We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good location, average place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
B.F. Hiestand House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 6 Marietta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Washington DC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“good location, average place”
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Marietta PA is a cute town which is central to a lot of other cute towns and places to see and things to do. I would definitely recommend the town. The dining was good: there are several local restaurants ranging from pizza places to pubs to french cuisine. The B&B itself was a disappointment but the staff was nice and we liked that. Not elegant as we had hoped, and lacking in common rooms. Food was good. It was an average stay. We'd go to the area again but will choose the other B&B in town next time (checked it out while we were there). There was so much to do we'll stay longer next time too. It's a great town and location and worth a longer stay. It has something for everyone

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WashingtonDCmissP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    13
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
32
137
11
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

My husband and I returned to B.F. Hiestand House for our 5th or 6th time, I lost count. This trip was to go to the Uncork York / Mason Dixon Wine Tour. Once again we had a fabulous stay. My sister, who had never stayed at a bed and breakfast came along with us and she loved it. Pam and Dallas are such great hosts, always ready to make a suggestion as to where to eat, what to see, or just where to go to enjoy a beautiful day. Pam's breakfasts are second to none, we had her french toast for the first time and I think the next time we go, which we will, I might just request for some more. I have in the past requested her broiled blueberries, which are amazing, dont be fooled by the name. My husband and I are always the first ones up for breakfast, because we know what to expect and cant wait to get it. Upon your arrival you will be greeted by Quincy, the innkeepers dog. He is just the sweetest, gentlest dog, you will love him. He is always there to greet you when you first go down for breakfast, when you leave the B&B, upon your return, he is just too cute. We will be back in the summer for the concerts at the Nissley winery. There is so much to do in the area. Dont look any further, this is THE B&B to go to.

Room Tip: My husband's favorite room is the Vanderslice Suite because of the separate sitting/reading/tv r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYC_Girl_Forever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Looking for that get-away to enjoy Amish country and great shopping. Create a lasting memory of relaxation and good food by completing your visit with a night or two at this B&B. If you want a quiet, well-decorated room with lots of amenities and no "surprises," book early for a stay at historic mansion, B.F. Hiestand House -- you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveYarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We loved our stay at the Hiestand House in the adorable little town of Marietta, PA. The accommodations were cozy and comfortable, yet very elegant. Breakfast was delicious and we loved playing with Quincey the lab! Would definitely recommend to friends traveling through.

Room Tip: The Sun Porch Room has a nice little porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Savannah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesburg, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2012

My boyfriend and i met some friends from Frostburg here and had a great experience. We go to Mt. Joy quite often to go to Bube's Brewery. Pam and Dallas were out of town but their daughter and son in law were amazing to us. And we are totally animal people and loved Quincy their yellow lab! They were even kind enough to drive us to and from the brewery so we could have a good time and not have to worry about driving. The B.F. Hiestand house is gorgeous and we felt like royalty while staying there. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whitney j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at this B&B for New Year's weekend. We originally planned on skiing as well, but unfortunately the weather didn't work out. Pam and Dallas were very welcoming and Quincy (the gregarious lab) was a wonderful addition. Pam accommodated my boyfriend's veganism, and went out of her way to research vegan recipes and bought him morningstar patties to go along with her delicious homemade pancakes and blueberry tarts.

Our room was beautiful, sunny and clean. The bed was soft and comfortable. They had plenty of board games as well as an extensive selection of DVDs, including several new releases. Our morning conversations were lively and interesting, with Pam and Dallas sharing lots of information about the local area, especially regarding the Amish. Pam was especially helpful in showing us where the best local antique shops were. She also helped us book our dinner reservation.

For New Year's Eve, Pam had a wide spread of goodies, including hummus and veggies as well as brownies and fruit salad. She even put out chilled sparkling apple cider, and invited us to drink our own bottle of wine (as per PA state law regarding B&B and liquor licenses). They truly made us feel at home, highly recommend!

Room Tip: I'd recommend the Sun Porch Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ravi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 January 2012

My wife and I have stayed at the B.F. Hiestand B&B several times while visiting friends and family in Marietta. There is much to do in Lancaster County and even in this small town. We like Hiestand's because they are pet friendly and welcome our dog, Chewy, with easy accommodations. The rooms are eloquently appointed and comfortable. The breakfasts the Pam and Dallas serve are wonderful. This time we stayed in the detached cottage which was very private as well as roomy and featured heated tile bathroom floor and a cozy gas stove. Our only regret was that we couldn't stay longer.

Room Tip: We've stayed in three different rooms and prefer the cottage which is worth the modest premium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karllibhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marietta
12.6 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
5.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Lancaster County
12.6 mi away
EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Historic Smithton Inn
Historic Smithton Inn
#1 of 8 in Ephrata
5.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
1.5 mi away
Airy View Bed and Breakfast
4.0 mi away
The Olde Square Inn
The Olde Square Inn
#1 of 10 in Mount Joy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B.F. Hiestand House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B.F. Hiestand House Bed & Breakfast

Property: B.F. Hiestand House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 722 E Market St, Marietta, PA 17547-1810
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Marietta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Marietta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — B.F. Hiestand House Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your B.F. Hiestand House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing