We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I am obsessed with their food!”
Review of SuTao Cafe

SuTao Cafe
Ranked #21 of 72 Restaurants in Malvern
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Croydon, PA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“I am obsessed with their food!”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

It is not easy to find consistently good vegetarian chinese food. This is it. Completely vegan and delicious! My husband and I find ourselves returning for the buffet or menu several times a month. The buffet is an excellent value and includes lemonade, iced tea, and a limited selection of desserts. The food is flavorful and delicious. If anything is out on the buffet, it will quickly be replaced once you point it out to the staff. The restaurant has an extensive menu. I love their family style wonton soup.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VLouis11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    12
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Round Rock, TX
Level Contributor
181 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Totally vegan, totally good”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

A gem in a back corner of a strip shopping center. Every item on the buffet is vegan and amazing. I normally do not like buffets but this one had the advantage of small amounts of each item replenished frequently. Everything is labeled for content and coded for dietary restrictions. The General Tao "beef" had incredible taste and texture. We tried 6-7 entrees and all were really good. Soup and salad bar are extensive and also excellent. Delicious desserts are included. Staff is friendly and helpful and very knowledgeable. Exceptional value

  • Visited July 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mathtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Could be better”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Pros:
* Healthful vegan fare.
* One of the very few Chinese vegan restaurants that I am aware of.
* Relatively inexpensive.

Cons:
* The booths and tables are in poor repair.
* The menus were dirty and sticky.
* Service was minimal.
* Buffet items were refilled slowly.
* Food quality was variable. Nothing is particularly great but there are a number of acceptable dishes.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank THA992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
143 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

WOW is the first word that comes to mind. We were referred by someone who lives with a Vegan and I can see why people really like this place.

The food was amazing. We tried just about everything from the mail dishes, the apps, the salads and even the desserts... all of the food is vegan.

My wife got tired of me asking there server if the food was really vegan - I am still shocked of the flavors these guys could get from veggies.

We will definitely be going back soon, and we drove an hour to get there.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malvern pa
Level Contributor
53 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“IMAGINE A VEGAN THANKSGIVING”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Su Tao is a totally vegan reastaurant run buffet style. There are all the old favorites - Gen Taos, seaweed salad, eggrolls, miso soup, hot and sour soup, vegetable lomein, shrimp toast, all vegan.
On special occasions they double up on the buffet adding some unusual dishes. This year there was a Thanksgiving special featuring among other things a rice turkey (now that's unusual). The restaurant serves as a haunt for the local vegans, as well it should, but you don't have to have that dietary preference to enjoy the food. Considering the work involved in making this special diet you would expect the prices to be high. Not so! Ordinary meals run under ten dollars, the specials are usually twenty dollars. Not to be missed

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank oforamuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed SuTao Cafe also viewed

 

Been to SuTao Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing