low price.

Stayed: October 2013
1  Thank davidaeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harry S, General Manager at Lancaster Host Resort and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear Guest,
We appreciate you taking the time to submit your feedback. We agree with many of your statements relative to the need for additional renovations. The corporate team and hotel management is committed to making the necessary improvements. We are completing renovations to areas of the hotel as time and funding allow, unfortunately this may not happen as quickly as we would like.

Thank you for choosing the Host, we appreciate your patronage and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Respectfully yours,
Harry Stevens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We had a group of 12 people traveling. The staff was great and very friendly and professional. This was also true of the people working with me in the office (before we arrived) as well - Kathy D. was awesome working through the various questions and planning. They had the rooms ready when we got there and they handled a minor glitch very quickly. I was afraid the rooms would look much different than the pictures on the website - so I was pleasantly surprised when the rooms were exactly as presented and were clean and comfortable.

The hotel is in a good location and we were able to manuver around very well for our planned activities.

After a good night's sleep - we had a good breakfast the next morning. We plan to stay here next year as well.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harry S, General Manager at Lancaster Host Resort and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your recent stay at the Lancaster Host Resort in Lancaster, Pennsylvania.

We are pleased you and your group enjoyed your stay with us here at the Host. We are also grateful that you took time to comment regarding your positive experiences and appreciative of your great review.

As your personal observations reflect, our team is committed to continuous improvement in all areas of the hotel, and we are very pleased that you recognized the fruits of our labor for you, our valued guests.

We look forward to your next visit here with us at the Lancaster Host. Please contact me directly if I can be of further assistance.

Sincerely,
Harry Stevens
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Was very disappointed with this hotel. Have always heard such great things about them. It was rundown, dirty and outdated. We had received a special rate for the room through Groupon. I am almost convinced that they have certain areas of the hotel for people who are not paying full price. Otherwise I can't imagine the good reviews. The room itself was quite large. The sofa was old and broken. The room temp was 78 degrees and the air conditioner did not work (per the front desk, the ac's had not yet been turned on to function...it was only March). Carpets were stained. The bed was fairly comfortable but the sheets were not good quality. Restaurant was ok, except my husband had to reorder his meal as they were out of soy sauce for what he had ordered. Would not recommend this hotel. We laugh about it now.. "remember that hotel we stayed at for our anniversary..." But was not funny at the time...

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harry S, General Manager at Lancaster Host Resort and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate all comments.
We do not place Groupon patrons in less desirable areas of the hotel. Did you contact the Manager on Duty and request a change in room? He or she would have been pleased to accommodate you.
I did speak to you after the fact and sent you a complimentary gift certificate to stay at the hotel sometime in the future free of charge, you neglected to include that in your review.
As always, thank you for your patronage, we look forward to having you stay with us in the future.
Respectfully yours,
Harry Stevens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The hotel room was run down and needed a good cleaning. The sheets were threadbare and smelled. The carpet was badly stained. I could not wait to leave and the first thing I did when I got home was take a shower. They must have given us the worst room--our view was the dumpster. Worst hotel I have ever stayed in.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank UnBelMondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harry S, General Manager at Lancaster Host Resort and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear Guest,
Did you receive the email I sent to you through TripAdvisor? I wanted to gain additional information relative to the validity of certain issues you cited in your review. Please contact me directly at hstevens@lancasterhost.com so I may learn more of the details as reported in your review. We do not have any rooms overlooking a dumpster, do you have the correct hotel?
As many other reviews indicate the Lancaster Host is great place to stay while you are in the Lancaster area, I am disappointed that our facility did not meet your expectations.
Hopefully you can visit again sometime in the future and see the results of our continuous improvement plans.
Respectfully yours,
Harry Stevens
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

My family of 3 recently stayed here for a Sunday-Monday get away since our son is off of college on Mon. The guys enjoyed a golf game while I did some shopping. The resort has a very nice golf course with a walking trail/jogging around it.

The rooms were very clean, staff was very friendly, and the food was delich. We had the breakfast buffet in the morn. which was done up so beautifully and such a wide assortment of items. For dinner that night we ate in their restaurant LEGENDS for my son's birthday meal. It was all delich. from soup to nuts. It was not very crowded since it was a Sun. evening and most people/business travelers, etc. were home for the weekend.

There was a lot to offer at this resort for sure. Indoor/outdoor pool, an arcade area for the kids, a children's play area inside. Our room over looked the golf course and the other side of the hotel over looks the beautiful outdoor pool. I would love to try this place in the summer when the pool is open. They have one of the largest and nicest outdoor pool areas I have seen. Very large and they even have a swim up bar area.

Anxious to retn. and so centrally located to the outlets, Dutch Wonderland, Sight and Sound Theater, etc. etc.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beachlover53417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harry S, General Manager at Lancaster Host Resort and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your recent stay at the Lancaster Host Resort in Lancaster, Pennsylvania.

We are pleased you and your group enjoyed your stay with us here at the Host. We are also grateful that you took time to comment regarding your positive experiences and appreciative of your great review.

As your personal observations reflect, our team is committed to continuous improvement in all areas of the hotel, and we are very pleased that you recognized the fruits of our labor for you, our valued guests.

We look forward to your next visit here with us at the Lancaster Host. Please contact me directly if I can be of further assistance.

Sincerely,
Harry Stevens
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We were visiting area for a wedding in nearby Akron and the Lancaster Host Resort worked out great for accommodations for our entire family and extended family coming from all over the country. It was a great location for us! We got a great bed & breakfast deal through Travel Zoo and the breakfast was great, so many choices! The breakfast room was large, bright, spacious and we were able to have adjoining tables. The staff was friendly,extremely helpful and accommodating and professional. They went the extra mile for us when the 6th floor wasn't available, due to tour buses, as planned and we were given spacious adjoining rooms on the ballroom floor instead of one room with two beds. As we were there almost a week this was great for 4 women! It had access with a needed elevator. Yes, it isn't a large elevator but it worked fine. It is an older hotel but was clean and spacious and enjoyable. There were a number of places our family could gather and enjoy each other and the play room was great for my young and toddler grandkids and cousins! As it was start of off season, we pretty much had it and the pool to ourselves during the week. The indoor pool was another plus for us as the outdoor pool was closed for the season. Family members with kids were able to get rooms on floor with play area which was nice. Guest services staff at front desk were awesome and to be highly commended for their assistance in making our stay best possible...I really appreciate their assistance, friendliness, and availability on our part...Tammy (long haired cute, slender blond) at desk was amazing as well as her supervisor who I met with in July about our coming visit to the area. Had a little mix up with Travel Zoo reservation on one of the rooms but we had the vouchers and it was worked out with no problems...somehow didn't get put in system correctly. Had a few wifi issues with ipads but not computers do (have had that issue before with ipads). Only negative was toilets on basement level were slow in flushing and draining and refilling at times.Also hall carpet has quite a bit of wear near our room... a crawl space in floor needs to be re-carpeted in that hall (100 rooms). We would definitely stay there again, a great family hotel and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: There are two floors accessible with an elevator, the ball room floor and 6th floor which is rally n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harry S, General Manager at Lancaster Host Resort and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We are pleased you enjoyed your visit with us here at the Lancaster Host. We are grateful that you took time to comment regarding your experience and appreciative of your positive review and wonderful scores in each individual category.

Thank you for your thoughtful comments relative to our staff, as for the complimentary WIFI and Ipad issues, we recently upgrade our WIFI service to all areas of the hotel to improve connectivity and bandwith.

Thank you for choosing the Host, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate your patronage, and we look forward to seeing you again next year, if not sooner.

If I may be of any further service please feel free to contact me directly at hstevens@lancasterhost.com .

Respectfully yours,
Harry Stevens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Lancaster - Rockvale Outlets
0.2 mi away
Tru by Hilton Lancaster East
Tru by Hilton Lancaster East
#15 of 40 in Lancaster
132 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lancaster East at The Outlets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Lancaster
7.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lancaster
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster Host Resort and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Host Resort and Conference Center

Address: 2300 Lincoln Hwy E, Lancaster, PA 17602-1114
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 40 Hotels in Lancaster
Price Range: £69 - £395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lancaster Host Resort and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 330
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Lancaster Host Resort and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster Host Hotel Lancaster
Lancaster Host Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing