We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Lewisburg Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$98
Country Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites Lewisburg(Lewisburg)(Great Value!)
US$119
US$108
ComfortSuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Country Cupboard Inn(Lewisburg)(Great Value!)
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$169
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
All Suites Inn Budget Host(Lewisburg)(Great Value!)
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$70
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(New Columbia)
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (62)
Filter reviews
62 results
Traveller rating
6
12
11
14
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
6
12
11
14
19
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 62 reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2013

We stayed in the motel section as opposed to the more expensive hotel. It was ok, but didn't match the price. The towels were frayed and the heat kept cycling on and off. The included breakfast was served in the bar and consisted of coffee, orange juice and a couple of muffins. Also, the court yard of the motel was where the smokers went. It wasn't a problem for us in Jan. but I can see how the noise level could go up in the summer months. All in all, stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frogcarguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We recently had a wedding reception in the Lewisburg Hotel's banquet room. The hotel is very impressive if you're looking for a historic location to hold a formal reception. However, I'm not sure that it's worth the trouble of dealing with the management issues. The lady in charge of the banquet was completely unprofessional and we felt there were many corners cut in order to increase their profits. Considering we paid in excess of $13k for food and alcohol alone, we felt that we were treated very poorly. Not to mention our guests booked all 22 of the hotel rooms and we had our rehearsal dinner at their sister restaurant in nearby Watsontown (Watson Inn).

Here are a few examples:
1. We had an all inclusive bar which was paid ahead of time for five hours. After four hours, she told the bar to close for the night (I'm assuming because she was worried about how much alcohol she was going through). When we asked her why, she immediately became defensive and unwilling to resolve the issue. It was only when we contacted her boss at home that he told her to open the bar back up. During the 30-45 minute downtime while we were discussing the issue, our guests were forced to walk downstairs to the restaurant bar and pay for their own drinks.
2. Half way through the night, her bartender began serving our guests with plastic cups. When questioned, they said they didn't have enough people on staff to wash dishes. We also thought that it took a very long time for our food to be served (probably due to understaffing as well).
3. There was only one bartender on staff most of the night (for over 200 guests). This dramatically slowed down how fast drinks could be served and we had a line out the door almost the entire night. Again, we felt this was another attempt to minimize costs by delaying the consumption of alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks.
4. We paid over $700 dollars gratuity for the alcohol beforehand so that our guests could enjoy a night of fun without worrying about any costs. When I went to get a drink, I noticed that the hotel had placed a tip jar on the bar top which had quite a bit of money in it (as if the $700+ for one bartender wasn't enough).

It has now been a few weeks since our wedding and I delayed writing this review in hopes that the banquet manager would call me for a follow up to apologize or at least seek our feedback to improve the experience for future clients. That has not happened. Being local to the area, I find it very disappointing to be writing this type of a review about an iconic local business. I'm at the age were many of my friends are getting married and I find it nearly impossible to recommend the Lewisburg Hotel because of these issues. For the community's sake, I hope our experience was an isolated incident or that improvements are made to preserve the hotel's wonderful reputation.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
4  Thank JS9812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

This place needs a major overhaul. We stopped for lunch on a Friday and the place was absolutely dead. There was one barfly at the bar, other than that there was noone. There are better places in Lewisburg to eat with a lot better atmosphere and service. The food is simply average and a bit overpriced. Go to the Towne Tavern down the street. Not as bad as the Bull Run Inn but that's not saying much.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Charlezingalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We stay at the Lewisburg Hotel every year during the PIAA Swimming & Diving championships. Lewisburg is a quaint, historic town and the hotel is located right on the main street. You can have a nice walk up and down the street looking into all the nice shops. The hotel its self consists of a main building (the historic building with charm) and the attached motel. Even though it's a bit run down, the rooms are functional and housekeeping does a good job. To get wifi you have to take your laptop into the main building and sit in the restaurant or bar to get a signal. There are convenient power outlets right there. What makes this place worth it is the quality service. The staff, especially Carla, is very friendly and bend over backwards to take care of the guests.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms.....just rooms. If you're looking to spend a lot of non-sleeping time in your room then this hotel is not for you.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PacerJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

The front desk doubles as the hostess station for the restaurant and check-in. I arrived at dinner time and had to wait some time. The elevator was decorated as a room which added to its old-fashioned decor. The suite was a real disappointment. Although it had good space there were a lot of shortcomings. The door was lightweight and didn't come close to fitting the door frame. A lot of light could be seen from the hall. The door knob was flimsy and loose. The security chain was broken. The carpets were stained. The sheets were old, but the bed was comfortable. The toilet seat was pitted. The internet connection was intermittent and slow, at best. I was forced to go somewhere else to do anything on-line. At least the bar was clean, well decorated, but small. It had a nice selection.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews