We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great getaway.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ascot House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 6 Marietta B&B and Inns
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“Great getaway.”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

My husband and I had an outstanding time at the Ascot House. When we arrived we were greeted by Wendy, who, from the first moment to the last of our stay, was the perfect hostess.
She made us feel very comfortable (almost like family) and was very helpful in every way, especially with suggestions on things to do in the area and directions to different locations.
The Ascot itself is a beautiful house which fits right in the historic district of Marietta--a walkabout of the area is HIGHLY suggested.
We would recommend this bed and breakfast for anyone looking for a great getaway.

Room Tip: The BEDFORD is the largest of all the rooms. The SURREY has a very "unique" bathroom. Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariavillar2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
149
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 January 2014

By the fate of bad weather, we ended up being the only guests during our stay, so the house was delightfully quiet. The rooms were all lovely and our's was very comfortable. We loved the wood fire downstairs and used it as much as possible. Wendy was fantastic, always willing to work around us, help, or give advice on activities to do in the area. The breakfast was fantastic and so filling that we didn't eat lunch either day! All of the English touches in the house were wonderful and reminiscent of home for the Englishman. We will definitely be heading back in warmer weather to take advantage of the garden and warm weather activities around Lancaster County.

Room Tip: We loved the Surrey's massive tub and fireplace in the bathroom. If you are looking for a big t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erika M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
figtrees, Owner at Ascot House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
thanks for a lovely review, and thanks for being intrepid travellers who braved the snow...! Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
None, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2014

My wife and I recently visited the Ascot House for a weekend getaway and found it to be excellent. It was relaxing, the room was very nice, breakfast was good, and the service was outstanding. I would definitely recommend this Bed and Breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JB L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
figtrees, Manager at Ascot House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you! Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 December 2013

After our past outstanding stay at the Ascot House, we decided to book another stay, this time with another couple. We were not disappointed. We had another outstanding time at the Bed and Breakfast and Wendy Codd, the B&B owner was an absolute delight. She provided everything we needed and went beyond providing information on restaurants in the area and stores that we wanted to find. The rooms were immaculate and the breakfast was great. Our friends couldn't stop raving about the entire stay. We will be back again. This would be six-star rating if they went that high.

Room Tip: This is difficult as all the rooms are outstanding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank randy_ashby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
figtrees, Owner at Ascot House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 December 2013
Randy: Great to have you and Joan stay again and delighted to meet your friends, thank you for recommdning that they visit. I shall look forward to the four of you staying in 2014 and hearing about your trip to England together. Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Latrobe, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

This B&B is the best. The house is great and breakfast perfect. Wendy is the best host you can have, she is very knowledgable of the area and treats you like your part of the family. Can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikecarlene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
figtrees, Owner at Ascot House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
thank you so much for a great revfew. much appreciated. Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 December 2013

This was a wonderful place to spend our mini-honeymoon. Our room was spacious and comfortable, and had a great little gas fireplace that made it nice and warm (and it was cold out!). Just after arriving, we were offered all sorts of wine, local cheeses, and fruit in one of the sitting rooms, and were joined by some of the other guests arriving that day. We stayed two nights, and breakfast was both plentiful and varied between the two mornings we ate here. What really made the house unique and memorable was the attention from our hostess, and her great and knowledgeable suggestions. With her help, we were able to plan our day trip to hit all the things that were most important and interesting to us, which was especially important since the weather was a bit iffy. We're excited to come back in the future, hopefully with our dog, since certain rooms are allotted to allow dogs to tag along. Also, Wendy is just highly personable and hilarious, and made us really feel at home. This is definitely somewhere we will recommend to friends and family.

Room Tip: They all seemed nice--ours was the Norfolk, and it was quite spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
figtrees, Owner at Ascot House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 December 2013
Have a wonderful married life...... much happiness to you, I shall look forward to seeing you again for your first anniversary, Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnold, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 December 2013

This is a excellent b&b. The owner and host, Wendy, is very pleasant, fun loving, and above all an excellent host. This is the second time my wife and I have stayed here. This was for the Christmas House Tour. We really enjoyed ourselves. We liked this b&b so much we have already booked for next year for the Christmas House Tour. You will never regret staying here. The decor and breakfast is way above average.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent. You can't miss no matter which room you chose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vze4nfr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
figtrees, Owner at Ascot House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 December 2013
I am SO GLAD you enjoyed your stay. take care and see you again i hope. Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marietta
5.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Lancaster County
8.4 mi away
Heritage Hotel
Heritage Hotel
#20 of 39 in Lancaster
3.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
1.1 mi away
B.F. Hiestand House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Airy View Bed and Breakfast
4.9 mi away
The Olde Square Inn
The Olde Square Inn
#1 of 10 in Mount Joy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
10.3 mi away
Lovelace Manor Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Ascot House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 219 W Market St, Marietta, PA 17547-1413
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Marietta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Marietta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ascot House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Federal house (circa 1801), six spacious and elegant guest rooms, luxurious bathrooms, 4-poster beds, 18 fireplaces. Gourmet breakfasts. Great for romantic weekends, girls' getaways, family gatherings, golf, biking, hiking and hot-air ballooning, outlet shopping, antiquing, and exploring Amish Country. It is also dog friendly. With spacious deck and beautiful English garden. Ascot House is available for authentic English teas, baby/bridal showers, luncheons, small weddings and receptions, cocktail parties, cheese and wine tasting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Ascot House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing