We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful and serene setting!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swiss Woods

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lititz
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Swiss Woods
Ranked #1 of 10 Lititz B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Beautiful and serene setting!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2010

The Swiss Woods is the perfect location for a getaway that reminds you just how beautiful nature is and just how kind people are.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ingrid0511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    10
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
102
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Swedesboro, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2010

My husband and I love the Fall and rural settings, and Swiss Wood's is located perfectly off the beaten path overlooking a beautiful lake. The place is welcoming and I was very much at home selecting from the many specialty teas and sweets that Debbie keeps on the sideboard in the common room. Each room has access to a patio and I really loved slipping out of the room to sit by the fire in the chiminea with my cup of tea in the evening. Surprisingly, many perenials were still in bloom, accenting the beautiful landscaping. The hospitality was like no other B&B that we've ever visited! Loads of little details made our stay so enjoyable! Exotic scented soaps in the bathroom, plush robes, a fridge in the kitchenette area to store our specialty cheese that we picked up along the way. We plan to return again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanGebeline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagles Mere, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2010

We wanted to give our friends from Germany an experience of Pennsylvania's Amish/Mennonite/Brethren country while avoiding the overly commercial and enjoying a peaceful B&B. Swiss Woods B&B was a perfect choice! The Innkeeper's family was part of this community for many years and knew who we should see and what we should do. She even arranged a dinner with an Amish family, enjoying the produce of that farm and joining the family for a traditional dinner. Innkeepers Debby and Werner were so hospitable, serving us tea and homemade biscotti when we arrived and providing a wonderful breakfast before we left. They even spoke German to our guests. Their B&B is beautifully landscaped and there were many little garden nooks to sit and enjoy the Fall color or read a book. The rooms were great and we slept much better than we had done at home.
We frequently go to B&B's and this was one of the nicest, most peaceful and hospitable!
Why should we go to a hotel when you can get such a fine experience? We certainly will return to Swiss Woods B&B at our next opportunity.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterG089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca NY
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2010

To say that it was a perfect stay is an understatement. Looking out on the property was an absolute magical time for this city girl.
The staff deserves a much better word than staff--they are kind and considerate and treat guests like the place is their own. That says a lot for the owners in my opinion.
And as for food? Well, it just doesn't get much better.
My second trip will be to Swiss Woods and frankly, I can't wait!!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynnette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2010

Was referred to the Swiss Woods by a friend coupled with positive reviews,we just knew this stay was going to be a sure winner; unfortunately, it was not. We were greeted by Debbie the inn-keeper and she showed us to our suite and that was the last we saw her. The suite was dated, but clean. However, there was food left in the microwave from the last guest, which was not pleasant to find to say the least. The view from our deck was nice, but we couldn’t see the lake so well as the site indicated on such a nice day. There were stink bugs all over our suite, which I guess could not be helped in this particular location. We couldn’t wait for breakfast as it got rave reviews and mustered through the pouring rain to get there and it was surely a winner! The homemade oatmeal was to die for! Again, we didn’t see Debbie, but rather another staff member whom was very warm and kind. Nevertheless, our breakfast was cut short when the only other couple there did not want to sit with us even after the staff member stated there were two place settings at our table. We left to not make it difficult for the staff member and was rather kind to the couple as we walked out. They immediately sat at the table afterwards. I guess we were too “ethnic” for them. Overall, this place didn’t meet our expectations, but we at least got a good sleep on the comfortable bed.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KAW1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, PA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2010

This place is amazing. Charming host and hostess, very nice staff, super clean and comfortable. The food is delicious, the grounds are a wonderland of natural beauty. Must be experienced, a treat beyond words.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissGLancaster_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arkansas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2010

We needed to getaway, and the Swiss Woods Inn provided the perfect escape. The gardens, and the walk in the woods, soothed the soul. Not to mention the birdwatching and stargazing. Our room had a door leading directly to lovely seating in the gardens. The breakfasts every day were heaven on a plate, especially the waffles (a recipe the innkeeper said was on the 8 Broads website [--] Deb makes her own biscotti, and it's outstanding. The comfortable room provided everything we needed: most importantly a dreamy bed and lots of quiet.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lititz
2.7 mi away
Lititz Inn & Suites
Lititz Inn & Suites
#2 of 2 in Lititz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites/Lititz
9.9 mi away
Eden Resort & Suites, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Lancaster Arts Hotel
#5 of 38 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
3.8 mi away
Alden House Bed and Breakfast
7.8 mi away
EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss Woods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Woods

Property: Swiss Woods
Address: 500 Blantz Rd, Lititz, PA 17543-9464
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lititz
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Lititz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the edge of the woods overlooking Speedwell Forge Lake, Swiss Woods is a quiet retreat in northern Lancaster County on the edge of the quaint town of Lititz. Featuring incredible gardens, comfortable rooms, fantastic food, and a focus on genuine hospitality, Swiss Woods mission is to create a memorable guest experience. Convenient to PA Dutch Country as well as Hershey the inn is central to farmers markets, the Amish community, PA Renaissance Faire, Middle Creek Wildlife Preserve and the PA Wolf Sanctuary. Afternoon pastries, a well stocked guest refrigerator and the inns well known biscotti are there for our guests. Foodies enjoy the exceptional breakfasts using local foods often grown on the grounds or close by. 10 hives of bees add to our well rounded property which has been designated a Certified Wildlife Habitat by the National Wildlife Federation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Swiss Woods Hotel Lititz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing