We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“warm and friendly place to stay”
Review of Airy Hill Farm B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manheim
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Airy Hill Farm B&B
Ranked #1 of 11 Manheim B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 April 2014

just like being at home but being waited on! Hazel and mark were so warm and friendly, the room was immaculate, the breakfast delicious.We didn't want to leave! Even with the lousy weather we made the best of it. Would definitely return. Enjoyed spending time with the owners and seeing their animals. Enjoyed our dinner in an Amish Home that they arranged for us and the other people staying at the B&B. Visit the Wolf Sanctuary in the area too.
Worth the trip!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanF354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
There are newer reviews for Airy Hill Farm B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2014

My daughter (11) and I stayed here on a short Girls Only trip to Lancaster County and enjoyed the Nestleroths and their hospitality very much. We were the only guests--technically it's spring, but it's not really feeling like spring so the tourist season is not in high gear yet. Their home is a relatively modern home rather than an old farmhouse. Even on a rainy, gray March day with no leaves on the trees, it has lovely views of farm fields and woods and lots of sky. Both my daughter and I loved seeing the sheep and listening to the chickens' constant "singing" and clucking to each other in one barn (although when Mark Nestleroth would give a startling call out the barn door to try to bring the lambs closer to the barn, the hens would all stop their chatter--a moment of stunned silence--then they'd start right up again). My daughter enjoyed collecting the eggs--and because it was the slower season and our hosts had eggs up to their ears, we were the happy recipients of a dozen fresh eggs to take home. We also loved walking the miniature horses, old Gail and young Little Bob--just watching Little Bob's short legs hustle along at a trot was hilarious--and seeing the two alpacas (too rainy to walk them too). Our room (and the entire home) was incredibly clean, the bed was extremely comfortable, and our room (the Harvest room) had a separate entrance right out to the driveway, which made bringing bags in and out very easy. There was an air conditioner/heater/air cleaner high on the wall above the bed, which had its own remote. It wasn't very loud, but we turned it off after a while for complete silence--very nice to have that option. There was a small flat-screen TV in the room (which we didn't use) and a larger TV in the living room, which we also didn't use but which was offered to us. The upstairs has a great configuration for a family--a room with a queen bed, a room with two twin beds, and a bathroom--if you take that suite of rooms, you are the only guests on that floor. The other room (same floor as ours and the living room/kitchen area) has a large closet that has been converted via the magic of paint into a treehouse-themed kids' sleeping area (an upper bunk and a cozy-looking mattress-bed on the carpeted floor)--this would be great for younger kids, with the parents sleeping in the queen bed in the larger bedroom itself. Hazel and Mark had snacks and drinks available at all times (very good chocolate chip cookies, sodas, tea, coffee, pretzels, and the like), and there was a little bag of Wilbur chocolate buds (locally made and the BEST, way better than Hershey kisses) as a treat on the bed. Hazel made us a fantastic breakfast of pancakes with whipped cream & strawberries, and scrambled eggs (she asked first what we would like and offered a number of options--the advantage of being the only guests!). We both enjoyed talking with her during breakfast, at that long table you see in the photo, with windows along 3 sides and open to the living room on the 4th side. The Nestleroths also provide a very helpful booklet (via email before you arrive, and a hard copy upon arrival) that includes info about their B&B but also about local attractions, with nice hand-drawn maps; plus they gave us a bigger map of the region that we used constantly while we drove around. We recommend this B&B highly, especially if you have children.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BebusAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

I stayed with my boyfriend in Airy Hill Farm just for one night and now I cannot wait to come back. This time we will wait for the warm weather before we go. They have so many things to do around there!
Even though we were visiting during cold and snowy weather, Hazel (owner) had a lot of ideas of what to do. She recommended to go visit her friend Rachel, who lives on a working dairy farm together with her husband and 7 kids. Rachel cooked delicious Amish style dinner and was a wonderful host. So we had a great inside of how dairy farm is working and how Amish people live.
After we got back to Airy Farm we had a lovely time just sitting in the kitchen and chatting with Hazel and Mark. They have a lot of books about the area as well as many interesting stories to tell.
In the morning Hazel cooked a tasty homemade breakfast. We ate, and went to check the farm with Mark. He introduced as to all farm animals, let us hold a little sheep, feed the animals, walk around with their mini horses, play with alpacas.
After we check out, we went around browsing the area, they have Crystal Cave not far away.
Overall, I have only warm memories, and when I think about our little trip, cannot hold a smile.
Tania

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Taniagjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We were blown away the moment we entered Mark and Hazel's lovely B&B. We were first greeted by their lovely alpacas, sheep, goat, chickens and mini horses on the short little drive up to the house.

Their house is indescribably beautiful, cozy and warm in the interior, with a lovely view of the surrounding pastures through their full-length glass windows. It is one of the most pretty homes I've ever stepped foot in.

The rooms were clean and thoughtfully decorated, with a 'treehouse' that kids would love. The large living room area provided for a conducive setting for conversations.

Breakfasts were homemade by Hazel and were delicious. We had cinammon bread, oatmeal cupcakes, quiche etc. Right after breakfast, Mark made it a true farmstay experience by taking us on a short tour around their farm, where we were introduced to their lovely animals - alpacas Jeri and Jedi, mini horses Gail & her son Little Bob, Tucker the goat, sheep, rabbits Tucker and Duchess, chickens. We got to collect freshly laid, warm eggs in an egg basket! We also got to take the alpacas and mini horses out on walks. There was no time pressure at all, and Mark truly allowed us to spend as much time as we wanted with the animals. He was also more than willing to share stories and experiences as a breeder of sheep and chicken. Of course, who can forget their 2 hospitable house cats, Foxy and Tom, who took turns to accompany us on our morning walks out to the stable?

Apart from the hospitable welcome by Mark and Hazel, the scenery around the farm was so picturesque. It is a worthwhile experience waking up early in the mornings and witnessing the mist-shrouded pastures against an orange sky.

We had such a relaxing and enjoyable experience, Hazel and Mark's B&B would be a wonderful farmstay choice for couples, friends and families alike. We would love to go back should we visit Lancaster again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wildrainbows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We stayed on Veteran's Day weekend 2013. A beautiful setting with picturesque farm and mountain views all around. Mark and Hazel are wonderful hosts, very welcoming and friendly. The breakfast was delicious. We got to see baby sheep! - a special experience for our daughter. Great place to bring children.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This is one of the best Bed and Breakfast in the USA. Great country setting with pastures, a stream, lots of trees and many things for all ages to do. In the country but just minutes away from the Lancaster and surrounding attractions. A very modern facility with many great views. Oh and we can not forget Hazel's delicious breakfasts. Thanks Mark and Hazel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We spent 2 nights with old friends from High School. The rooms were very clean and well equipped. . Our room even could be regulated separately for heat or air conditioning.
Mark and Hazel are amazing story tellers and very warm. The last morning we collected eggs and even brought a dozen home with us! We walked the 2 Alpacas and the miniature horses.
The breakfasts they made were out of this world. I would definitely recommend this B & B to anyone.

Room Tip: The queen room off the kitchen has the individual HVAC control.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barb991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manheim
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Manheim
Hampton Inn Manheim
#4 of 7 in Manheim
665 reviews
10.5 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
11.8 mi away
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Lancaster Arts Hotel
#4 of 40 in Lancaster
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Manheim - Lebanon
7.9 mi away
Warehouse Hotel
Warehouse Hotel
#2 of 7 in Manheim
342 reviews
5.5 mi away
Lancaster Inn & Suites
Lancaster Inn & Suites
#5 of 7 in Manheim
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airy Hill Farm B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airy Hill Farm B&B

Address: 1741 Airy Hill Rd, Manheim, PA 17545-8531
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Manheim
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Manheim
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Airy Hill Farm Bed and Breakfast is a strikingly beautiful retreat. Sheep pastures wrap the hillside house and gardens, which overlook woodland and a stream in one direction and mountains and farm fields in the other. The clean-lined house takes full advantage of the site. A vaulted ceiling and bank of windows in the main living area bring the outdoors in, while decks and porches invite guests back outside. Soft, earth-toned wall colors change with the progression of light. Family antiques and art pieces combine with a fresh modern layout. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Airy Hill Farm B&B Manheim, PA - Lancaster County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing