We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful getaway!”
Review of Swiss Woods

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Swiss Woods
Ranked #1 of 10 Lititz B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful getaway!”
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

This was our second stay at Swiss Woods and we will definitely make this a yearly experience! The whole property is welcoming and clean. The hosts are warm and friendly and are wonderful resources for things to do and see in the area. The rooms are comfortable, clean and welcoming. The outdoor patio areas are a wonderful place to enjoy Werner's gardening artistry. We stay at bed and breakfasts regularly and this is our #1 favorite. I cannot write about this Inn without talking about Debbie's genius in the kitchen. The breakfasts here are absolutely wonderful--using local, fresh products whenever possible. You can find many of the recipes on the eight broads website. If the baked oatmeal is not served while you are visiting, be sure to look it up and try it--it is a real favorite at our house. Thanks for another wonderful stay, Debie and Werner!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Leevilsnanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    10
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
103
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coplay, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Words can hardly describe the wonderful experience my husband and I had at Swiss Woods!
This B&B in the rolling hills of Pennsylvania, is a true touch of a European experience. The host and hostess, as well as the wonderful and caring staff, are true gems in the world of hospitality.
The place is spotless and well appointed. There are all sorts of literature in the Common area as well as the rooms that will touch the heart of every reader. The meals were scrumptious and prepared with love. The property is remarkable. There are lawns and gardens everywhere, including small lilly-pad ponds with beautiful fish. Each day we were there, the stress of life just melted away. I wish we could have stayed more than three nights. Thanks again to Werner and Debbie for our wonderful & relaxing stay at your Haven of Rest!

Room Tip: There are 4 rooms on the first floor which all lead out onto gardens and pathways to the lawns and g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Station, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Our second stay at this B&B, same room each time. Grounds are wonderful to wander, sit and observe nature or simply to enjoy the quietude. Breakfast is filling and quite tasty. Only drawbacks are the A/C is virtually nonexistent at night (we opened the windows) and the room was not freshened up (fresh towels, but the trash was not taken, nor was the bed made).

Room Tip: Four rooms on main floor each have an inside and outside entry. Two suites upstairs, if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWinnkeeper, Owner at Swiss Woods, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us feedback. Our grounds are truely beautiful and we are glad that you enjoyed them. We did realize we were having trouble keeping it cool enough and the offending heat pump has been repaired and is keeping it at a cool 70F. We are sorry that was not functioning properly during your stay.
It is our custom to freshen rooms daily including emptying trash, remaking beds, and in general putting rooms back to "check-in" standards. I am truly sorry that you did not experience that and will
address it here. Again, thank you and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

My husband and I were in great need of a relaxing getaway and we found it in spades at the Swiss Woods. We stayed two days in the San Bernadino, a lovely room overlooking a park-like setting. This B&B sits amongst towering trees and hundreds of flowers and flowering bushes. We loved sitting outside our room on a small private terrace taking in the serene surroundings, reading books and sipping a good cup of coffee and munching on a delicious cookie. The common rooms of the inn are welcoming and cozy. The breakfasts were wonderful, I particularly liked the baked oatmeal. Debbie was very helpful with suggestions on what to do in the area although we didn’t take much advantage of it. We did ventured out to explore the charming town of Lititz but didn't stay long, just enough time to have a very late lunch at Bull's Head (due to the generous breakfast!) before heading back to the quiet of Swiss Woods and our books.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rachelhanscom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

First of all, I am not one to write a poor review, but we really did not enjoy our stay at Swiss Woods. My husband and I stayed here for one night in July, and found that the website makes the inn appear to be much nicer than what it is...which is why I am very confused about the high ratings. We received no baked goods or meat and the breakfast seemed like a casserole made of leftovers from the fridge. Breakfast was a meat free casserole. We were told that a server would be out to take our drink orders and no one ever showed up. Someone at our table mentioned this to the owner and she said she would send someone out. No one ever came. Not only was the inn unkept and cluttered, the service was nonexistent. We have stayed in fabulous and not so fabulous inns across America. Here, there is clutter everywhere; you have a direct view into the kitchen which is also unkept. In the area where drinks are kept there is no spoon, no napkins. It is a bit unsanitary to not offer stirrers and napkins in a communal food/drink area.
The owner seems tired and worn out. When we checked out, we went down a long hall to a VERY cluttered office where we were charged $225 for a suite. It was awkward and unprofessional. The room we stayed in had a bed a small balcony and a bath tub. No shower! Sorry, that is not a suite. Overall, the Inn needs a facelift, modernized amenities and de-cluttered. A class in customer service and warm greetings may be in order as well.

Room Tip: Find another inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank teachfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWinnkeeper, Owner at Swiss Woods, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We take all feedback seriously and learn from it. We would have loved to address your concerns while you were here and are sorry that we did not meet your expectations. It is our goal to provide wonderful hospitality, setting and food to all of our guests. We wish you the best in your future travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staten island
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

this was my second stay at swiss woods. it was just as wonderful as the first stay. deb is a great innkeeper and Werner her husband is a delight to talk to. We had a beautiful comfortable room and the best breakfast ever! Debs baked goods are better than any other we have ever had. loved it will be going back many times.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWinnkeeper, Owner at Swiss Woods, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and especially the food. We bake everything from scratch, many with original recipes that I share on our blog. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponca City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We had a great stay at the Swiss Woods B & B. Their breakfasts featured homemade coblers, muffins, and casseroles as well as fresh fruit, bacon, eggs, and breakfast potatoes. The cookies when we checked it were yummy too! The room was not large but adequate and very clean. The outdoor spaces were wonderful. Each evening when we arrived home there was a fire in the firepit on the patio and the gardens with two waterfalls were absolutely beautiful. We hiked several of the many trails on the property and also enjoyed the company of their outdoor cat. We were in Lititz for their Independence Day celebration and would recommend it to anyone who likes fireworks, concerts, baseball and the like. It was a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuZi520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lititz
2.7 mi away
Lititz Inn & Suites
Lititz Inn & Suites
#2 of 2 in Lititz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites/Lititz
9.9 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Alden House Bed and Breakfast
6.8 mi away
Historic Smithton Inn
Historic Smithton Inn
#1 of 8 in Ephrata
5.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
7.8 mi away
EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss Woods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Woods

Property: Swiss Woods
Address: 500 Blantz Rd, Lititz, PA 17543-9464
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lititz
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Lititz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the edge of the woods overlooking Speedwell Forge Lake, Swiss Woods is a quiet retreat in northern Lancaster County on the edge of the quaint town of Lititz. Featuring incredible gardens, comfortable rooms with queen or king (suite) beds, fantastic food, and a focus on genuine hospitality, Swiss Woods mission is to create a memorable guest experience. Convenient to PA Dutch Country as well as Hershey the inn is central to farmers markets, the Amish community, PA Renaissance Faire, Middle Creek Wildlife Preserve and the PA Wolf Sanctuary. Afternoon pastries, a well stocked guest refrigerator and the inns well known biscotti are there for our guests. Foodies enjoy the exceptional breakfasts using local foods often grown on the grounds or close by. 10 hives of bees add to our well rounded property which has been designated a Certified Wildlife Habitat by the National Wildlife Federation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Swiss Woods reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss Woods Hotel Lititz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing