We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful is not good enough.”
Review of Swiss Woods

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Swiss Woods
Ranked #2 of 10 Lititz B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 October 2009

We just returned from a two-week trip to eastern Pennsylvania. We spent 4 nights at the Swiss Woods B & B. It is one of the best places we have ever stayed. The grounds and gardens are fantastic. They literally have acres of gardens. The rooms were spotless and very comfortable. The breakfasts were superb with a variety of hot and cold foods. Breakfast is served in a large family room with a fireplace. There are also comfortable chairs and couches in the same room. In the afternoon, coffee and cookies are available here.

Each bedroom has a flat-screened TV and two comfortable easy chairs for reading or relaxing. Each room has a door that provides direct access to the beautiful gardens. They also have a small kitchen where we were able to prepare fruit salads for our dinner, so we would not have to go out to eat in the evening. There is a refrigerator in this kitchen where guests can store any foods that they might bring home. There are two computers in the “office” just for the use of guests.

Their Bernese Mountain Dog, Baeri, is a love.

The owners have sincerely tried to think of everything that their guests need to be as comfortable as possible. We hated to leave and hope that we might be able to go back again at sometime in the future. Several of the other guests we met during the four days were repeat customers that have been coming here for many years. What great memories we will have of our stay at this gracious home.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TahoeCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2009

After we landed at Philadelphia airport we arrived at Swiss Woods with great hospitality from Debbie & Werner. At night we really enjoyed those big beds and during breakfast we enjoyed good talks with other guests. The break is great, I love the home made eggs and sweet things ... They have a beautiful garden with trees for a walk and a lake with some boats.
We traveled around in Amish Country, enjoyed the nature, traveled around to places like the battlefield from Gettysburg. A lot of interesting things Werner can suggest you to explore. He is a good travel or tour advisor!
Next time I would take more time in this county.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matt23ontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2009

Although Swiss Woods gets glowing reviews, we were pretty disappointed in our stay. ly Werner and Debbie are obviously doing something right as they have been in business for twenty years,but we thought they had burned out. Our welcome was rushed and not warm, the room is stuck in the 80's, the pastries that were left for guests were stale. They were never around to answer questions and we got no help on dinner places. I looked through the menu basket and most of the menus were years old and unappealing. The breakfasts were good and the garden is lovely. The location is north of Liltiz and I should have looked it up before I booked, because we were farther from Lancaster than I thought we were going to be. After leaving Swiss Woods we stayed at another B&B and the contrast on everything was great.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank zinfanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWinnkeeper, owner, innkeeper at Swiss Woods, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2009

We always welcome feedback from our guests as it is the only way we can improve the experience for everyone and we regret that we did not meet your expectations. Our 35 acres overlooking Speedwell Lake is more of a rural location and certainly not in the center of town. Our location and the simplicity and quiet calm of our extensive property is one of the defining hallmarks of the inn. We are also proud of our kitchen and everything that we serve. We bake for the sideboard daily and if you found the cake, cookies and biscotti stale we are truly sorry and will pay closer attention in the future. We also strive to have the newest most up to date menu’s in the basket and apologize that some of the take out ones were outdated. It was a good reminder for us to go through them more often to take out ones that are no longer relevant.

In a busy inn it is our job to give the feel of calm no matter how much is going on and I will admit that there are times that that may not happen. I personally apologize for not taking the time you needed at check in to make sure that you felt truly at home here. We are very glad that you had a good B&B experience as you continued your travels and wish you the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2009

We stayed 4 days at Swiss Woods this summer, with our 3 y old daughter. We're not usually b&b people. But this place was so welcoming, friendly, beautiful, relaxing, it has converted us. The innkeeper are real human beings, full of friendliness but never overbearing. When I think of all the places I've stayed, before and since, Swiss Woods stands above for value and charm. It's also a relief for design snobs who can't take the tackiness that abounds at so many hotels.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GBDKopschmertzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2009

Debbie and Werner are wonderful innkeepers and hosts. The property is beautiful and enchanting - as if you stepped out of America and into Switzerland. Breakfasts are amazing and absolutely not to be missed!

There are many special little touches which make this a lovely B&B to stay at when out in Lancaster County. There's always fresh baked goodies (biscotti, cookies, cakes/cookie bars, etc.). There's an assortment of over 50 kinds of loose teas to try (with Werner's own honey to go with it!). The little kitchenette is stocked with bottled water and cold sodas.

We'll definitely be back if we're ever in the area!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZonaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2009

Deb & Werner have a glorious home and the hospitality is outstanding. We woke to a fabulous gourmet breakfast every morning (be sure to try the Oven baked oatmeal!). And we made a couple late night runs downstairs to the cookie jar for homemade cookies. Wow. We felt like kids.

The rooms are clean with a wide array of books and thoughful touches like tea light candles for the bath. We felt like we were at home. The grounds are amazing! It was so peaceful and soothing to our souls.

Don't miss the American Music Theater in Lancaster which is only about 30 minutes away. We saw a concert there and it is a beautiful small theater that seats only 1600.

The city of Intercourse was beautiful also. Everything is SO close. Just drive, get lost and you just might find a covered bridge or two.

Beautiful country and area. We will definately be back next year!

Thanks again Deb & Warner for creating a slice of Heaven right here on earth.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JumpingJudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2009

The Swiss Woods B&B on the outskirts of Lititz, PA is a retreat in several senses of the word.
The inn's exterior is everyone's fantasy of the perfect Swiss chalet--a dark brown structure with brightly painted shutters, window boxes and garden benches surrounded
by immaculately kept grounds and flowers almost too beautiful to be real.

On these wonderful grounds, a guest is likely to meet one of the inn's pets--
several very friendly, very chatty cats, and a bundle of love in the form of a Bernese Mountain dog.

The interior, too, has a distinctive Alpine flair, with lots of hand-carved wood and guest rooms with names like the Wilhelm Tell and the Matterhorn. In a few minutes, you just might find yourself yodeling.

The service is friendly, the breakfasts are superb. So what's not to like?

Not to be too picky, but several small things--the room where my husband and I stayed
featured one inoperable window, three inkless pens and a radio/CD player that didn't work. Every book in the built-in bookcase was a text on Christian belief and practice,
reflecting the innkeeper's former work as Christian missionaries. Switzerland may be famous for its neutrality, but the Swiss Woods B&B is far from neutral on that point.

I would not go so far as to say that I didn't enjoy my stay at the Swiss Woods, but it might not be the best choice for non-Christians, non-believers or non-evangelical Christians.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phoebe56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWinnkeeper, owner at Swiss Woods, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2009

Thank you so much for bringing this to our attention. We had completely overlooked the fact that one of our bookshelves was so concentrated with one type of reading. There are thousands of books here at the inn and they sometimes move from one room to another. We certainly did not intend to give the impression that we were pushing any particular message. We welcome all people at Swiss Woods. We love diversity!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lititz
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites/Lititz
2.7 mi away
Lititz Inn & Suites
Lititz Inn & Suites
#2 of 2 in Lititz
72 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lancaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Lancaster Inn & Suites
Lancaster Inn & Suites
#5 of 7 in Manheim
175 reviews
9.9 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
2.4 mi away
Hammer Creek Hideaway Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss Woods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Woods

Address: 500 Blantz Rd, Lititz, PA 17543-9464
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lititz
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Lititz
Price Range: £136 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the edge of the woods overlooking Speedwell Forge Lake, Swiss Woods is a quiet retreat in northern Lancaster County on the edge of the quaint town of Lititz. Featuring incredible gardens, comfortable rooms with queen or king (suite) beds, fantastic food, and a focus on genuine hospitality, Swiss Woods mission is to create a memorable guest experience. Convenient to PA Dutch Country as well as Hershey the inn is central to farmers markets, the Amish community, PA Renaissance Faire, Middle Creek Wildlife Preserve and the PA Wolf Sanctuary. Afternoon pastries, a well stocked guest refrigerator and the inns well known biscotti are there for our guests. Foodies enjoy the exceptional breakfasts using local foods often grown on the grounds or close by. 10 hives of bees add to our well rounded property which has been designated a Certified Wildlife Habitat by the National Wildlife Federation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Swiss Woods reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss Woods Hotel Lititz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing