We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sunday Brunch”
Review of Sumney Tavern

Sumney Tavern
Ranked #6 of 117 Restaurants in Lansdale
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Irish, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hatfield, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Sunday Brunch”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We went here for Sunday Brunch.
The place was not crowded, plenty of indooor/outdoor seating available.
they have a buffet set up with plenty of breakfast items to choose from. They also have a waffle making station and omelet station. My son enjoyed a freshly made Waffle with toppings of his choice and I enjoyed a freshly made omelet with toppings of my choice. The man working that station is very nice and helpful when choosing what toppings you want. They also have an awesome selection of fresh fruit available.
I think the prices were a good value for what you got. They have several bus boys clearing plates when you are finished.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jennifer s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    39
    12
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Wales, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Happy Hour Is A Great Deal”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

If you are looking for a relaxing place to meet friends for a drink and conversation you can't beat the Sumney. The bartenders are excellent ( say hi to Shawn, Christine and Brandy) and the prices super. From 4:00 to 6:00 (and during the Phillies/Flyers games) domestic drafts are $2 and all the appetizers are $5. You can get a huge plate of Nachos smothered in your favorite toppings for $5 that is easily enough for 3-4 people. And if you are hungry on Sunday or Tuesday night you're in luck. All entries are $12. And that includes the prime rib and shrimp (normally $18). It's a great way to explore the menu.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Casual Comfort Food”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Recommended this place by a colleague who lives in the area.

The food is your average tavern / comfort food. Food was good and the staff friendly. The location was fairly close to my hotel (Homewood Suites). The restaurant is one side and the bar is on the other so if you like this type of environment, you should find it familiar.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RoadWarriorPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
81 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“local favorite”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This place is a gem. Staple Irish tavern, interior with dark finishings pictures worth of history. They have the best food and the owners, cooks, waitresses, bartenders are all super friendly. Most that frequent there are regulars so they get to know you by name. They have a back room with fireplace, great for gatherings. They also have a small outside deck for when the weather is warm. Prices are decent as well. highly recommend. I hear they have an awesome sunday brunch, but i've never been--to do list.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Third time is not the charm”
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

I want to love this local place. Want there for the third time and my last time, unless for take out. It's awkward when you enter.. The host has to go around you to get the menu, needs a better layout. My hubby and I enter and two waitresses walk right by, no smile no hello, nothing. Wasn't sure if we should seat our selves or wait. A women finally addresses us. She was nice. I think our waitress was new, it took a really long time to place our orders let alone get the food. The food was great. Crab cake sandwich and the sumney I think it was called. Chopped steak w horseradish mayo.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MissKimberlyA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sumney Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Sumney Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing