We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location Great! Bed Bad!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lewisburg Hotel

The Lewisburg Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lewisburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Lewisburg Hotel
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Lewisburg
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Location Great! Bed Bad!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

Hotel's exterior, lobby and restaurant areas are charming and reflective the quaintness of this lovely downtown. Perfect location for visiting the Bucknell campus, local shops, and restaurants. However, the accommodations are not just dated, but uncomfortable. Thermostat did not work. I opened the window a crack in 28 degree weather to get comfortable. One of the two queen beds was so uncomfortable we had to double up on the other. Back and hip pain within an hour of lying down. Vintage TV, broken lampshades, torn sheets, and no ice machine. Longest, sleepless night I have ever spent in a hotel. But I loved the town of Lewisburg!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    9
    10
    11
    17
See reviews for
16
11
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

I couldn't agree more with the things other reviewers have said. The hotel looks great from the outside but the rooms in the annex are terrible - think cheap motel. We checked in and immediately demanded a refund so that we could go to the local Hampton Inn. The beds are awful, the bedding is worn, and there are no clocks or coffee pots in the room. There is no way to control the temperature in the room and the phone in my room was broken. They say that they have free wifi, but to connect we had to go out on the porch. It's too bad, because the hotel has great potential - it's a beautiful building in a great location near shops and restaurants. The rooms are in desperate need of a complete overhaul

Room Tip: Don't stay in the annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adb123123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

I've stayed here several times when I'm in town for work. I love the location--right downtown within walking distance of shops and restaurants. The hotel is old--and is very dated in it's furnishings. But, I think that's really the intent. The restaurant is good too. The location is what keeps me coming back.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Turk_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

We started in the motel section. The room is of a period as advertised, but the furnishings were not. It was not a playful, retro look. The shower was original, but the sliding doors looked original too, along with all the grime that goes with that. But none of that was as disappointing as the fact that we could not get wireless service. This was very important to us and we had specifically asked about it before making the reservation. I was first told to stand out on the balcony and get the signal and then "carry" it into the room. That didn't work. We tried a couple of other rooms there to see if there was a room with better reception, but it was the same everywhere. They offered us to sit in the lobby to use the internet there. We had to take a conference call, so then they offered us to take the call in the empty dining room on the second floor. (We went over to the university and used the guest wifi there) We picked up the wifi signal from the law firm next door without a problem, but couldn't get the hotel wifi. The next morning, we asked again, and we were told that one of the systems had been out but was back on now. We still didn't get a signal. They then offered us a room in the main hotel. We moved into a room in the main hotel. We were expecting it to look as fine as the exterior of the building. It wasn't. Of the four table lamps in the LR and BR of the room, only one had a working light bulb. There were glaring overhead light fixtures, an old TV, a closet space that had a platform and a bunch of pillows and linens in it, along with an open ironing board, and a few wire hangers. There was a complimentary size bottle of conditioning shampoo, and a small bar of soap. The towels were low quality as were the linens. The furniture was threadbare. Very disappointing, but very glad we didn't pay the hotel price for this. Management seems unconcerned about guests' issues. Maybe they've heard them too many times and are immune, but there was no sense of urgency in resolving our wifi. We didn't bother with the light bulbs, but did tell them about it at check out and that got a shrug.

Room Tip: go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lastvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denison, Texas
Level Contributor
143 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

We stayed in the motel section as opposed to the more expensive hotel. It was ok, but didn't match the price. The towels were frayed and the heat kept cycling on and off. The included breakfast was served in the bar and consisted of coffee, orange juice and a couple of muffins. Also, the court yard of the motel was where the smokers went. It wasn't a problem for us in Jan. but I can see how the noise level could go up in the summer months. All in all, stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frogcarguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

We recently had a wedding reception in the Lewisburg Hotel's banquet room. The hotel is very impressive if you're looking for a historic location to hold a formal reception. However, I'm not sure that it's worth the trouble of dealing with the management issues. The lady in charge of the banquet was completely unprofessional and we felt there were many corners cut in order to increase their profits. Considering we paid in excess of $13k for food and alcohol alone, we felt that we were treated very poorly. Not to mention our guests booked all 22 of the hotel rooms and we had our rehearsal dinner at their sister restaurant in nearby Watsontown (Watson Inn).

Here are a few examples:
1. We had an all inclusive bar which was paid ahead of time for five hours. After four hours, she told the bar to close for the night (I'm assuming because she was worried about how much alcohol she was going through). When we asked her why, she immediately became defensive and unwilling to resolve the issue. It was only when we contacted her boss at home that he told her to open the bar back up. During the 30-45 minute downtime while we were discussing the issue, our guests were forced to walk downstairs to the restaurant bar and pay for their own drinks.
2. Half way through the night, her bartender began serving our guests with plastic cups. When questioned, they said they didn't have enough people on staff to wash dishes. We also thought that it took a very long time for our food to be served (probably due to understaffing as well).
3. There was only one bartender on staff most of the night (for over 200 guests). This dramatically slowed down how fast drinks could be served and we had a line out the door almost the entire night. Again, we felt this was another attempt to minimize costs by delaying the consumption of alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks.
4. We paid over $700 dollars gratuity for the alcohol beforehand so that our guests could enjoy a night of fun without worrying about any costs. When I went to get a drink, I noticed that the hotel had placed a tip jar on the bar top which had quite a bit of money in it (as if the $700+ for one bartender wasn't enough).

It has now been a few weeks since our wedding and I delayed writing this review in hopes that the banquet manager would call me for a follow up to apologize or at least seek our feedback to improve the experience for future clients. That has not happened. Being local to the area, I find it very disappointing to be writing this type of a review about an iconic local business. I'm at the age were many of my friends are getting married and I find it nearly impossible to recommend the Lewisburg Hotel because of these issues. For the community's sake, I hope our experience was an isolated incident or that improvements are made to preserve the hotel's wonderful reputation.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank JS9812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunbury, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
122 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012 via mobile

This place needs a major overhaul. We stopped for lunch on a Friday and the place was absolutely dead. There was one barfly at the bar, other than that there was noone. There are better places in Lewisburg to eat with a lot better atmosphere and service. The food is simply average and a bit overpriced. Go to the Towne Tavern down the street. Not as bad as the Bull Run Inn but that's not saying much.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Charlezingalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewisburg
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Country Cupboard Inn
1.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lewisburg
1.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Lewisburg
Comfort Suites Lewisburg
#4 of 8 in Lewisburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
#3 of 8 in Lewisburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lewisburg/New Columbia
5.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 2 in New Columbia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lewisburg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lewisburg Hotel

Property: The Lewisburg Hotel
Address: 136 Market Street, Lewisburg, PA 17837-1542
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lewisburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Lewisburg
Number of rooms: 22

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing