We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worse than I feared!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge Philadelphia Airport
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lester
Reviewed 11 August 2006

I had my doubts about an economy airport hotel and this one was worse than I could imagine. The first room we were given had never been made up from the last guests. The room we settled on had DIRTY carpet and bedding, and the "nonsmoking" room had the smell of cigaretts and an ashtray. We only stayed because it was almost midnight and we were travelng with 2 small, grumpy kids. Stay anywhere but here!!!!!

Thank Patio123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2006

This is a perfect example of Econo Lodge. Helpful staff. Clean rooms. Good rates. Exactly what one might expect from this chain. Easy freeway access and convenient location for the airport or the ballpark.

Special mention to the front desk staff for directing us to all the necessary places we required in the area and lightning fast check-in.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Weedspay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2006

Stayed here for one night. I arrived very late and used one of the coupons you find at the service areas. The room was OK, fairly clean, the tub could have used a good scrubbing and there was some toothpaste or shaving cream residue on the floor. A plus is free long distance calls, but they will charge $1.00 for everyone for "phone access", so take advantage of that. They also have a free continental breakfast which I did not use and a computer to check your e-mail or search the web. I wouldn't call this a bad hotel like the other reviews stated unless they got there act together recently.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NY11373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2005

I have to agree with the previous reviewers.

Due to the Army-Navy football game in Philadelphia on December 3, this was one of the few places with a vacancy for that night. We were in town to attend a concert at the Wachovia Center the same night. In retrospect, it would have been worth it to pay double at one of the other few hotels that had a vacancy for the night.

The price was decent, but once again, it shows "You get what you pay for". The bathroom floor seemed dirty. When taking a shower, I stood on a towel, so I would not have to stand in the shower. My wife and slept in our socks because we did not want to walk across the floor or carpet in our bare feet. We did not try the complementary breakfast in the morning, but it consisted only of cereal, toast, or a bagel.

The bed was comfortable. The motel is located right along Route 291, which runs to the airport. It was very difficult to sleep, as our room directly faced the highway, and the highway noise was constant all night long. We had to turn the heat up to its highest level so the fan would drown out the outside noise.

There are much better places to stay near the airport.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikekauffman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2005

The hotel is close to the airport, this ends any merit. Unhelpful staff, grotty rooms, holes in doors and a self-service breakfast area that gets a tidy up once a month whether it needs it or not.

We arrived late at night, and, when eventually dealt with, were given a room and after attempting to get in several times were scared away by its existing occupants. After again bothering reception we were given an unoccupied room.

The staff in the adjoining resturant could have been more helpful, they just didn't care to be.

The breakfast area, which doubles as reception, had obviously been visited by a large group from St. Trinians sometime in the previous month.

Avoid the Quality of this hotel if at all possible.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank k4jcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Stockton, Calif
25
Reviewed 20 December 2004

I flew into Philadelphia late at night and wanted lodging convenient to the airport. Upon my arrival at the Econo Lodge, it looked like a downtrodden property that had seen better days. Hotel clerk was unfriendly. When I got to the room after stumbling over construction trash, I was flabbergasted! The room had filthy carpet and bedspread with nasty stains everwhere. Dresser was full of dust and apparently had not been cleaned in months. Noisy construction workers started working early in the morning and left their supplies in my doorway. Restaurant was mediocre, but no other place to eat in walking distance. When I returned home, I wrote a complaint letter to Customer Service who were very apologetic to my plight. Also, Customer Service will file a complaint directly with this property, because they never responded to my complaints, as they were directed to. My advice to anyone to quickly run in the opposite direction of this shabby property.

  • Stayed: October 2004, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2004

To say that this hotel is disgusting is an understatement. The hotel is under major construction and they put us in a room that is under refurbishment--I mean, in the middle of construction. Plaster on the floor, stairwell is inaccessible since there was drywall on it. I'm sure this place is in violation of some major fire codes. The TV didn't work. The air conditioning unit was dismanteled from the wall--we could see the sidewalk outside from the opening between the dismanteled unit and the wall. I disagree with the above posted message--the front desk staff was the worst I've ever encountered. This place is the trashiest dive I've ever seen. We walked into the room, checked out immediately, and then went to another hotel. Do yourself a favor--don't stay here at any price. I heard from a local that they are in the process of changing it from an Econolodge to a Quality Inn. Beware!

1  Thank InternationalTrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lester
0.6 mi away
Airport Waterfront Inn
Airport Waterfront Inn
#6 of 7 in Essington
169 reviews
0.6 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Philadelphia Airport
2.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - Philadelphia - Airport - Tinicum Blvd.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Philadelphia Airport
1.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Philadelphia Airport Ridley
3 mi away
Hampton Inn Philadelphia-International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Philadelphia Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Philadelphia Airport

Address: 600 S Governor Printz Blvd, Lester, PA 19029-1718
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lester
Price Range: £43 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Philadelphia Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Econo Lodge Philadelphia Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Philadelphia Airport Hotel Lester
Econo Lodge Lester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing