We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely charming!”
Review of Swiss Woods

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Swiss Woods
Ranked #2 of 10 Lititz B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lambertville, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
496 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Absolutely charming!”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Swiss Woods B&B is one of the finest bed and breakfasts my husband and I have stayed at. The Innkeeper has thought of every amenity you could wish for -- from soft beds with down comforters, a fire on the patio at night, soft robes in the room, and delicious food. Rooms are cozy and extremely clean. The morning breakfasts, included in the cost, are delicious, and in our two days we were treated to a wonderful spinach souffle, carrot waffles with grilled pineapple, fresh fruit and delicious baked goods. Debbie, the innkeeper, willingly shares the recipes on her blog. She also goes out of her way to make sure you are comfortable and to accommodate dietary needs and preferences. Swiss Woods also has a small store, with a variety of kitchen items, soaps, and foods. There are baked goods, teas and drinks available all day. The Inn is situated close to the Wolf Sanctuary and the charming town of Lititz, voted "the Coolest Small Town in the US." The price per night was extremely reasonable for the exceptional service and quality.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heidi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    10
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
105
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clifton, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Having recently stayed at the wonderful Swiss Woods in Lititz PA we can honestly say you are not going to find a better B&B in the Lancaster area (or any area for that matter) Werner and Debbie are fantastic hosts, the breakfasts were yummy, the surrounding 35 acres beautiful, the rooms cozy and clean. What a place, what a place...what a place.
We loved it.
Ralph & Anna

Room Tip: All rooms are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RALPH G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irwin, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

From the moment we drove up the driveway in a wooded area, I was captivated by the beauty of the area! Debbie greeted us at the door and immediately made us feel at home. There was homemade biscotti and cupcakes for an afternoon snack as well as a selection of wonderful teas. She gave us a quick tour of the Inn and showed us to our room (the lovely Matterhorn Suite!). Every area of the Inn is immaculately kept and beautifully decorated. Our room was very comfortable and a welcome retreat (especially for my hubby who was not feeling up to par the first day). It was so nice to stroll the grounds and sit at the koi pond and watch the fish. The large patio has several tables and a large fire pit. The one evening we brought a light dinner in and sat outside to eat. How relaxing! Werner came out later and started a fire in the pit and we enjoyed an evening conversation with him about the history of the French and Indian War era. What an interesting and knowledgeable man! Debbie created wonderful breakfasts (one dish that even took me back to my childhood). The sausage and potato hash and granola pancakes and fresh fruit were all plentiful and very yummy. The honey from the bees that Werner raises was delightful. I loved browsing the gift shop for treasures you can't readily find in stores. We checked out some other rooms at the Inn and they were all lovely! It is great that there are some on the first floor so guests that have difficulty with steps are accommodated. I can't say enough about how much we enjoyed our stay. It truly felt like a Swiss Woods retreat! Can't wait to visit again!

Room Tip: Matterhorn is a suite with a double and twin bed and a separate living room. It has it's own li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CookieLady51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2014

If you want to have a fantastic Bed and Breakfast Inn experience in the Lancaster Pennsylvania area, I highly recommend SWISS WOODS BED AND BREAKFAST INN in Lititz, Pa owned by Debbie and Werner Mosiman

This is a beautiful inn and a special little paradise surrounded by acres of beautiful woods, flowers, trees, and gardens. This inn has become one of our favorites and I look forward to several more visits! It’s is perfect place for a one day or weekend retreat especially if you are a nature lover. A few months ago we stayed the first time in The Matterhorn Suite and returned this month and stayed in the lovely Emmental room. They have a wonderful website that captivates you the minute you go on it.

Upon entering the grounds, If you are lucky, you will be greeted by Agatha, their friendly cat and their big beautiful dog. What strikes you immediately as you enter the Inn is the spacious and beautiful decorated dining and large living room dominated by a huge fireplace with lots of windows, flowers and plants everywhere. You instantly relax and feel comforted in your soul! You walk outside to see beautiful gardens, a koi pond, and lots of space and several areas to sit in. One sitting area has an open pit and each night a fire gets lit there.

We loved the rooms we stayed in; and the entire inn is immaculate. The morning breakfasts were sensational and the Gift Shop has the most wonderful lotions and soaps! The owner Debbie is the ultimate host and her staff is exceptional!

One of our favorite restaurants is THE LOG CABIN - a 14 room restaurant -- with a fascinating history -- located just 15 minutes drive away from the Inn with the most delicious and elegantly presented food you could eat. Their lobster appetizer in pastry shell is out of this world. Everything at this restaurant is out of this world. We like sitting in the back main room. Each time we go to the Swiss Woods B&B, we go to the Log Cabin for dinner!

The Swiss Woods B&B is located a short mile away from THE WOLF SANCTUARY OF PA -- another very special place in America. I adopted 2 wolves and wish for everyone to experience this very unique sanctuary.

I can’t wait to return to the Swiss Woods! It’s a magical place!

Jan Goldstoff, New York City, May 19, 2014

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWinnkeeper, Owner at Swiss Woods, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Jan, We so enjoy your visits and and look forward to seeing you again. We are fortunate to have great restaurants like the Log Cabin close by and love recommending them to our guests. The wolf sanctuary is truly a one of a kind special place as well and oh so close.
See you soon!
Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, PA
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

If you want a casual relaxed rustic place to just get away from it all....this is it! Was here for Mother's Day weekend. Extremely clean! Lots of attention to detail. Highly recommend this B&B for anyone!

Room Tip: We stayed in a little suite which had a queen bed, and a single....was perfect for a Mother & 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irelands7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWinnkeeper, Owner at Swiss Woods, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
We enjoy mother daughter and girlfriend getaways, and are happy you found us. The suite is perfect for that and the weather was wonderful for sitting out on the deck in the mornings. Thank you for your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We always love our stays at Swiss Woods. The peaceful surroundings, exceptional hosts and fabulous breakfast fare keep us coming back. There is so much to do in the area, but it's also a great place to decompress! Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HGoodman0427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWinnkeeper, Owner at Swiss Woods, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
It was so nice to see you again and we are glad you enjoyed your stay! We love providing a property that is so conducive to relaxing and look forward to your next visit.
Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 March 2014

My boyfriend and I spent part of our spring break at Swiss Woods to take a step away from the stress of graduate school, and it was a fantastic, relaxing trip! Swiss Woods is located on a hill that overlooks miles of farms and we enjoyed driving around the beautiful area. The little town of Lititz was fun to explore and we especially enjoyed checking out Appalachian Brewing Company.

This was our first bed and breakfast and we were mighty impressed! Everyone was super friendly and I cannot say enough good things about the breakfasts! We will be making the delicious baked oatmeal this weekend. The rooms were cozy and I loved the fireplace -- definitely gave the place a homey vibe. Tea and coffee were always available, and as someone that loves tea, I was pleased to see they had dozens of choices. Yummy cookies and other baked goods were out in the afternoon/evening and we made sure to sample everything!

Basically it was a wonderful trip and I'd highly recommend Swiss Woods to anyone that is looking for relaxation or enjoys exploring small towns.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lititz
2.7 mi away
Lititz Inn & Suites
Lititz Inn & Suites
#2 of 2 in Lititz
68 reviews
9.9 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites/Lititz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Lancaster Arts Hotel
#5 of 39 in Lancaster
939 reviews
3.8 mi away
Alden House Bed & Breakfast
7.8 mi away
EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss Woods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Woods

Property: Swiss Woods
Address: 500 Blantz Rd, Lititz, PA 17543-9464
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lititz
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Lititz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the edge of the woods overlooking Speedwell Forge Lake, Swiss Woods is a quiet retreat in northern Lancaster County on the edge of the quaint town of Lititz. Featuring incredible gardens, comfortable rooms with queen or king (suite) beds, fantastic food, and a focus on genuine hospitality, Swiss Woods mission is to create a memorable guest experience. Convenient to PA Dutch Country as well as Hershey the inn is central to farmers markets, the Amish community, PA Renaissance Faire, Middle Creek Wildlife Preserve and the PA Wolf Sanctuary. Afternoon pastries, a well stocked guest refrigerator and the inns well known biscotti are there for our guests. Foodies enjoy the exceptional breakfasts using local foods often grown on the grounds or close by. 10 hives of bees add to our well rounded property which has been designated a Certified Wildlife Habitat by the National Wildlife Federation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Swiss Woods reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss Woods Hotel Lititz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing