We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heater is loud!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Philadelphia Great Valley/Malvern
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Malvern
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I stayed 1 night for business. The staff was ready for me when I got there so check in was fast. I like this! The heater in the room was very loud. I mean really rattling/shaking loud. I hit it twice, then kicked it, then changed the settings and it still kept rattling. The room was clean and the area is quite, so the heater being loud ruined the experience. My fix was to get the room hot and shut it off until morning.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toni H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard Philadelphia Great Valley/Malvern
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2013

I travel to this area for business regularly although this was the first time I stayed at this hotel. My boss typically uses this one and since I was traveling with him and he had rented the car, I really had no say to be honest. First thing I noticed was the great customer service when I walked in the door. The folks are very helpful, friendly, and willing to do anything to make you feel comfortable. My hotel experience was not so great. When I got to my room I went to hang my clothes in the armoire and it smelled horribly of cheap perfume, almost like someone had spilled it. I hung my clothes throughout the room since I didn't want to smell like this at work and alerted the front desk. They assured me it would be taken care of the next day and although I believe they tried, it still stunk so bad that I never did hang my clothes in it. The heater in the room rattled all night while it was on so I never did use it and dealt with a cold room (highs were in the 30's outside). Every morning, around 5:30am, there was a horrible cafeteria smell waffling up through the vents that stunk the whole room up. This was very unpleasant and made me sick to my stomach. Lastly, the maids would bring put new soaps, lotions, shampoos, on the bathroom counter everyday even though I never used any of them. They just kept piling up on the counter which was more of an annoyance than inconvenience. Overall, there are much better choices in the area. I will never go back to this hotel for business travel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank azray34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia S, General Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia Great Valley/Malvern, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2013

I am so sorry that your stay with us was unsatisfactory. We have never had a complaint about our closests before and I assure you I will look into this right away. I can understand the frustration that you must have felt having to hang your closets in other areas of the room.
I ask that if you chose to say here again, please contact me directly and I will personally guarantee a more than satisfactory stay with us.
Most Sincerely,
Cynthia Smoyer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

This is a wonderful hotel. Clean and spacious rooms, attentive staff and excellent breakfast in the morning. There is a fridge in a room and a microwave in a lobby. They also have a swimming pool and a small gym. In the evening you can easily order a meal from a nearby restaurant or simply stop by at Wegmans which is only 3 min drive. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

We stopped here on the way to Philadelphia. Take the time to see Valley Forge while you're in the area. It's really nice.

The hotel was nice. The room had a good layout, there was no unpleasant smell, clean, comfortable....no complaints at all. My husband said the bed was too soft for him (back issues) but I was comfortable.

The young gentleman that checked us in was quite friendly and informative when we asked about dinner restaurants.

The only thing you need to know is that breakfast is NOT complimentary. The smells of breakfast began wafting through the room vents and was quite appealing. We were quite disappointed to find that is was not included in the cost of the room. We were not willing to pay $10 for a hotel breakfast. Go to King Street Grille if you want a great breakfast.

Room Tip: Breakfast is NOT included.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

The Courtyard Marriott is a very good place to stay if you have business around the Malvern or Philly, PA area. The staff is very hospitable and very kind.

The staff seems to have the liberty to read their customers. When I check in late-night, they always seem t be there with a cold water or something to help me out.

The gym is typical and only is worth going if you want the treadmill. The pool is fine to relax.

Stay here to keep travel simple, have great service and relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road. The road gets busy around 7am.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank limby12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012 via mobile

Relatively new hotel. Convenient to business parks. Excellent facilities for business and food. Great people working there. Excellent breakfast.

Ask for an executive room if available. Can't beat Marriott properties.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJHenley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelguy2011, General Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia Great Valley/Malvern, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2012

You hit the nail on the head! Thank you for a great review. I take it you are "Marriott Loyal".
We cannot thank you enough for your continued support. We strive to ensure your stays are consistant and enjoyable. Please come back and see us soon!

All the best,
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

My family and I stayed at this Marriott location this past weekend while visiting Longwood Gardens. The hotel highly exceeded my expectations and if we ever travel to this area of PA again we will definitely be back! The friendly and helpful staff, along with the CLEAN and modern, over-sized rooms made it an awesome stay! The location is easily accessible and centered in the newly developed area of town. The beds are comfy, the bathroom was huge and there were enough pillows for a football team! Thanks for a pleasant stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the rear of the building.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GinaNJ415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelguy2011, General Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia Great Valley/Malvern, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2012

Wow, You made the Staffs day! Thank you for your wonderful response. Most guests think of us as a corporate hotel when in fact we are centrally located to a variety of local attractions such as Longwood Gardens.
It is very nice of you to take the time to comment on your experience here. Please come back and see us soon!

Most Sincerely,

David Arena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malvern
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia Great Valley
0.8 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Malvern
1.2 mi away
Residence Inn Philadelphia Great Valley/Malvern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Desmond Hotel Malvern
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Philadelphia/Great Valley/Malvern
3.2 mi away
Sheraton Great Valley Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Philadelphia Great Valley/Malvern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Philadelphia Great Valley/Malvern

Address: 280 Old Morehall Road, Malvern, PA 19355
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Malvern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Malvern
Price Range: £84 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Philadelphia Great Valley/Malvern 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Philadelphia Great Valley/Malvern is centrally located among hotels in Malvern, PA, just outside of Philadelphia and the Brandywine Valley. Set among scenic landscapes and historic attractions, this hotel provides easy access to the Valley Forge National Park, Longwood Gardens and Downtown Philadelphia. Business travelers will enjoy the quick commute to the Great Valley Corporate Center and United Sports Training Center. Guests will be welcomed by friendly staff to a modern lobby highlighted by the touch-screen GoBoard(R) displaying local traffic, weather, and dining information. The spacious guest rooms feature stylish décor and high-tech amenities including HD TVs with premium cable and free WiFi. Maintain you workout routine in the 24-hour fitness center, take a relaxing swim in the heated indoor pool, and unwind as you watch the sunset by the fireplace on the outdoor patio. Whatever your speed, our spaces have what you need, right where you need it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Philadelphia Great Valley/Malvern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Courtyard Malvern Great Valley Hotel Malvern
Malvern Courtyard
Malvern Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing