We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (138)
Filter reviews
138 results
Traveller rating
98
31
3
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
98
31
3
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdelaware riverholly hedgegreat view of the riversized bedweekend breakfastfire pitthoroughly enjoyed our staycharming roomrelaxing getawayhot breakfastcinnamon french toastfresh fruitperfect weekendgeneral storeburger nighttow pathpeddler's village
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 138 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2016

Everything about this Inn was excellent. We brought our bikes and rode the tow path trail to New Hope - about a 6 mile ride one way. This is a beautiful area, enhanced by the fantastic service, food, cleanliness and room comfort of the 1740 House. The friendly staff made us feel welcome during our entire stay. Dinner at the restaurant was excellent, as was the included hot breakfast every morning. We will definitely return to the 1740 House in the future and look forward to bringing our bikes and exploring more of the Bucks County area.

Room Tip: All rooms have great views and are comfortable.
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 4wheeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeeper L, innkeeper at 1740 House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2017

Thank you for your kind words. It was a pleasure hosting you. And you're right about the biking. Working here as restored an old passion of mine, and my days off are spent along the towpath. It never gets old.

We look forward to your return!

The Staff of 1740 House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2016

We decided to do the covered bridge tour by car and booked a room at the 1740 House. What a great decision. We had a beautiful and spacious room right on the river with a balcony. Everyone is so nice and the breakfast was good too. We will definitely return as one night was not enough.

Room Tip: Room 17 was secluded and quiet!
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank steelchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeeper L, innkeeper at 1740 House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2016

We're glad you enjoyed your stay. We would love to have you back, and for more than one night. Even though it's winter time now, it's always beautiful to sit and watch the river roll by. We'll make you some Hot Toddy's to take back to your room. Or sit by the fireplace.

Hope to see you again soon, and thank you for your kind words.

Best Wishes,

The Staff of 1740 House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2016

A great place to view the changing trees in October, with all rooms facing Delaware River, most helpful staff, comfortable room, a must place to stay if you are in that area or want to visit New Hope. There is a tavern and dinning room in the inn which is very enjoyable. Our room had a king bed, so very comfortable and a gas fireplace to take the chill off the night. We spent an afternoon enjoying the area of New Hope and walking on the canal tow path. Nice relaxing trip and a great place to stay.

Room Tip: All rooms have river view.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeeper L, innkeeper at 1740 House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2016

Thank you, John, for writing about your experience here. It certainly was a pleasure having you. We look forward for the chance to host you again. And we're glad you took the time to stop by our tavern. It certainly is something we're proud of.

Kind Regards,

The Staff of 1740 House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2016

Nice staff, pretty views, great breakfast, comfy beds, Has a small bar and dinner is offered as well.
The bike tow bath is very easily accessible. (Starts 2 blocks down) I rode to New Hope and then continued to Washington's crossing. Lovely ride

Room Tip: Stayed in #18 King bed, fireplace, view and patio overlooking river
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kewlmom17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeeper L, innkeeper at 1740 House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2016

We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and took the time to tell others. Next time you're with us, take the northern route on the towpath to Frenchtown. Lovely little town with quaint shops and restaurants that offer some dining options geared towards bikers. But you're right; there's something special about a stop in New Hope before moving on to Washington Crossing.

Hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,

The Staff of 1740 House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

Wonderful 1740 Inn with a beautiful view of the Delaware River.

The rooms are very clean with probably the most comfortable king size bed we ever slept on! No musty or moldy odors and in fact our room had a sweet wood fragrance to it. We were here in mid October but due to a rare heat wave we were pleased our room had a/c.

We were a bit disappointed when we found at breakfast (8:30-9:30 am) they had run out of some food (sausage, bacon, bread) and the coffee although good was not hot enough.
They should always have enough breakfast food on hand for the guests since it's included in our rate.

We also found one electrical outlet next to our bed did not work. But this was not a deal breaker. In fact it was not an inconvenience as we had a extension cord.
And the bathroom overhead heat light did not work.
They just need to pay more attention to these little things.

But all in all a wonderful old Inn!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Lee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeeper L, innkeeper at 1740 House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. And we apologize if we didn't hit on every mark. That particular week was extraordinarily busy and it seems that breakfast got away from us a bit. And there's no excuse for the coffee not being hot enough.

I've shared your comments with our staff; we truly appreciate the feedback and are pleased that your overall experience was a positive one.

It certainly was a pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to the opportunity to host you again.

Warm Wishes,

The Staff of 1740 House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews