We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A really good B&B!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of B.F. Hiestand House Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
B.F. Hiestand House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 6 Marietta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Philadelphia, PA
2 reviews
“A really good B&B!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2009

We stayed with Pam and Dallas while we dropped our teenager off at camp. The house is beautiful and comfortable. The breakfast was marvelous - I loved the lemon pound cake especially! We were also very impressed with the friendliness of the place. We would go back in a heartbeat. Thanks guys!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank T-Bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    12
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
31
131
11
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodboro Maryland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2009

The moment we were welcomed into the home of Pam and Dallas, we encountered hosts that were both gracious and breaming with knowledge and recommendations for the area. Dallas was quickly able to recommend several great restaurants in the area. We choose to dine at McCleary's Pub (http://www.mcclearyspub.com/) were we had delicious meals of Shepherds Pie and Fish n' Chips, simple but tasty and fulfilling. McCleary's also has an impressive selection of beers on tap. All of you beer connoisseurs, enjoy!

We stayed in the Susquehanna room. The room was very nicely appointed with everything you could ask for. However, we had such a pleasant time just chatting with the inn keepers after dinner, we had very little time spent in the room. Pam left us some delicious cheese cake for desert, and we enjoyed the sweets with both of them while talking as if we were long lost family. What a relaxing change of pace! We certainly would not get the same kind of warmth from the Hilton that we would stay in the next night (at the same price).

Breakfast was absolutely scrumptious. Pam served us a fresh blueberry / cream cheese custard, almost like a brule'. This first course would have been enough, but the main course of an egg and Canadian bacon Soufflé, roasted tomato slices with melted cheeses, a banana nut muffin in addition to the juices and coffee of choice. Pam must have been a professional gourmet cook!

Summary: If you really just want to kick back your feet and be pampered by the family you wish you had, make reservations with B.F. Hiestand house.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck9115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teaneck, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2009

I made reservations for my wife and I and another couple to meet and stay at the B.F. Hiestand House B & B. From the first moment that we met Pam and Dallas Fritz, they made us feel like we had just returned home. Our stay was only for one night, but they treated us like we had been staying there several nights. Their B & B was one of the few that offered a single nights stay, where so many others required a minimum of 2 nights. Their Victorian B & B was breathtaking and the food and hospitality were top notch! The Fritz's vast knowledge of the surrounding area and attractions was extremely helpful and they were always available and willing to assist us. Our friends were equally impressed and satisfied with my choice to stay here. My wife and I can't wait to book our next stay at the Hiestand House.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dlbrownie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2009

My husband and I have stayed at the B.F. Hiestand House Bed & Breakfast three times already. We are actually headed back there this weekend. The home is just beautiful with all the amenities you could want or need yet charming, quaint and beautifully Victorian. The Vanderslice Suite is our favorite with a separate sitting room. The Victorian bed is amazing with a down comforter and feather bed. I wish I could take it back home with me. Pam and Dallas are the best hosts, and we have a particular fondness for the family dog, Mr. Biggs who greets you each morning and night. I saw that someone complained that the hosts were sitting in their living room watching T.V. I am not sure what that is all about, since that is what a B&B is all about! Its like coming home to family and that is exactly what you get when you stay at the B.F. Hiestand House Bed & Breakfast. It is definitely worth the trip so don't miss it. You will be back again.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NYC_Girl_Forever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2009

What a wonderful way to celebrate my 5th wedding anniversary! We stayed in the newly renovated cottage and it was everything we dreamed of! Huge jacuzzi tub, spa shower and best of all, HEATED FLOORS!! That was my favorite! Dallas and Pam (don't forget Mr. Biggs) were warm, welcoming and overly accomodating! The breakfast was out of this world! If nothing else, go for the breakfast! Thanks for a wonderful, memorable weekend!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trixie520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bear, DE
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2008

We were in need of a relaxing weekend get away and we found it at B.F. Hiestand House B&B. B&Bs that accept dogs are hard to come by but Dallas and Pam are willing to accomodate. The house was beautiful and our room with jacquizzi tub and electric fire place was just perfect! The owners are wonderful people who very attentive but not at all overbearing. Mr. Biggs, their yellow lab, was also a sweet addition to the house. We will definitely return!

  • Liked — The owners were the perfect host and hostess!
  • Disliked — There wasn't a thing about this B&B that I didn't like.
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BlackBelt97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancaster
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2008

We had a great time at the B and B. The hosts were amazing!! The food excellent!! The renovations that have been done to the house made the house even more gorgeous. I cannot wait to come back!

  • Liked — Food and Beds
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank browneyesLancaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marietta
6.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Lancaster County
12.5 mi away
Eden Resort & Suites, BW Premier Collection
12.6 mi away
EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Lovelace Manor Bed and Breakfast
4.0 mi away
The Olde Square Inn
The Olde Square Inn
#1 of 10 in Mount Joy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ascot House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B.F. Hiestand House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B.F. Hiestand House Bed & Breakfast

Property: B.F. Hiestand House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 722 E Market St, Marietta, PA 17547-1810
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Marietta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Marietta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — B.F. Hiestand House Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your B.F. Hiestand House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing