We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I have paid far less for far more amenities.”
Review of Mooney's Motel

Mooney's Motel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lehighton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mooney's Motel
Ranked #2 of 3 Lehighton B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I have paid far less for far more amenities.”
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

The cost was $73 plus tax not the less than $50 you have seen on other reviews. The price hike may be from the construction workers staying in the area.

There was a cockroach, 2 stink bugs and numerous big ants in the room. The third bed had dirty sheets with lots of hair on the pillow. The only amenities: there was an ice machine in the office and a small fridge in the room. The best thing going for the motel is that it appears to be locally owned. Old and worn out. Never again! I have paid less for more at a Days Inn. Splurge a little and stay in a bed and breakfast.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MechbgPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    5
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
2
5
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Old,dingy,weird location, with very thin walls. Waited 15 minutes in the lobby for some one to check me in and he was a strange man. The room was straight out of the 70's with an old dingy feel. It wasnt dirty but it felt that way. Won't stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SmilinRon9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lehighton hotels

1 review
Reviewed 24 October 2012

moldy showers, dirty floors, wrong reservations, DIRTY DIRTY DIRTY- cheap, you get EXACTLY what you pay for..gross. I have never been more disappointed. They shut down the office so you can't ask for anything you may need & the phone didn't even work!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erockstyzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
561 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 437 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

This is my second review of this motel with my last review from about a year ago. My wife and I stayed at this motel again this year during our annual trip to Lehighton. The rate was the same as last year at $49.50 per night. I did find out that the rate is the same all year long, so this may be a great option for skiers. The TV didn't work that well and needed to be replaced (I forgot to mention to the owner). There is a refrigerator, but no microwave. This year, the towels were pretty worn and really needed to be replaced. Overall, the place is clean and an economical option versus Hampton Inn and Country Suites(both well over $100 a night). The value for the dollar is greater than that at Mahoning Inn, plus Mooney's is much cleaner. We will return again next year when we are in Lehighton.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlphaRam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

A little hard to find but worth looking for... Clean and cute with real wood! and a comfy bed. Very accommodating. family run motel

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank shannonmcsurely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
561 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 437 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

My wife and I stayed at this motel after having such an awful experience at Mahoning Inn last year. The motel is family-run by Mr. Sikorsky, a kindly gentleman that will help anywhere he can. We paid $49 a night, though the price may be higher during ski season. The motel is an older property, with some ornate wallpaper in our room, but maintained well. The wireless internet worked better here for us than at any of the other 5 hotels we stayed on our cross-country vacation. One drawback is that the maid leaves by 11 AM, so if you sleep late, your room will not be serviced. Still, the rooms are cleaned well so a day of missed maid service isn't a problem unless you are a pig. You can park in front of your room and there is no fear of anything happening to your vehicle. We plan to return again next year when we are in Lehighton.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that isn't arallel with Route 248.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank AlphaRam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lehighton
0.8 mi away
Mahoning Inn
Mahoning Inn
#3 of 3 in Lehighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Lehighton (Jim Thorpe Area)
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lehighton (Jim Thorpe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Inn at Jim Thorpe
Inn at Jim Thorpe
#1 of 1 in Jim Thorpe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
17.0 mi away
Country Place Inn & Suites
Country Place Inn & Suites
#3 of 6 in White Haven
3.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
10.2 mi away
The Lodge at Woodstone Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mooney's Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mooney's Motel

Property: Mooney's Motel
Address: 350 State Rd, Lehighton, PA 18235-2829
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Lehighton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lehighton
Number of rooms: 30

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing