We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Philadelphia - Malvern - Swedesford Rd.
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Malvern
Mogadore, Ohio
1 review
“Very happy”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Travelling with a spouse and two kids (14 yo boy and 7 yo girl) is difficult enough and trying to find a hotel that allows for adequate sleeping arrangements is as well, let alone the cost of this. We had the room with 2 queen beds and a pullout and we could not have been happier with the layout of the room and the price we paid for a 3 night stay. The fact that the facility has an indoor pool is a big plus during unpredictable weather conditions. The location is good for wanting to visit Philly, Valley Forge or the King of Prussia Mall. We found the room itself to be very clean, plenty of towels and paper necessities and the staff was about as friendly as any hotel I have ever been in. You are never going to have "all the comforts of home" while staying at a hotel but this facility serves the purpose. Was able to have a decent cup of coffee every morning as well. I recommend this facility and when I travel back to the area, this is one of the places I will look in to staying. The surrondings are decent as well and for being near a highway, it was relatively quiet. I will say that if you are arriving via the overpriced PA Turnpike, the exit only allows for those with an EZPass to exit there, so be aware of that as well. And again... you will not find a more friendly hotel staff. They were knowledgeable of the local area for restaurants and such and if they didn't know, they were quick to find another staff member to help.

Room Tip: Get the room with 2 Q beds and the pullout if travelling with more than two people. One of the Q bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rogcar2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    10
    6
    10
    15
See reviews for
15
8
5
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
babylon ny
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

I'd have loved this hotel IF 1) I was in college or on a family vacation and 2) understood the brand a bit better before arriving and most of all 3) if it was clean. What caused me to give a poor rating was that it was fairly untidy- it was obvious a lot in the room wasn't clean- old coffee left in the pot, questionable spots in the bathroom, that sort of thing. It's amazing how a little of uncleanliness goes such a long way to poison a hotel experience.

Also, this was booked for a business trip. So long as my company is spending the money, I expect much more comfort. However, our CEO is frugal in the extreme. Us lowly workers aren't happy about it but can't do much about it. However forewarned is forearmed! read on...

The good- so long as it would be clean, the facility is great value. they do a great job of cutting out nice to haves such as shampoo and soap, big breakfasts and so forth and passing those savings on to the customer. It is truly spartan, but so is the cost. There's a full kitchen so for anyone who likes economy and can provide for oneself, this is a great brand. (so long as it's clean)

The bad- there doesn't seem to be any bedding. Maybe you're supposed to bring your own?? Had I known I definitely would have done so because the comforter and blanket were so thin and insubstantial to make it barely better than nothing at all. They also really seem to like harsh fluorescent light an awful lot. A lot. Again, if that's the price for an economical full kitchen hotel, fine but if there's a way to soften that up a bit, that'd be a plus.

In fairness I stayed here last summer and it was clean.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smjbab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Bring Lysol wipes and cleaner because there is no access to them. Maybe a vacuum as well and washcloths. Just very dirty and the response is because it is a self sufficient hotel. WiFi is as slow as dial up and you cannot check your email or stream videos for the kids. Would not stay here again. I learned my lesson quickly. There was mouse droppings all over the counter where you would cook at. Everything you touched was sticky and the bathroom hadn't been cleaned at all. Everything was booked in the area because of the holiday season so we had to tough it out. Plus we couldn't afford to loose the week we paid on this and pay for another week somewhere else. It was Christmas week and just a real bummer because it was a first vacation with all our kids together in 6 years.

Room Tip: You can hear everything on every floor. Walking, talking, steps, and elevator. If you are trying t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crystal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pa.
Level Contributor
114 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

This was our first time staying at an Extended Stay America property. In this general area (Wayne/Great Valley, PA) there are quite a few extended-stay type of hotels from various chains. In fact, there are three of the Extended Stay America hotels alone within a 5-10 minute drive. The competition is (or should be) intense here, due to many area corporate HQs. In short, compare the alternatives to see what your best bet will be.

Our take on this hotel:

1. It was obviously recently updated, as the website says. Rooms and common areas were in very good repair, and nicely painted and appointed. We didn't notice any smells or other issues in our room, which can sometimes be a problem in efficiency units since people cook in them and "live" in them more than regular hotels. The staff were also nice and helpful.

2. Beware that the "Grab and Go" breakfast is a joke, especially compared with the breakfasts offered at other nearby hotels. Basically just coffee, instant oatmeal, individually packaged generic muffins, etc. I've seen better at an Econo Lodge. We ended up going out to a nearby place and spending $20 on buying a "real" breakfast. (Try "Dixie Kitchen," about five minutes away.) If you like a half-decent breakfast, add $10 per person onto the hotel cost to cover the expense of buying breakfast elsewhere (and an extra hour of hassle).

3. Our standard queen room was of a good size for the two of us, and wouldn't be bad for 3-4 guests. I believe the sofa pulls out for an additional bed. There were two stools at the eating counter.

4. I assume the eating counter (an island bar setup) was also intended as the desk, as there wasn't a separate desk area. If you have a lot of work to do, I think this might be uncomfortable for a long working session.

5. The room was clean, although there were a few stray hairs on our bedspread and on one of the "clean" towels. It was long dark hair, and definitely not from either of us. There was also a hair/dust ball in a corner of the bathroom.

6. Bed and pillows were not terribly comfortable, and we didn't get a good night's sleep.

Would we stay there again? No, probably not, given the many alternatives in the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BriPhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinehurst, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Not the cleanest hotel! Dirty dishes, countertops and floors. Broken drawers. Faulty faucets. Loud heater and refrigerator. And the flickering hallway lights gave the place a 'spooky' feeling. One good thing - staff was very friendly. Seems like the place needs a complete overhaul. I don't recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Can't help you here. The side we were on was very loud day an night - could not open a window fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank F H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hummelstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I am staying at the Malvern Extended Stay for a 3 month job assignment. The rooms are clean, comfortable with desk area and kitchen, and it is easy access to the commute on Route 202. The pool and exercise room are well maintained and clean. The staff is friendly and helpful, especially answering questions about local restaurants and addresses. The Weber outdoor gas bar-b-que is a nice touch. Nice place to stay.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the 202 freeway are have a higher noise level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michigander12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2013

The staff is great. The rooms are clean, stylish and modern. The pool is stellar and the grab n go breakfast is just what I need. Jen at the front desk is always cheerful and friendly and remembers me every stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennSemeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malvern
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia Great Valley
0.4 mi away
Extended Stay America - Philadelphia - Malvern - Great Valley
0.5 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Malvern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Philadelphia Great Valley/Malvern
0.2 mi away
The Desmond Hotel Malvern
3.2 mi away
Sheraton Great Valley Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Philadelphia - Malvern - Swedesford Rd.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Philadelphia - Malvern - Swedesford Rd.

Property: Extended Stay America - Philadelphia - Malvern - Swedesford Rd.
Address: 8 E Swedesford Rd, Malvern, PA 19355-1488 (Formerly MainStay Suites Great Valley)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Malvern
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Malvern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Philadelphia - Malvern - Swedesford Rd. 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Extended Stay, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Extended Stay America - Philadelphia - Malvern - Swedesford Rd. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Studio Suites Malvern
Homestead Suites Malvern
Homestead Malvern
Malvern Homestead Suites
Homestead Studio Suites Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing