We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Mixed Bag”
Review of General Sutter Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lititz
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
General Sutter Inn
Ranked #5 of 10 Lititz B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Not great, not terrible. Went to Lititz to take in the Fire and Ice Festival and stayed one night at the General Sutter in Room 210. This an interesting place. Yes, in need of renovation and updating but for the price, a decent value. But, if you are interested in rest, think twice. There is a "pub" located on the property and it was packed on Friday night and very, very loud. We had the misfortune of staying on the 2nd floor right above the pub and the noise was unreasonable until at least midnight. Then, it started all over again at 8 AM when the pub opened for breakfast and was packed and loud again. DO NOT STAY IN ROOM 210 or any other room above the pub. In addition, the walls and doors etc. are thin and the hallway noise was very annoying. So, bottom line, if you are looking for a restful night stay somewhere else.

Our room was cozy and the bed was wonderful but the room does need an update. Peeling paint and wallpaper, drafty windows, poor heating but clean and quaint.

We had dinner in the restaurant on the property on Valentines Day as well. The menu was very limited, very expensive (as were the craft beers which they seem to be very proud of) but the meal was good and the service was excellent. Would probably eat somewhere else if we were to return to the area.

They offered a "continental breakfast" for guests in the morning. Basically all starch and carbs that made Hampton Inn or Holiday Inn Express seem gourmet! Clearly they want to drive you into the pub for the overpriced "English Breakfast". We passed on both.

So, would we stay there again? Most likely not. Were we disappointed? Not really because based on some other reviews we had seen, our expectations were not really that high. Would we eat in the restaurant again? No, way overpriced for the area and the selection was poor. Would I recommend this place to a friend? No, not in its current condition. So there you have it, a mixed bag.

Room Tip: Stay away from Room 210 or any other room above the pub. Be sure to ask the EXACT location of the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beefdoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2014

Today I had a baby shower for my twin sister and it was great. The food and the staff were excellent. Jeff Merk who deals with the banquets is also one of the best I have worked with, he also served the function as well. I have nothing but positive things to say about the facility. Looking forward to going back for dinner. Awesome place ! Kudos to Jeff and the servers!

Room Tip: Cannot rate the sleep rooms, only the banquet rooms. The ballroom was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abby W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Don't know about the other rooms, but our experience was that our room (a corner on 2nd floor) was very nicely restored yet kept the charm of the old inn, and was very roomy for an old building. Nice common areas, lobby and "library." Amenities high quality, not a ton (eg. no Kleenex box? no fridge or microwave) but did have a Keurig, very nice. Outlets not up-to-date and Internet iffy. But the place has charm galore, front desk staff friendly, altho need a bit more customer service attitude (instead of just "oh I don't know anything about the Internet connection"-- well, find out?). Great downtown location, Lititz IS a great small town, walk the streets, it's close to the park and the Wilbur chocolate factory. Eat at the Inn (see separate reviews of that); the attached pub was hopping all the time. Good value.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CatLoverColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

Fantastic staff !! The Inn was quaint, and charming without sacrificing amenities. However there is another side to this historic inn, the Rock Lititz Penthouse. This third floor, is anything but quaint and charming. It's brand new and super modern. There are only a few rooms on this floor along with a kitchen and tv lounge. It's an unexpected surprise .

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank lovevacation28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

The inn was charming although keep your expectations in check as this is not a 4 star hotel and definitely antiquated. However the rooms were clean and bed was comfortable. The customer service at the front desk, pub, and restaurant was excellent and we enjoyed the food. If you want to appreciate the old fashioned charm, make sure you don't ask to stay on the 2nd floor. The decor was very odd and quite different from our experience on the 2nd floor. We would definitely go back as we enjoyed this little inn and had a very nice time in lovely Lititz.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CMO2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

I read a lot of reviews about it needing updates and not being clean. Both are true, BUT, this is a very old Inn and the history is amazing! This is not meant to be a 5 star modern hotel. I, too was a bit distracted by the lack of cleanliness, but after reading the Inn's history, I was amazed that is as well kept as it is. It is in a wonderful location, great for walking around town. Our room was a king suite, which had a living area with a couch. The rooms and furnishings are old fashioned an that was fine with me. It's true to it's historical background. The shower was basic and kind of industrial, due to the era of installation, I assume, but the water was hot and the pressure was good.
The door to our suite actually had a key, not a plastic card. The doors do not slam shut like a vault as new hotels and had light showing from underneath, so those of you that can't sleep without multiple locks may not appreciate this feature.
The floors creak when you walk, which I love. The walls are thin and you can hear people in the hallways, but it was not loud and it did not keep us awake. The bed was so soft & comfortable!
I loved coming down the creaky stairs into the lobby in the morning to a cozy fire in the lobby fireplace. It feels like home.
Our room had windows, which we opened to enjoy the fall air. It was nice.
We were traveling with pets, which are welcome. There is not an area close by that is really suitable for pet use, but we only stayed one night and were grateful to stay here since historic Inn's usually do not accommodate animals.
It is a very interesting Inn and well worth staying to experience a little bit of the past.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bossyEastTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

I went to a cask ale beer festival here which was well run and a lot of fun. The Inn is classic but down on its heel. The carpet in restaurant needs removed and a wood floor put in or revealed. The bed rooms are a hoot. Very old fashion with wallpaper decoration out of the 50's and probably put up in the '50's. The room was incredibly hot fortunately the window did open to cool down. The bath tub had a big ugly rust spot. The toilet was more for a child than an adult. The room comes with a 'continental breakfast'. Road house coffee, a toaster oven that burns your fingers when you remove your english muffin or bagel. In 25 minutes I did not see a single staff member refresh anything so next second glass of juice for me. On the Saturday morning I had a $10 English breakfast which was really good. Real bacon, real sausage and even black pudding which was excellent. This was served in the attached pub, The Bull's Head. The pub section is like a real English pub not one of these faux English/Irish pub. They served two real beers ( cask conditioned ) which were excellent and a selection of micro keg beers. The owner is from England so I congratulate him on this part of the Inn. The restaurant food was good, although they need Coleman's mustard to serve with the good scotch egg, not Worcestershire sauce...yuck! The pork pie is not made on premises, but still appreciated and was served correctly with Branston Pickle. The fish and chips was not nice, pollock instead of cod or haddock. The fries were fresh cut but not real chips which are fatter and cooked twice. The chef is not English. He did better with American foods on the menu. Another problem is there is no where to park. They have 6 slots in a private lot 2 minute walk from the hotel but these are always filled up and not reserved for residents. There is no unloading space for the hotel, the town council should be more accommodating. The best thing about the General Sutter was the staff, every one of them form Jenn in reception to my waiters were all excellent and not just going through the motions. I also love the fire in the reception area. The festival was fabulous, I will be back but will not stay at the Inn. This place was really busy and doing a good business, the locals seem to love it and I am sure it is going to get better. It needs a good refurbishment, room by room. It is OK to have stylish and comfortable furniture in a room and still keep the lovely features of an older place.

Room Tip: avoid room 200
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lititz
1.1 mi away
Lititz Inn & Suites
Lititz Inn & Suites
#2 of 2 in Lititz
72 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites/Lititz
6.1 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Swiss Woods
Swiss Woods
#2 of 10 in Lititz
159 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alden House Bed & Breakfast
2.9 mi away
Hammer Creek Hideaway Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to General Sutter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about General Sutter Inn

Address: 14 E Main St, Lititz, PA 17543-1900
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lititz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Lititz
Price Range: £38 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This comfortable inn is located across the street from the residence of California pioneer John Augustus Sutter, who fled here after losing everything in the Gold Rush. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
General Sutter Hotel Lititz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing