We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, homely hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Desmond Hotel Malvern

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Desmond Hotel Malvern
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Malvern
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely, homely hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

I recently stayed at the Desmond hotel for two nights as part of a business trip. The hotel has a warm, homely feel to it. I found the staff friendly and helpful; the rooms spacious and clean. Breakfast is a highlight. The staff were over-stretched when I visited, so service was a little slow, but the choice and quality of food was excellent. A great start to the day!
I also enjoyed the gym and swimming pool. The pool is clean and a good size for swimming laps.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike_Chain, General Manager at The Desmond Hotel Malvern, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your business and for your feedback, we hope you return again soon!

Sincerely,
Michael Chain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    98
    51
    20
    9
See reviews for
48
28
14
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

Facility is clean and the staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. The team made me feel right at home during my stay! I definitely plan to stay at the Desmond again and recommend the hotel to all.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meredith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike_Chain, General Manager at The Desmond Hotel Malvern, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Desmond, I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully we will see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Michael Chain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
66 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

A big thank you to The Desmond for providing us not only with a warm place to stay, but terrific hospitality as well. Our two night stay was the result of a wide spread power outage caused by a devastating ice storm. After a couple of long, hot showers, we enjoyed cocktails and a great meal in the Fox & Hounds Pub. Friends of ours, who also did not have power, checked in the second day and the four of us again enjoyed not only the food but the great service in the Pub.

The Desmond really is our home away from home!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lindas6665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike_Chain, General Manager at The Desmond Hotel Malvern, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us, I am so glad we were able to provide you with some much needed comfort during this terrible winter. We hope you choose to return soon.

Sincerely,
Michael Chain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayne, pa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

stayed here one night of a three night power outage in our area. Other hotel we stayed in nearby gave everyone free cookies and water as we checked in and made everyone feel welcome since they knew that most of us were locals and there due to power outage, that hotel even gave us two free breakfasts. Not so Desmond. Checkin guy was almost scowling at us. Pet friendly hotel and dog barked the entire night.one floor below our room. Old hotel in dire need of updating.lobby uninhabitable since it was freezing cold so even the free morning coffee was not piping hot. All in all, we should have stayed at the nearby hotel where we started out our miserable nomadic four day adventure due to severe ice storm in our area.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ssvw27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike_Chain, General Manager at The Desmond Hotel Malvern, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank your for staying with us, while I am glad we were able to accommodate you I am sorry you didn't feel we met your expectations. We proudly hosted thousands of travelers over the 2 week stretch of terrible weather and I have received many thank you's and compliments; my staff and I are sorry we seemed to have missed the mark with you. We did accept small pets due to the power outages and provided substantial welcome stations on most nights, I am so sorry it wasn't there for you stay. Please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel should you wish to give us another chance, even if its for breakfast lunch or dinner.

Sincerely,
Michael Chain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

This is not a fancy, high-end hotel but for the value it is superior -- comfortable, clean; but the highlight would be the exceptionally friendly, helpful and efficient staff, from front desk to waitstaff to shuttle drivers. I stay here regularly for business in the Malvern area and would highly;y recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 100Rick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike_Chain, General Manager at The Desmond Hotel Malvern, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for recognizing our superior staff, I am so proud of them and how they care for our property and our guests. Best wishes for safe travels.

Sincerely,
Michael Chain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
113 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

If there is any more beautiful place in January than Chester County, Pennsylvania I have yet to find it. The Desmond is the perfect home base for your explorations, or as a quiet sanctuary when traveling on business. The hash browns at breakfast were the best I've ever had, and the four-poster beds are a unique and charming touch!

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank stbass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike_Chain, General Manager at The Desmond Hotel Malvern, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and for staying with us! I am so glad you like our property, we will keep working hard to ensure you have great experiences time after time.

Thanks again and safe travels,

Michael Chain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

I had my wedding reception here in September and it could not have gone more perfectly! The Desmond management and staff literally thought of everything we could possibly need throughout the planning process and especially on the big day! Everyone raved about the food and loved the layout of the ballroom with the nice, big dance floor in the center of the room.

My husband and I enjoyed our honeymoon suite. The Desmond boxed up our dinners for us (since we were so busy visiting with our guests we barely sat down at all) and even provided club sandwiches and chips in our suite for a late night snack! It was very comfortable.

We also love the Sunset Grille at the Desmond. It is the perfect outdoor space in Malvern. We went many times this past year - from relaxing dinners with our parents, to romantic summer evenings, to dance parties with our friends, featuring Jellyroll or the Chatterband.

We can't praise the Desmond enough! I definitely recommend the Desmond to any brides. It will make your planning process SO much easier! I felt like the most relaxed bride because I knew that the Desmond had everything under control. If you have an idea, they will make it happen! It is a lovely hotel and an elegant space with caring and capable management and staff. You can't go wrong picking the Desmond for your special day!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike_Chain, General Manager at The Desmond Hotel Malvern, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your feedback, I am happy we were able to deliver such an exceptional experience. I have forwarded the link to the staff, they will be excited to read your comments! Best wishes for safe travels and thank you again!

Sincerely,
Michael Chain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malvern
0.7 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Malvern
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia Great Valley
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Philadelphia Great Valley/Malvern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Philadelphia/Great Valley/Malvern
1.3 mi away
Residence Inn Philadelphia Great Valley/Malvern
3.3 mi away
Sheraton Great Valley Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Desmond Hotel Malvern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Desmond Hotel Malvern

Property: The Desmond Hotel Malvern
Address: 1 Liberty Blvd., Malvern, PA 19355
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Malvern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Malvern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Desmond Hotel Malvern 3.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a one-of-a-kind hotel, conveniently located in one of Pennsylvania's most scenic and historic settings. From the moment you walk in, you'll know why guests tell us The Desmond is the best part of traveling. It's a difference you can taste, whether you're savoring fresh seafood and prime steaks in The Hunt Room, hot off the grille seasonal favorites on our Sunset Grille deck, or relaxing with cocktails, snacks and casual fare in our authentic English pub, the Fox and Hounds. Above all, it's an experience that removes you from the distractions of everyday life, and surrounds you with the quiet pleasures you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Desmond Hotel Malvern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desmond Hotel Malvern
Malvern Desmond Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing