We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just above average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lebanon
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Lebanon
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Just above average”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Upon checking in Eric was on duty. He did an excellent job and went the extra mile on providing restaurant choices and info sheets. The room was clean and no complaints. Nothing exceptional, but not outdated either. Everything worked properly and enjoyed accomodations. My only major complaint was breakfast. I enjoy food the old way. Real bacon, not turkey, real eggs not substitute, and same with sausage. The breakfast had so many substitutes, it was not tasty. The automated pancake make (although cool novelty with preloaded batter and literally has the pancakes come off a conveyor belt) doesn't have the taste nor density of normal pancakes. So out of the 3 rooms and 6 people, no one enjoyed breakfast. The other challenge which is not hotel fault except built on location, is the cow pasture smell outside. I can only imagine worse in summer. So for the $139 rate and lack of quality breakfast, my group is asking for a switch as there are 14 of us scheduled to return later this month.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lebanon, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear neal1,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We’re happy to that you enjoyed the cleanliness of your room and we thank you for your kind words about one of our staff, Eric. I’m sure he’ll be delighted to know he was able to provide excellent service to you. Conversely, it is regrettable that you did not enjoy our breakfast items. Your feedback is highly appreciated as this gives us the opportunity to improve on our guest satisfaction. Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    51
    23
    13
    12
See reviews for
57
27
6
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jonestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My husband and I booked a block of rooms were our wedding as well as a jacuzzi suite for ourselves. I called the morning of to confirm our reservation for our suite and informed the agent on the phone we would be checking in later. Upon checking in at 11pm after our big day we were told by the night auditor/night housekeeper/night front desk agent that our room was "given away". The manager told her to tell us it was given away but they had another room. It was not a suite nor did it have a jacuzzi. It was a standard room near the indoor pool (stunk like chlorine) My husband and I were unhappy as we had our suite booked for months and they knew it was our wedding night. Not to mention, we had other guests staying at this hotel at our recommendation.
The agent assured us this room would be fine. It was across from the indoor pool and when we entered the room there was trash all over the floor and overflowing the trash cans. The agent offered us some warm wine to try to appease us. My husband was highly displeased but were exhausted and after cleaning up the trash in our room we called it a night. When checking out I asked to speak to the manager whom I directly booked my room block and reservation with and was told she wasn't there. I called her first thing Monday morning and spoke with her at length and got NO WHERE. I asked called corporate and again got NO WHERE. Long story short after 3 phone calls, and a formal letter, I got no where, not even an apology. I understand mistakes happen. I was the assistant front office manager at a 5 diamond resort so I know the business. There is however, NO excuse for poor service in the service and hospitality industry. This experience ruined my opinion of the Holiday Inn chain and I cannot recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the Lebanon area which is a shame because there are very limited options.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lebanon, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Janelle M,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us. We are deeply sorry we fell below your expectations. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. We take comments such as these very seriously and would like to follow up with you. I have sent you a private message in an effort to obtain more information.

Again, thank you and I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Sincerely,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Youngstown, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Lebanon, Pa in early Feb. for the Hershey's Chocolate Covered Weekend and had a GREAT stay. The beds were very comfortable, the rooms were very clean, the staff was great and the breakfast was wonderful!

It was a little farther to Hershey, but not as long as some people said it was. Was nice drive and worked well.

We would DEFINITELY stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cop1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
279 reviews
258 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 815 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Stayed two nights at this property. I arrived late at night and it was a bit hard to find the place, especially since I got lost in all one-way downtown Lebanon streets. Eventually I managed to get here. Check-in was OK, however I was assigned a ground floor room, although I specifically asked for a top-floor one. Being a Platinum IHG Rewards member such small requests are usually always granted, especially on half-empty nights, as was the case this time. Anyhow, the room was rather small, it was showing some signs of tear and wear. Generally it was clean, only the floor carpets could use a thorough cleaning as they were stained in many areas. Breakfast was the usual HIE items. My whole stay was OK, nothing to seriously complain about as well as nothing outstanding. With not many accommodation options around here it was a reasonable choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slo-Lju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lebanon, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear Slo-Lju,

Thank you for your feedback. As an IHG Rewards Elite Member we greatly appreciate your loyalty to our brand and hotel. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. It is unfortunate that your stay with us was not up to your standards. We would appreciate the opportunity to welcome you back to make your stay as best as it can be.

Again, thank you for your time and staying with us.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valparaiso, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel over a week ago. I waited to review until I had cooled down enough to write a concise and rational review. Our room was filthy. I always carry cleaning towelettes with me, and it took me an hour to do the room to the point I was willing to touch anything. We had a 'suite' (means it has a wet bar and micro) which had a dirty sink, urine spots on the toilet seats, sticky rings on nearly every surface. My Chlorox towelettes were dark grey when I finished with each one, and I used most of a nearly new canister. I always take a sheet from home with me to cover the bedspread if needed, but this time I used it like a 'sleeping liner' ala youth hostel custom. The carpeting felt hideous the few seconds it took to change from sox to slippers.
Why did we stay, you may ask? It was a busy weekend, so I knew hotels would be booked. We had bad weather driving and checked in late at night, and simply were too exhausted to drive around so late, hoping for a better situation. Because it was so late, there was only one staff member around, and when I asked for another room the response was, basically, "huh?"
I normally leave a good tip for the housekeeping staff, but in this case the hotel owed *me* for cleaning services.
Additionally, this hotel is all by itself in one of the worst locations I have ever seen, and I travel a great deal. There is some sort of refinery/factory across the road, and a XXX girls/girls/girls club down a block next to one of those 'short nap' motels.
The entire experience was just ugh.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank G R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiExpManager, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lebanon, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Thank you very much for your recent stay with us. We are deeply sorry we fell below your expectations. Our hotel is proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. We do regret that this information was not given to us sooner in hopes that correcting these issuses would have improved your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
114 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

We truly enjoyed our stay at the Holiday Inn. When we entered the lobby is had a fresh clean smell. The hotel hostess was very friendly and check in was very smooth. Our king suite was very clean and comfortable. We will definitely stay again when we are in town.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank asmith832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Haven, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Stayed at this hotel over a long weekend. It was clean and comfortable, great free morning breakfast. My husband and I each received a goody bag with bottled water, sun chips and a granola bar at check-in. Bathroom was beautiful, microwave and fridge in room as promised, all sparkling. Front desk staff friendly and helpful. Lovely German woman in the breakfast area kept everything well stocked, fresh and hot. She was also very friendly. I would go back to this hotel in a flash! Exceeded all of my expectations.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linda m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiExpManager, front desk agent at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lebanon, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your weekend stay. We are more than happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay. It delights us to have a wonderful staff to serve you with.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lebanon
9.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Manheim
Hampton Inn Manheim
#4 of 7 in Manheim
637 reviews
9.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Manheim - Lebanon
3.9 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Myerstown - Lebanon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.0 mi away
Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center
9.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites - Lebanon Valley
10.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Lebanon Valley/Ft. Indiantown Gap
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lebanon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lebanon

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lebanon
Address: 2205 E Cumberland St, Lebanon, PA 17042-9201
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lebanon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Lebanon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lebanon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lebanon is perfect for both business and leisure travelers with easy access to the Pennsylvania Turnpike (I-76) and Interstate 81. The hotel is also conveniently located just a short distance from Harrisburg, Hershey, Lancaster, and Reading Pennsylvania. Business is easy to do at major corporations such as Bayer, Quill, Valspar, and Seaboard. Plan a family fun day nearby in charming Lancaster 'the heart of Pennsylvania Dutch Country', visit the State Capital in Harrisburg, shop at the Outlet Malls in Reading, or make a sweet ending by visiting Hershey Park. The Holiday Inn Express Lebanon is also close to the Hershey Chocolate Factory, GIANT Center Sports Complex, PA Farm Show and the hugely popular Manheim Auto Auction. Complete your day with all the comforts of this beautifully appointed hotel. Swim in the pool, work out in the fitness center, or surf the Internet with free wireless access. All our guest rooms are fully equipped with plenty of work space to spread out and make your trip a success. Every day starts out complimentary with the Express Start Breakfast Bar. We look forward to you experiencing a warm welcome at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lebanon. See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lebanon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Lebanon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing