We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back to Hungarian Food”
Review of Darlington Inn

Darlington Inn
Ranked #12 of 39 Restaurants in Ligonier
Cuisines: Hungarian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
140 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Back to Hungarian Food”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Once a year we all meet at the Darlington Inn for our friends birthday It is tucked away, but it is easy to find. The food seemed to be exceptional this time. The dumplings, chicken paprikash, and halushki were exceptional. We will definetely go back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    18
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ligonier, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Authenic Hungarian cuisine!”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

The Darlington Inn is a unique find in the country alongside a creek. The food is bountiful rustic Hungarian--everything is home made. It is casual dining with a friendly atmosphere--a perfect spot for a family get-together. If you get lucky, Elizabeth will sell you a bag of her famous drop noodles. This is a must stop with guests because it is out of the ordinary.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BL H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleetwood, PA
Level Contributor
115 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“best thing was the bread”
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Fantastic bread, but watery-tasting (not rich or flavorful) Hungarian goulash; I had chicken crepes- which were OK, but again, not very flavorful. They were out of the Transylvanian goulash; nice wait staff, but not impressed with the main courses. The kremes dessert, which was absolutely delicious.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zoldiegoldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Authentic Hungarian Food in the Laurel Highlands”
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

This was our first visit to Darlington Inn, and definitely not the last!

We went on a Saturday night, which is their buffet night and only $13 per person! We started with delicious homemade warm bread and soup served at the table. We then helped ourselves to a bountiful selection of traditional foods such as paprika chicken, liver and onions, pierogies, cabbage and noodles, spatzel, cabbage rolls, potato salad, polenta with cheese, goulash, stuffed pork rolls and much much more! The kremish desserts were SO delicious and we decided to order one for Christmas. The cheese and raisin crepes were also delicious. We cannot say enough about the delicious comfort food!

There was a live accordion player that really added to the overall atmosphere. The restaurant is very quaint and rustic. Our party agreed that is one of those places that should be featured on The Food Network. Everyone was so friendly, especially the owner who came to our table and spoke with us.

We had such an enjoyable and unique dining experience. We are already looking forward to returning with some friends!

The restaurant is CASH ONLY, however there is an ATM inside.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeSarahPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morganton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dining at the Darlington for years”
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

We have been eating delicious Hungarian cuisine shortly after the Inn opened. The service is good, the food is always tasty and Elizabeth's desserts are absolutely the best. We recently took a group of friends from Philly who really enjoyed the buffet. The food really reminds me of my Hungarian grandmother's cooking.

Helpful?
Thank Boodlemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Darlington Inn also viewed

 

Been to Darlington Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing