We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Threadbare in Malvern” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sonesta ES Suites Malvern

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sonesta ES Suites Malvern
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Malvern
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Threadbare in Malvern”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012 via mobile

Sonesta's takeover of the Staybtidge Suites has not gone well so far. The front desk person was less than enthusiastic about my arrival. The breakfast was disorganized and not well stocked. The staff couldn't keep up with the demands of the guests.
The property is full of Dry-rot. The door to our suite had previously been kick in and the strick and hinge screws are coming out. We had to put our valuables and regular luggage back in our car while we were away for the day for fear our room would be broken into.
One would have expect better from Sonesta!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SoloTraveler1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    110
    30
    17
    6
See reviews for
192
29
18
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Paradise Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

I stayed here for a month while I trained for a new job. As a hotel, has good and bad points. The front office people are not all that professional. The free breakfast is pretty poor. The rooms are comfortable and adequately stocked with kitchen supplies, but no Teflon. The air conditioning is excellent. They have a convenience store with unhealthy snacks, beer, wine, and some frozen tv dinners. The grounds are pretty and fairly quiet. Parking spaces are adequate. The laundry services are free. It's acceptably safe here for kids. There is a basketball court. The swimming pool is clean and its temperature is OK.

That being said, the location is great. The train station is close. The neighborhood is beautiful. Wegman's Market across the street is wondrous -- baked goods, excellent produce, large organic food section, great prepared meals. There is a lovely bike trail next to the hotel (although bike rentals are not easily available, but I walked the trail almost daily). Philadelphia is an easy drive away. Gas stations and ATMs are nearby. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Upstairs might be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadySkiMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Malvern, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Dear LadySkiMD,

Thank you for leaving a comprehensive review, highlighting not only the bad but also the good. I am pleased that overall you liked your room accommodation and decided to stay with us in the future. Our location is an easy access with its proximity to commercial establishments and area attractions. I apologize you found our front office staff not that professional. We want our guest to have a pleasant and professional experience when interacting with our staff. I am sorry for the quality of breakfast served during your stay. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Lera M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walt Disney World, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

What a well-kept and comfortable resort! Set amidst a beautiful forest, this Staybridge offers lots of awesome perks, like complimentary internet, laundry, breakfast, and an evening reception from Monday to Thursday. The friendly staff is yet another reason to make this a destination worth visiting. All this and a great value as well!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in or near the main building. If the weather is nice, ask for one that faces the fore...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rosiastur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NOTTINGHAM, ENGLAND
Level Contributor
65 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

This is a slightly older staybridge although I believe it's leaving the group in August 2012. It has a few blocks of rooms and external corridors which is different to the others we've stayed at. It has all the usual facilities, in suite kitchen, free guest laundry, gym etc. We stayed on Thursday night and they had the 'sundowner' buffet of philly steak and soft drinks which was really nice. The girl on the front desk could have been friendlier but maybe she was having a bad day?? Good overall

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TANYA66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
108 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

The hotel worked very well for our family reunion/graduation last week. Our families were able to stay next door to each other and with the 2 bedroom/2 bath configuration, we had both privacy and a place to get together at a reasonable cost. The staff were very friendly and a staff member's recommendation to visit Longwood Gardens was very helpful. The rooms were clean and well stocked, the beds were comfortable and the breakfast more than adequate for a range of tastes. We made good use of the Wegman's grocery store across the street for several meals. The wireless internet service was intermitant but we discovered that there was also an ethernet cord that solved all the problems.

Room Tip: The 2 bedroom/2 bathroom configuration is great for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RetiredHawkeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, il
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

Second time at this hotel. Great rooms...very clean. Staff very friendly. Especially liked the two bedrooms. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

I had stayed at this hotel during my official trip to USA. Rooms are very nice with bedroom, drawing room and open kitchen area. The kitchen has a wide variety of utensils to use.

The Breakfast buffet is simply awsome. The hotel has a nice jacuzi, swimming pool and basket ball court too.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manchuray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malvern
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia Great Valley
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Philadelphia/Great Valley/Malvern
0.7 mi away
The Desmond Hotel Malvern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Philadelphia Great Valley/Malvern
7.7 mi away
Hyatt House Philadelphia/King of Prussia
Hyatt House Philadelphia/King of...
#1 of 16 in King of Prussia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
7.7 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn at King of Prussia
Best Western Plus The Inn at Kin...
#2 of 16 in King of Prussia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta ES Suites Malvern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta ES Suites Malvern

Property: Sonesta ES Suites Malvern
Address: 20 Morehall Rd, Malvern, PA 19355-1723
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Malvern
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Malvern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sonesta ES Suites Malvern 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit the all new Sonesta ES Suites in Malvern, PA! We are located in the heart of Great Valley near historic Valley Forge in beautiful Chester County. The Sonesta ES Suites Malvern is a completely reimagined all suite hotel with all the services of a traditional hotel, but with a residential feel. We are the ideal hotel whether you are staying for one night, or for an extended stay. Our suites are unparalleled, with fully equipped kitchens, spacious living rooms, private bedrooms with bath, and complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access. Conveniently located near Siemens, Wyeth, Unisys, SunGardHE and many more area corporations. If you are wondering what to do in your downtime, we are minutes from the King of Prussia Mall - a shoppers paradise, Valley Forge National Park and the QVC Studio, where you can go for a tour! Our proximity to several colleges such as Villanova, Penn State Great Valley, Immaculata & West Chester Universities is one more reason that the Sonesta ES Suites Malvern is the ideal Great Valley hotel choice for business, pleasure, relocation and relaxation. Please stop in for a tour of our beautiful new accommodations, well appointed meeting rooms and unique services. We hope you'll join us at the Sonesta ES Suites Malvern for your next Great Valley stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Sonesta ES Suites Malvern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Malvern Hotel Malvern
Malvern Staybridge Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing