We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but al la carte menu can end up being pricey” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Road Toad

The Road Toad
Ranked #4 of 39 Restaurants in Ligonier
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Groups, Child-friendly, Romantic, View, Business meetings, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Milton, Delaware
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good but al la carte menu can end up being pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We have eaten at this restaurant several times with the first time being shortly after they went to an al la carte menu a few years ago. In summary this is a very good restaurant with quality food, pleasant atmosphere and a friendly wait staff. The only major concerns I do have is with the cost of the side dishes ($3 or $4) given the size of the portion you receive and the overall pricing. When you add a salad, wine or mixed drink, coffee and dessert you can easily end up with a tab for two approaching the $80 - $85 range.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Don34039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    14
    15
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
59 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Terrible keep driving”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Lived in the area for 30 years and finally went here. Terrible mistake. To add a pea sized baked potato to my steak was 4 dollars. Place is small and dingey. Was not impressed

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dudusdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
70 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

After driving by this restaurant for ten years, we finally decided to give it a try based on a glowing recommendation by one of my husband's coworkers. Our visit started off well. We were warmly greeted and shown to a table. The decor is really charming, and it is situated next to a pretty creek. We started off the meal with an order of crab spread which was very good. That's where we should have stopped. I ordered the scallops and my husband the ahi tuna (specifically requested rare). Both were cooked to oblivion. The scallops were practically inedible. The only saving grace to either plate was the accompanying Thai chile sauce that came with both entrees. It was delicious, but couldn't make up for overcooked, rubbery seafood.

Out sixteen year old son (the carnivore of the family) didn't finish his steak. I haven't seen that happen in, well it's been so long, I can't remember! The boy loves steak, but couldn't finish this one. He also had no desire to take have the remains boxed up to take home.

It's a shame, really. They have a nice menu with lots of options, but the execution was completely off. The restaurant is on the pricey side, but had the food been prepared properly I would have said it was worth it for the type of food they offer. Unfortunately, that's not the case. We won't be back.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank JKfromPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarksburg pa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AWESOME!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

This is a great place for atmosphere, food, and great staff!! Awesome waitress Patty and awesome host Ron! They made us feel great!! Beautiful location!great food esp the dill drsg! Very clean!!

Helpful?
Thank Piee4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Level Contributor
158 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Wonderful local restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

We happened across 'The Road Toad' and thought we should check it out. In addition to being in. Very nice setting next to their creek, the food was really terrific. We will return for sure if we get back to this area.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Road Toad also viewed

 

Been to The Road Toad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing