We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT TO BE UNDERESTIMATED”
Review of Mahoning Inn

Mahoning Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mahoning Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Lehighton
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“NOT TO BE UNDERESTIMATED”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

The Mahoning Inn has an extremely courteous staff, very clean rooms and property. Bill had everything ready for my arrival and continued with the attention to detail throughout my stay which lasted several weeks on business. I am a frequent business traveler and typically stay at the large chain hotels. These were also available in the same town but I am extremely happy I chose the Mahoning Inn and experienced nothing but excellence from the time I checked in until my last day checking out. I will stay here every time I am in the area.

Thanks for having such great accommodations, staff and making my travel experience pleasurable.

Chris

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chriscostner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    9
    14
    2
    6
See reviews for
10
17
7
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coaldale, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Rich & I, Stayed in several rooms at the Inn several times. Bill the Manager is helpful and Kind the way a Manager should be. Bill has and Outstanding staff as well the rooms are very clean and Modern. They have new TV's Free WIFI HBO and A Nice Continental Breakfast in the Morning. My Boyfriend and I would Recommend staying at the Mahoning Inn to Anyone!!! Take our word for it and Come stay at The Mahoning Inn in Lehighton, PA !!!

Room Tip: All the Rooms are Spacious Trust us we stayed in a lot of them!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rchard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, IL
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

The inn is not quite retro but it certainly has not changed a great deal since it was built. That said, we were comfortable and pleasantly surprised by our stay.. The room was very clean. Much cleaner than most any chain closer to the tollway. The bed was new, the tv was new, and a big leather recliner was new. We found the motel quiet but just off of a fairly busy road. The desk staff was very friendly and knowledgeable about the area. A good restaurant is a couple of doors down the street. This place will help you remember to give a "mom and pop" motel a second look as you travel.

Room Tip: Rooms on side of the motel will be quieter. Plenty of room to park a boat or trailer. Skip the "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JimHoopeston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherry Hill
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

This is a 1960's style motel that doesn't compare to the newer, moderately priced chains. I stayed here on a Friday night with my two sons since we were going fishing in the area the next morning. In attempting to enter the room, the door was difficult to open since it was binding with the door jamb, probably due to summer expansion.. The room was clean, and the bedding appeared to to fairly new and was comfortable, and the TV was a nice sized flat screen. We did get a good night's sleep The bathroom fixtures were straight from the 1960's and no matter how hard you scrub the shower tile, the grout always shows some signs of mold. The water pressure in the shower was good but the towels were thin and no shampoo was provided.. The furniture in the room was also fairly vintage. My wife would not have stayed here with me, but the boys and I obviously.did. Breakfast was juice, coffee, toast, cereals, and some boxed donuts served in the room where we had checked in. No comparison to the nice, bright sitting areas in most of the chains, that also have more food choices. There are a number of road signs in the area advertising this motel with prices of $40+. I can tell you we paid over twice that, and therefore the next time I'm in the area I would pay a little more and stay at the Hampton or comparable.

Room Tip: We were in room #21. It was in the rear of the motel away from the traffic out front on the highway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anvil2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

What a nice place to stay. So relieved to find a place to return to everytime we visit upstate pa. Clean, quiet, comfortable, friendly and affordable! The staff went above and beyond the norm to make us feel welcome! Thank you!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HD S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2013

I recently spent a great week here. Everyone was very helpful from getting me a shower chair & extra towels, to cleaning up my room every day, providing me with fresh towels and emptying the trash, and other things needed. I had a refrigerator & microwave, tv and internet connection free. Parking was just outside my room. All this and the price was right. I could go on and on. I can't forget to mention how close it is to major attractions in the poconos. With great restaurants, fast food, and just about everything you need at your fingertips. Try it you will like it. I forgot to mention they have remodeled making it even better. Hope you all have a great vacation.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back give you an excellent mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 784Ruth784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boonsboro, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Now this is what you expect a Mom & Pop hotel should be like. Nothing too fancy and typical serviceable towels and soaps. Very friendly owner and willing for us to inspect the rooms, even though we had reservations. Bathrooms were remodeled and the mattresses were practically brand new. Very clean and obviously scrupulously maintained. In all very impressed. Additionally the motel is centrally located, close to many shopping and eating locations and just a short drive to Jim Thorpe. They even let us leave a day early, although we had reserved for 2 nights because we had made the mistake of planing to visit the sites in Jim Thorpe before Memorial Day and arriving during a week day. Most of the fun stuff is only open during the weekend before the summer season starts. No fault of the motel and shows just how accommodating they were. Definitely would recommend.

Room Tip: The rooms in the back of the hotel face a mountain and it is very relaxing to sit outside with a col...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schnauzersdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lehighton
2.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lehighton (Jim Thorpe
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Lehighton (Jim Thorpe Area)
3.2 mi away
Inn at Jim Thorpe
Inn at Jim Thorpe
#1 of 1 in Jim Thorpe
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Comfort Inn-Pocono Mountain
Comfort Inn-Pocono Mountain
#2 of 6 in White Haven
171 reviews
16.9 mi away
Country Place Inn & Suites
Country Place Inn & Suites
#3 of 6 in White Haven
35 reviews
20.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Hazleton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mahoning Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahoning Inn

Property: Mahoning Inn
Address: 71 Blakeslee Blvd, Lehighton, PA 18235
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Lehighton
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Lehighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mahoning Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mahoning Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mahoning Hotel Lehighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing